$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IssyMcG
Couples
Connecticut
Nov 7, 2012

Stay here!!!

We LOVED this hotel! Room was spotless and very comfortable. Big bathroom (with great water pressure even tho we were on the 5th floor!). Also big walk-in closet with lots of hangers as well as plenty of drawer space. Big bright windows which you could open. We stayed 4 days and every staff member we interacted with was very friendly and helpful. It had everything we needed and nothing we didn't. Very convenient location - you would pay a lot more money for a better location, and this was pretty much within walking distance of most things we wanted to do and see. Another advantage - the area had real character, being just outside the real touristy area. Lots of little breakfast cafes and small grocery stores/liquor stores close by. We would definitely stay here again on future trips to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has valet parking at $34 a night. There are garages close by for $21 a night.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine the ChemE
Business
New York, NY
Nov 8, 2013

Great Location, Great Hotel Stay

I just returned from my trip to San Francisco and I have to say that I was very happy with my stay at Hotel Carlton. The hotel itself is located about 10 minutes away (walking) from Union Square on a quiet area of Sutter Street. There are several Muni Bus lines that run on Sutter and the neighboring streets that can get you to any of the major tourist areas (e.g. Market/Powell Streets, Fisherman's Warf). We never had to rent a car to get anywhere! The staff at the front desk was always cheerful and eager to helped us figure out which areas of San Francisco to avoid (e.g. "Tenderloin District") traveling at night. The room we booked was small, but comfortable. The king size bed was so soft and the bedroom decorations were cute. The bathtub needed to be refinished (plastic coating peeling up from basin bottom near the drain), but the bathroom itself looked modern and was clean. My only complaint is the noise from the elevator, which was located adjacent to our room. It was rough for the first 2 nights, but after spending my days and nights at work events or sight-seeing, I was able to sleep through the noise. Those that are very light sleepers might wish to ask for a different room or ask to avoid being placed next to the elevators. The wireless internet was also very slow, even if you are only checking your e-mail. You're better off going to a cafe down the street for free WiFi with your coffee than use Hotel Carlton's connection. On the day of departure, the front desk staff also helped me book a shared airport shuttle van to SFO for a good value ($16/person). I'd definitely come back here to stay on my next work/vacation event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sutter Street has great breakfast and lunch options for those who are on a budget. Try the Jin's Cafe or Cup O Joe for an economical breakfast in the mornings. Fly, the bar/pizza place next to Hotel Carlton, has inexpensive lunches/early dinners.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zxzxzx
Family
San Francisco, California
Oct 29, 2013

Close for hospital stay

Served our purpose. Higher floor ( was on second floor) would have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Arabic fusion eating experience.Food great.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chapeltpf
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 28, 2013

Great Value

This was my second stay at Hotel Carlton and the service is impeccable. The front desk will have you cracking up. He also suggested cheaper overnight parking down the block..Save Money! The complimentary wine hour was a great way for us to start off the evening....save more money. Clean room, comfy bed, free internet....I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bettycruiser
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 27, 2013

Wonderful staff

We arrived early in the afternoon and our room was ready. The staff at the front desk was very friendy and extremely helpful. The room was clean and the bed was super comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HK Shop Girl
Single
Seattle, WA
Sep 3, 2013

Overall Good

Location is good, walking distance to Union Square. It is located on the edge of Nob Hill and Union Square. It is Not close to restaurants. A stone's throw to Polk street if you are there for clubbling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Call and make reservations before you head out the hotel

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ravenjones
Business
Dallas,tx
Aug 31, 2013

Decent hotel in bad part of town

This hotel is in a rough part of town, If you like car theft, bums and tranny hookers this place it for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The little dive bar next door was nice and had good food. since you wont want to walk far in this part of town.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love SF from Texas
Couples
Houston, Texas
Jul 1, 2013

LOVED the staff!!!

Wonderful staff! They were fun and courteous. The hotel is small and older, so the walls are a little thin. When our "neighbors" came home, they were a little loud and the staff took care of it immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TimTebowlicious
Business
San Francisco
Jun 12, 2013

Noisy/Not Great

It was noisy at night (from the street/alley), and the hotel has really thin walls as well. The rooms were a little grimy as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debby Deb
Couples
CA
Mar 3, 2013

Anniversary

When we checked in, staff indicated our reservation was canceled. As I had our confirmation number, staff made a quick phone call & the problem was solved (it was still frustrating though). Our room was initially a little noisy as we were literally next to the elevator. However, as there were no more king beds available, the staff attempted to make the situation better by giving us a free bottle of wine! Needless to say, I didn't hear the elevator for the rest of our stay! The location is perfect (Union Square) & there's tons of good inexpensive restaurants & bars close by. We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Chinese restaurant on Van Ness & Sutter!

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Booter69
Family
Windsor, Ontario
Feb 20, 2013

Just okay

very very noisy. If someone was walking by the street you could here them talking and we were on the 6th floor!! Just okay probably won't book it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top