$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scientifick
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Dec 31, 2012

Great Place

The Hotel Carlton is what my fiancee' and I would call a "boutique" hotel. If you're looking for modern, this is not the place. But if you like antique and a hotel from an era of American History, this is the place. The contours and interior architecture of the hotel is beautiful and causes a sense of serenity. By the way, they seem to love to give complimentary bottles of wine to their guests. The hotel staff was very pleasant and easy going. I didn't experience one staff member without a smile on his/her face. The only thing I would say as a "negative" is that if you don't have to rent a vehicle, DON'T. Parking costs are horrendous. I spent $34 bucks per night to have our vehicle valet parked. And "valet" is the ONLY option. Just so those of you who are considering this hotel as a place to stay, don't let my parking story turn you off... .It's like this at EVERY downtown hotel. It honestly would've been cheaper and better if I just relied on the cable cars and taxis for transportation. But minus the parking fees, it was a great stay at a very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon & Branch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffv5bbb
Business
Seattle, Washington
Dec 27, 2012

Nice place to stay

the guy at the front desk is really funny and helpful. they even provided free mini fridge. Besides the amenities are a bit old, everything's perfect here at hotel carlton

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaxiyes
Business
Oahu
Dec 27, 2012

Just okay

Just okay. Location is just okay. Little bit far from Bart and shopping mall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachqueen2
Business
Bakersfield, California
Dec 17, 2012

Lucky to stay at the Carlton

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Carlton. I arrived around 11 pm and presented myself to the hotel consierge. I gave him my name and the paperwork from the online travel company I had booked through and he told me that he did not have any reservation. I told him I had booked through a popular travel booking site and he again said that I was not listed. Luckily, the hotel was not full and he was able to give me a room and honor the travel site receipt. I was up and out early the next morning with no complaints about the hotel; I was only upset that the travel booking site had not provided the hotel with my reservation. Why is that?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom and Anna
Business
Fresno, CA
Dec 10, 2012

Great value for the money

Great staff, no views but location good - in the center; hotel has a little rustic atmosphere but it is walking distance from the Union Square; lots of caffes and restaurants in the vicinity; expensive parking - use the one across the street ($20 / day) versus hotel's valet parking at $38.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveliiiing
Business
San Francisco , CA
Dec 10, 2012

Greatest Staff Ever!!!

You could not ask for a nicer, kinder, professional, and helpful staff. They hotel itself is nice, comfortable bed, good shower head, solid HD tv w HD, ect.... Room living space size is pretty solid for SF... About 1 1/2 times size of a cruise ship cabin. Close to lots of bars, restaurants. 5-10 min walk to china town, BART, and others... Above all else a room is just a room but a staff's service can make a big impact on a trip... This staff was AMAZING..... Enjoy the 30 minute free happy hour... Tell the keyboard player to keep rocking them glasses......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony in NY
Business
New York
Dec 4, 2012

Great location, good price

NIce, old hotel at very good price in good location that gives easy access to nice restaurants and local attractions. This hotel is well maintained, but it is older and has basic decor. Free bottle of wine at check-in is a nice touch as is free wine tasting at 5PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
daam
Business
southern california
Nov 28, 2012

extremely dog friendly

The staff here is super friendly and very helpful. they are very dog friendly as well, being welcoming to my two mutts, and no special dog deposit! the rooms are comfy and clean, the hotel itself is also comfy and clean, despite a painting project going on. my room was right next to the neon sign casting a very bright pink glow into the room at night. the blinds covered it up enough that it didn't bother me, but if you are extremely sensitive to light, i'd probably ask for a room away from the sign. there is currently construction going on across the street which woke us up very early and that was disappointing, but once that's done, it'll be great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carlos Garbiras
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 27, 2012

Thin walls

The hotel was decent. The noise was unbearable. I stayed here two nights and both nights the sound was very bad. The first night I called the front desk because I could listen to what was going on on both sides of my room. I guess is a good hotel if you want to party but if you want to relax in between days this hotel is not a good option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Philipe
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Nov 26, 2012

Regular SF weekend

Rooms: are ok, needs some remodeling and better cleaning crew. Value: Is high for what they offer. We have problems with the guests next door, as they were noisy, actually the entire floor was complaining about them, the hotel tried to keep them quiet but they couldn't, so I was not very happy with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top