$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveliiiing
San Francisco , CA
Dec 10, 2012

Greatest Staff Ever!!!

You could not ask for a nicer, kinder, professional, and helpful staff. They hotel itself is nice, comfortable bed, good shower head, solid HD tv w HD, ect.... Room living space size is pretty solid for SF... About 1 1/2 times size of a cruise ship cabin. Close to lots of bars, restaurants. 5-10 min walk to china town, BART, and others... Above all else a room is just a room but a staff's service can make a big impact on a trip... This staff was AMAZING..... Enjoy the 30 minute free happy hour... Tell the keyboard player to keep rocking them glasses......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ravenjones
Business
Dallas,tx
Aug 31, 2013

Decent hotel in bad part of town

This hotel is in a rough part of town, If you like car theft, bums and tranny hookers this place it for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The little dive bar next door was nice and had good food. since you wont want to walk far in this part of town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tavinho
Business
morelia, mexico
Jul 24, 2013

great!! the service was the best

a beuitiful experience, near from maine atracttions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

non

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love SF from Texas
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 1, 2013

LOVED the staff!!!

Wonderful staff! They were fun and courteous. The hotel is small and older, so the walls are a little thin. When our "neighbors" came home, they were a little loud and the staff took care of it immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TimTebowlicious
Business
San Francisco
Jun 12, 2013

Noisy/Not Great

It was noisy at night (from the street/alley), and the hotel has really thin walls as well. The rooms were a little grimy as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mileishaja
Business
Minsk
Mar 3, 2013

One night here is quite OK

It's not, what I dreamed)) But you come here to walk. So for a place where you only sleep everything is OK. The only minus is a strange smell in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debby Deb
Business
CA
Mar 3, 2013

Anniversary

When we checked in, staff indicated our reservation was canceled. As I had our confirmation number, staff made a quick phone call & the problem was solved (it was still frustrating though). Our room was initially a little noisy as we were literally next to the elevator. However, as there were no more king beds available, the staff attempted to make the situation better by giving us a free bottle of wine! Needless to say, I didn't hear the elevator for the rest of our stay! The location is perfect (Union Square) & there's tons of good inexpensive restaurants & bars close by. We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Chinese restaurant on Van Ness & Sutter!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Booter69
Business
Windsor, Ontario
Feb 20, 2013

Just okay

very very noisy. If someone was walking by the street you could here them talking and we were on the 6th floor!! Just okay probably won't book it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
corncake
Business
Bremerton WA
Feb 20, 2013

a hotel that has European charm in San Francisco.

I very much enjoyed staying at Hotel Carlton on Sutter. The staff are very nice and go out of thier way to assist you. A pleasent enjoyable stay. Michael

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

easy to get around just walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr. ea
Business
long beach, ca
Feb 14, 2013

Very personal

It was very nice wish we could of stayed another day. we will stay there again. Parking was a little expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad and Son Mac
Business
Anderson, Indiana
Feb 4, 2013

We loved our stay!

We really enjoyed staying here and would do so again. The room was very clean and comfortable. A nice urban grocery store is conveniently located just down the street and it offered most everything you would want or need. We spent most of our time downtown and usually walked back and forth both morning and night. The walk typically took 15-20 minutes or so and was a great way to get the feel of the city. The hotel is in a decent neighborhood and we felt safe. Gio, who works the front desk, is very funny, friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk or take the bus (#27) downtown instead of a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top