$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
218 reviews
Very cool hotel

Me and my fiancée came to San Fran to celebrate my birthday and this hotel was a perfect hotel. See full review

  • Jakoa Dudley
  • Apr 14, 2014
good hotel

The location is good.The staff there are all friendly.A wonderful experience See full review

  • xiaolei chen
  • Feb 13, 2014
Green boutique Nob Hill hotel blends history and eco-consciousness

Green is the reality at the Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre property. The Nob Hill hotel is certified by the city of San Francisco as a green business, is one of the few hotels in town to have solar panels, and was the first hotel in the U.S. to receive the LEED EB O&M distinction. The structure itself is historic, and dates back to the early 1900s. Inside, the vibe is international, as walls are adorned with art photos from the American Himalayan Foundation.

Highlights
  • Located mere blocks from City Hall and the Federal Building
  • Complimentary nightly wine hour (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.)
  • On-site restaurant Saha offers Arabic fusion cuisine
Rooms

The majority of the Carlton's rooms offer guests expansive, unobstructed city views (a rarity in this district of San Francisco) because the hotel isn't flanked by adjoining buildings. Each of the 160 rooms (and the lone suite) includes an in-room laptop safe, a ceiling fan, and a CD player that is MP3 compatible. Decor in these rooms is soft; soothing tones of light blue and cream are punctuated by touches of glowing colors, such as saffron, Oriental red and a cheerful persimmon. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Without question, the Hotel Carlton's attention to conservation is a major accomplishment. Nearly one quarter of the hotel's energy is generated by the rooftop solar panel installation.


All guests are invited to a complimentary wine hour every night (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.). Hotel Carlton also offers adjoining rooms, ideal for families.


Saha offer an eclectic blend of Yemenese and Californian cuisines. The restaurant also features an old-world Chinese "scholar's table" that seats eight, bringing friends and strangers together to share the adventures of the day. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 miles)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (5 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • City Hall
  • Federal Building
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Summit Room is ideal for meetings and depositions
  • Use one of three public Internet-enabled workstations in the lobby (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Saha at Hotel Carlton will be resuming its original hours
  • Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30 - 10:30 AM, Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday 6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
  • Effective November 1st, Valet Parking (fees apply) is available from 6 AM to midnight. 
  • Please note that you will need a valid credit card and photo ID to check in to the hotel
  • Parking fees: $35/night plus 14% tax (Total is $40). Oversized vehicles are $41/night plus 14% tax (Total is $47)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7878 -122.4179
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland International Airport. San Jose is located about 50 miles south of San Francisco and is any easy drive of about 1 hour.
Area description
Conveniently located close to Union Square, the Financial District, Civic Center, state and federal govenment buildings, Davies Symphony Hall, War Memorial Opera House, Orpheum Theater and Chinatown. Cable Cars and city bus lines are located just minutes from the front door.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Superior Full Full
Features two full beds, easy chair with accent table, marble topped writing desk, color cable TV with remote, telephone with data port, coffeemaker, full-length mirror, iron and ironing board, ceiling fan and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Dining

Saha
Saha Restaurant, a 50-seat restaurant serving Arabic-fusion cuisine, offers affordable breakfast and dinner menus. The restaurant's ebony wood planked floor, bright red lacquer seats and red leather upholstery along with an old-world Chinese "scholar's table that can seat eight (8), brings friends and families together to share the adventures of the day.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Carlton's Summit Room is ideal for small meetings and depositions. Please contact the Sales Department for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (218)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mommytimetraveler
Scottsdale, Arizona
Jan 30, 2013

A gem of a hotel

This place is adorable, fun and in the perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suntraveler
Oak Park, CA
Jan 28, 2013

Great San Francisco Hotel for the weekend.

We chose this hotel for convenience to our son's apartment in Nob Hill, good reviews and for price point. It was about a 5 block walk to his apartment, a 5 or 6 block walk to Union Square and 2 blocks to the shopping and restaurants on Polk Street. The location was great for us and we liked that it was an older, boutique hotel. My husband and I got in around 1:30 on Friday afternoon and we were able to check into our room early. It was clean and sunny with a nice flat screen TV and coffee/tea maker. There was a hair dryer in the closet and shampoo/soap/conditioner dispenser in the tub/shower combo. The staff poured wine from 5:30 to 6:00 pm in the lobby. It was a great way to relax in front of the fireplace before going out to dinner and to meet some other travelers; they even had music. The staff was great, helping with directions and restaurants and had a great sense of humor. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant (Saha), but I heard it was good and nice to have that option available. There were some reviews about noise, but we did not experience any problem. That said, if there was a noisy neighbor, the walls would not have been that sound proof. We also did not need heat or air conditioning, since temperatures were in the high 40's to high 50's. They do post quiet hours from 10:00 pm until 8:00 am. Beds and linens were comfortable and the room had a desk, sitting chair and small table. Enjoyed our stay there. If you like blues, definitely check out Biscuits and Blues near Union Square on Mason. Great show (Earl Jones), intimate venue where you can see from every table and good food (Southern influence). Coffee shop on Polk street-- Quetzal Internet Cafe had great fair trade coffee and a nice selection of breakfast and lunch items (order at the counter), though I just stopped for coffee. Indian buffet for lunch hit the spot- also on Polk--Darbar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Blues and Biscuits for Blues entertainment--loved it!

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jan 27, 2013

Petty Coruption Ruined an Otherwise Fine Experience

Stayed 5 days in January 2013. For the money, the hotel is well located, adequately clean and comfortable. In fact, were it not for what happened at check out, I would give the hotel ffour stars. Even though pre-paid, checking in I was told policy is to charge a refundable $50.00 to cover possible additional charges. I did not use any amenities during my stay, so staff suggested I apply the $50.00 on car fareto the airport. The driver, definitely a friend, possibly a relative of one of the staff members seemed fine until drop off. At the last minute he demanded $50.00, saying he knew nothing about the arrangement with the hotel. There was a lot of traffic at the drop off point so no time to work out with the hotel. My credit card is opening an inquiry for me. Possibly I will win. Win or lose is not the point. You expect this garbage visiting the third world. Absolutley no place for it from a big San Francisco hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobino
NYC, NY
Jan 22, 2013

Great location and comfortable room

I really enjoyed staying here. The room was comfortable; the location was great; the staff was very helpful. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hilde88
San Carlos
Jan 20, 2013

Loud but Proud

Staff is excellent! Knowledgeable, friendly, helpfull and courteous. Omg it was so noisy in room: condensate from steam heat banged all night, noise from outside was very loud especially for Saturday morning, housekeeping was knocking on door at 9:00 even though we were checking out by NOON

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

2 1/2 blocks to Regency Ball Room where our venue was. Sketchy neighbor hood so walk in groups. Nice variety of bars and restaurants in 3-4 block radius

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
j smooth
los angeles california
Jan 16, 2013

Bums and hookers across the street

liked my stay only bad parts is across the street there are bums and hookers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fly

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business Traveler PA
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 15, 2013

Great Staff, Pass on the Hotel

The staff were all wonderful but the location was on the edge of a bad area. I felt unsafe walking to and from the hotel from Union Square. The room was dated, smelled of disinfectant and had stains all over the floor. The tiles of the bathtub were lined with black mold. The walls are thin and you could hear construction and even voices from closed windows. The heat is not regulated by each room and does not turn on until late into the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eagle13gy
Los Angeles
Jan 15, 2013

Good hotel

Good hotel, good location, only the room is not very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sanfrantraveler
San Francisco, CA
Jan 8, 2013

good location but

I have to say that this place is a great location! However, I would not stay here again. The staff was friendly enough but it is very near The Tenderloin, a very bad part of town. It is also the thinnest walled hotel I have ever stayed in. We could hear every noise of every guest inside and everyone outside as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris from Burbank
Burbank
Jan 2, 2013

Great Choice

Room was clean and very comfortable. Great lobby and friendly staff. Easy to walk to places, immediate neighborhood OK but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search