$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zhanik
Business
Kazakhstan
Sep 4, 2014

Good family getaway

Very clean and good location. I liked service, very friendly and kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auntie M with Lulu
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jul 4, 2014

Trip to visit Consulate General of Spain

If you like walking it is not a bad place to be located to visit other locations in San Francisco. WiFi connection could use bit of better service in the hotel but over all our stay was great her and staff members were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kdterry
Business
Wilmington, NC
Jul 3, 2014

Awesome last minute reservation!

We decided to book a hotel last minute and were amazed at how awesome a deal this hotel was! It was a festival weekend when we booked and the prices were still very reasonable. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was perfect - amazing bathroom and comfy beds. The only thing I noticed was that you can't change the temperature in the room, but there is a ceiling fan you can change speed on. I would definitely recommend this to a friend and would come back to this hotel next time I'm in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikki Joya
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jun 30, 2014

Great location, nice place

The Hotel Carlton was a great place to stay. Great location to different restaurants and bars and very central to SF activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garbushka
Business
San Jose, ca
Jun 19, 2014

Nob hill charm

Great location near downtown but away from all the hustle and bustle. Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynne729
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 16, 2014

Great last minute hotel!

I really enjoyed my stay. It was a great deal & the room was very nice. The only problems were the thin walls so I heard people talking late into the morning when I was trying to sleep. Also, it's on the edge of a really sketchy part of town. :( It is fairly close to tourist attractions & not a bad walk at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NickyDee
Business
Burbank
Jun 12, 2014

Pleasant tourist hotel

I was on a quick business trip to SF and grabbed a nite at this place as I'd stayed at other co-owned properties.Like many SF hotels, the place was jammed with tourists from all over the world, not many business travelers. But the WiFi worked well & the room was larger than I expected and nicely updated with new bathroom, a modern pod-type coffeemaker and a huge closet. I had a rear room and it was quiet, even though it was a lower floor -- a bonus in noisy urban SF (the neighborhood is mixed). The standout was the restaurant where I had dinner -- they offered truly authentic and completely delicious middle-eastern cuisine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California bigfoot
Business
Santa Barbara
Jun 1, 2014

good location friendly dtaff

Room was a bit small and we booked a room w a view but when we arrived there was no view. They gave us free lunch the next day at the middle eastern restaurant in the building which was amazing. Friendly staff and had a cool modern vibe. Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ekay1
Business
San Diego, ca.
May 27, 2014

It was an ok last minute booking

The card key reader at the door was being repaired. I could hear everything from across the hallway. Service was decent. The room wasn't how it looked on the picture. I was disappointed when I opened my door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heggermatic
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
May 19, 2014

Nice place to rest your head

The hotel was just for one night before bay 2 breakers. The room was nice but would have been better if there was a fridge to keep our cocktails cold. Unfortunately we didn't get to use the shower or anything else besides the beds since they wouldn't allow for a late check out. We had to pack up and be out when we were leaving for the race which was a bummer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top