$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 27, 2013

Petty Coruption Ruined an Otherwise Fine Experience

Stayed 5 days in January 2013. For the money, the hotel is well located, adequately clean and comfortable. In fact, were it not for what happened at check out, I would give the hotel ffour stars. Even though pre-paid, checking in I was told policy is to charge a refundable $50.00 to cover possible additional charges. I did not use any amenities during my stay, so staff suggested I apply the $50.00 on car fareto the airport. The driver, definitely a friend, possibly a relative of one of the staff members seemed fine until drop off. At the last minute he demanded $50.00, saying he knew nothing about the arrangement with the hotel. There was a lot of traffic at the drop off point so no time to work out with the hotel. My credit card is opening an inquiry for me. Possibly I will win. Win or lose is not the point. You expect this garbage visiting the third world. Absolutley no place for it from a big San Francisco hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobino
Business
NYC, NY
Jan 22, 2013

Great location and comfortable room

I really enjoyed staying here. The room was comfortable; the location was great; the staff was very helpful. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hilde88
Business
San Carlos
Jan 20, 2013

Loud but Proud

Staff is excellent! Knowledgeable, friendly, helpfull and courteous. Omg it was so noisy in room: condensate from steam heat banged all night, noise from outside was very loud especially for Saturday morning, housekeeping was knocking on door at 9:00 even though we were checking out by NOON

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

2 1/2 blocks to Regency Ball Room where our venue was. Sketchy neighbor hood so walk in groups. Nice variety of bars and restaurants in 3-4 block radius

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
j smooth
Business
los angeles california
Jan 16, 2013

Bums and hookers across the street

liked my stay only bad parts is across the street there are bums and hookers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business Traveler PA
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 15, 2013

Great Staff, Pass on the Hotel

The staff were all wonderful but the location was on the edge of a bad area. I felt unsafe walking to and from the hotel from Union Square. The room was dated, smelled of disinfectant and had stains all over the floor. The tiles of the bathtub were lined with black mold. The walls are thin and you could hear construction and even voices from closed windows. The heat is not regulated by each room and does not turn on until late into the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eagle13gy
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 15, 2013

Good hotel

Good hotel, good location, only the room is not very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sanfrantraveler
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 8, 2013

good location but

I have to say that this place is a great location! However, I would not stay here again. The staff was friendly enough but it is very near The Tenderloin, a very bad part of town. It is also the thinnest walled hotel I have ever stayed in. We could hear every noise of every guest inside and everyone outside as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris from Burbank
Business
Burbank
Jan 2, 2013

Great Choice

Room was clean and very comfortable. Great lobby and friendly staff. Easy to walk to places, immediate neighborhood OK but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beckhamli925
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jan 1, 2013

good location

walking distance to shopping mall and Chinatown, civic center, good loction

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scientifick
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Dec 31, 2012

Great Place

The Hotel Carlton is what my fiancee' and I would call a "boutique" hotel. If you're looking for modern, this is not the place. But if you like antique and a hotel from an era of American History, this is the place. The contours and interior architecture of the hotel is beautiful and causes a sense of serenity. By the way, they seem to love to give complimentary bottles of wine to their guests. The hotel staff was very pleasant and easy going. I didn't experience one staff member without a smile on his/her face. The only thing I would say as a "negative" is that if you don't have to rent a vehicle, DON'T. Parking costs are horrendous. I spent $34 bucks per night to have our vehicle valet parked. And "valet" is the ONLY option. Just so those of you who are considering this hotel as a place to stay, don't let my parking story turn you off... .It's like this at EVERY downtown hotel. It honestly would've been cheaper and better if I just relied on the cable cars and taxis for transportation. But minus the parking fees, it was a great stay at a very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon & Branch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top