$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveliiiing
San Francisco , CA
Dec 10, 2012

Greatest Staff Ever!!!

You could not ask for a nicer, kinder, professional, and helpful staff. They hotel itself is nice, comfortable bed, good shower head, solid HD tv w HD, ect.... Room living space size is pretty solid for SF... About 1 1/2 times size of a cruise ship cabin. Close to lots of bars, restaurants. 5-10 min walk to china town, BART, and others... Above all else a room is just a room but a staff's service can make a big impact on a trip... This staff was AMAZING..... Enjoy the 30 minute free happy hour... Tell the keyboard player to keep rocking them glasses......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erin683
Business
Knoxville, TN
Dec 16, 2013

Cool hotel with a great staff

We loved the Far East theme of this great boutique hotel. The staff were very nice and helpful. We also enjoyed hanging out in the lobby with other guests for wine and Snazz, the performing artist! We will stay in this hotel next time we are in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Langey
Business
illinois
Nov 25, 2013

November Visit

We thought the hotel was a good value and located centrally enough in the city to make access easy. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable and seemed to have been recently redecorated. All in all it was a good value as well as being comfortable. Also liked the welcoming lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine the ChemE
Business
New York, NY
Nov 8, 2013

Great Location, Great Hotel Stay

I just returned from my trip to San Francisco and I have to say that I was very happy with my stay at Hotel Carlton. The hotel itself is located about 10 minutes away (walking) from Union Square on a quiet area of Sutter Street. There are several Muni Bus lines that run on Sutter and the neighboring streets that can get you to any of the major tourist areas (e.g. Market/Powell Streets, Fisherman's Warf). We never had to rent a car to get anywhere! The staff at the front desk was always cheerful and eager to helped us figure out which areas of San Francisco to avoid (e.g. "Tenderloin District") traveling at night. The room we booked was small, but comfortable. The king size bed was so soft and the bedroom decorations were cute. The bathtub needed to be refinished (plastic coating peeling up from basin bottom near the drain), but the bathroom itself looked modern and was clean. My only complaint is the noise from the elevator, which was located adjacent to our room. It was rough for the first 2 nights, but after spending my days and nights at work events or sight-seeing, I was able to sleep through the noise. Those that are very light sleepers might wish to ask for a different room or ask to avoid being placed next to the elevators. The wireless internet was also very slow, even if you are only checking your e-mail. You're better off going to a cafe down the street for free WiFi with your coffee than use Hotel Carlton's connection. On the day of departure, the front desk staff also helped me book a shared airport shuttle van to SFO for a good value ($16/person). I'd definitely come back here to stay on my next work/vacation event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sutter Street has great breakfast and lunch options for those who are on a budget. Try the Jin's Cafe or Cup O Joe for an economical breakfast in the mornings. Fly, the bar/pizza place next to Hotel Carlton, has inexpensive lunches/early dinners.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zxzxzx
Business
San Francisco, California
Oct 29, 2013

Close for hospital stay

Served our purpose. Higher floor ( was on second floor) would have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Arabic fusion eating experience.Food great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chapeltpf
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 28, 2013

Great Value

This was my second stay at Hotel Carlton and the service is impeccable. The front desk will have you cracking up. He also suggested cheaper overnight parking down the block..Save Money! The complimentary wine hour was a great way for us to start off the evening....save more money. Clean room, comfy bed, free internet....I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bettycruiser
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 27, 2013

Wonderful staff

We arrived early in the afternoon and our room was ready. The staff at the front desk was very friendy and extremely helpful. The room was clean and the bed was super comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HK Shop Girl
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 3, 2013

Overall Good

Location is good, walking distance to Union Square. It is located on the edge of Nob Hill and Union Square. It is Not close to restaurants. A stone's throw to Polk street if you are there for clubbling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Call and make reservations before you head out the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baby Shell
Business
San Jose, ca
Sep 2, 2013

Anniversary

It was amazing and I will be returning to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ravenjones
Business
Dallas,tx
Aug 31, 2013

Decent hotel in bad part of town

This hotel is in a rough part of town, If you like car theft, bums and tranny hookers this place it for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The little dive bar next door was nice and had good food. since you wont want to walk far in this part of town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tavinho
Business
morelia, mexico
Jul 24, 2013

great!! the service was the best

a beuitiful experience, near from maine atracttions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

non

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top