$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
221 reviews
Nice hotel

I would deffinitly stay there again. Nice hotel, friendly staff, great location and good price. See full review

  • Gizinha
  • Nov 17, 2014
Very cool hotel

Me and my fiancée came to San Fran to celebrate my birthday and this hotel was a perfect hotel. See full review

  • Jakoa Dudley
  • Apr 14, 2014
Green boutique Nob Hill hotel blends history and eco-consciousness

Green is the reality at the Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre property. The Nob Hill hotel is certified by the city of San Francisco as a green business, is one of the few hotels in town to have solar panels, and was the first hotel in the U.S. to receive the LEED EB O&M distinction. The structure itself is historic, and dates back to the early 1900s. Inside, the vibe is international, as walls are adorned with art photos from the American Himalayan Foundation.

Highlights
  • Located mere blocks from City Hall and the Federal Building
  • Complimentary nightly wine hour (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.)
  • On-site restaurant Saha offers Arabic fusion cuisine
Rooms

The majority of the Carlton's rooms offer guests expansive, unobstructed city views (a rarity in this district of San Francisco) because the hotel isn't flanked by adjoining buildings. Each of the 160 rooms (and the lone suite) includes an in-room laptop safe, a ceiling fan, and a CD player that is MP3 compatible. Decor in these rooms is soft; soothing tones of light blue and cream are punctuated by touches of glowing colors, such as saffron, Oriental red and a cheerful persimmon. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Without question, the Hotel Carlton's attention to conservation is a major accomplishment. Nearly one quarter of the hotel's energy is generated by the rooftop solar panel installation.


All guests are invited to a complimentary wine hour every night (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.). Hotel Carlton also offers adjoining rooms, ideal for families.


Saha offer an eclectic blend of Yemenese and Californian cuisines. The restaurant also features an old-world Chinese "scholar's table" that seats eight, bringing friends and strangers together to share the adventures of the day. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 miles)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (5 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • City Hall
  • Federal Building
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Summit Room is ideal for meetings and depositions
  • Use one of three public Internet-enabled workstations in the lobby (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Saha at Hotel Carlton will be resuming its original hours
  • Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30 - 10:30 AM, Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday 6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
  • Effective November 1st, Valet Parking (fees apply) is available from 6 AM to midnight. 
  • Please note that you will need a valid credit card and photo ID to check in to the hotel
  • Parking fees: $35/night plus 14% tax (Total is $40). Oversized vehicles are $41/night plus 14% tax (Total is $47)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Superior Full Full
Features two full beds, easy chair with accent table, marble topped writing desk, color cable TV with remote, telephone with data port, coffeemaker, full-length mirror, iron and ironing board, ceiling fan and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Carlton's Summit Room is ideal for small meetings and depositions. Please contact the Sales Department for details.

Dining

Saha
Saha Restaurant, a 50-seat restaurant serving Arabic-fusion cuisine, offers affordable breakfast and dinner menus. The restaurant's ebony wood planked floor, bright red lacquer seats and red leather upholstery along with an old-world Chinese "scholar's table that can seat eight (8), brings friends and families together to share the adventures of the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (221)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John32784
Business
Minneapolis, Mn
Jan 16, 2014

Business trip

Staff is quite friendly. Boutique feel with reasonable prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant options nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roadtripper J
Business
Minneapolis
Jan 12, 2014

Cool place / Great staff!

We loved this place. They have an extremely helpful and fun staff. The lobby has lots of fun things to look at from various parts of the world and they even serve free wine in the evenings. Our room was comfortable and clean with plenty of room. The bathroom is a little small, but not bad. Valet parking is expensive, but it seems like most parking is expensive in SanFran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ABAB123
Business
California
Jan 2, 2014

new years eve

Great hotel for location and new years eve (with complimentary wine in the lobby)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gakinnison
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 17, 2013

Really Enjoyed our stay!

The best part of Hotel Carlton is their staff. Very friendly and alert. This is the third time we have stayed here and we will be back. Greg K. Philadelphia, PA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JessWeb
Business
Madera, CA
Dec 16, 2013

Loved It!!

Loved this hotel. Good location for Polk Street bars. Loved Theo who checked us in. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erin683
Business
Knoxville, TN
Dec 16, 2013

Cool hotel with a great staff

We loved the Far East theme of this great boutique hotel. The staff were very nice and helpful. We also enjoyed hanging out in the lobby with other guests for wine and Snazz, the performing artist! We will stay in this hotel next time we are in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Langey
Business
illinois
Nov 25, 2013

November Visit

We thought the hotel was a good value and located centrally enough in the city to make access easy. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable and seemed to have been recently redecorated. All in all it was a good value as well as being comfortable. Also liked the welcoming lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine the ChemE
Business
New York, NY
Nov 8, 2013

Great Location, Great Hotel Stay

I just returned from my trip to San Francisco and I have to say that I was very happy with my stay at Hotel Carlton. The hotel itself is located about 10 minutes away (walking) from Union Square on a quiet area of Sutter Street. There are several Muni Bus lines that run on Sutter and the neighboring streets that can get you to any of the major tourist areas (e.g. Market/Powell Streets, Fisherman's Warf). We never had to rent a car to get anywhere! The staff at the front desk was always cheerful and eager to helped us figure out which areas of San Francisco to avoid (e.g. "Tenderloin District") traveling at night. The room we booked was small, but comfortable. The king size bed was so soft and the bedroom decorations were cute. The bathtub needed to be refinished (plastic coating peeling up from basin bottom near the drain), but the bathroom itself looked modern and was clean. My only complaint is the noise from the elevator, which was located adjacent to our room. It was rough for the first 2 nights, but after spending my days and nights at work events or sight-seeing, I was able to sleep through the noise. Those that are very light sleepers might wish to ask for a different room or ask to avoid being placed next to the elevators. The wireless internet was also very slow, even if you are only checking your e-mail. You're better off going to a cafe down the street for free WiFi with your coffee than use Hotel Carlton's connection. On the day of departure, the front desk staff also helped me book a shared airport shuttle van to SFO for a good value ($16/person). I'd definitely come back here to stay on my next work/vacation event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sutter Street has great breakfast and lunch options for those who are on a budget. Try the Jin's Cafe or Cup O Joe for an economical breakfast in the mornings. Fly, the bar/pizza place next to Hotel Carlton, has inexpensive lunches/early dinners.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zxzxzx
Business
San Francisco, California
Oct 29, 2013

Close for hospital stay

Served our purpose. Higher floor ( was on second floor) would have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Arabic fusion eating experience.Food great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chapeltpf
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 28, 2013

Great Value

This was my second stay at Hotel Carlton and the service is impeccable. The front desk will have you cracking up. He also suggested cheaper overnight parking down the block..Save Money! The complimentary wine hour was a great way for us to start off the evening....save more money. Clean room, comfy bed, free internet....I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top