$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
237 reviews
Great hotel in super location

We stayed at the Carlton for 4 nights after a 4 week vacation trip and it ranks our #1 with it's... See full review

  • The Kennos
  • Jun 29, 2014
Very cool hotel

Me and my fiancée came to San Fran to celebrate my birthday and this hotel was a perfect hotel. See full review

  • Jakoa Dudley
  • Apr 14, 2014
Green boutique Nob Hill hotel blends history and eco-consciousness

Green is the reality at the Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre property. The Nob Hill hotel is certified by the city of San Francisco as a green business, is one of the few hotels in town to have solar panels, and was the first hotel in the U.S. to receive the LEED EB O&M distinction. The structure itself is historic, and dates back to the early 1900s. Inside, the vibe is international, as walls are adorned with art photos from the American Himalayan Foundation.

Highlights
  • Located mere blocks from City Hall and the Federal Building
  • Complimentary nightly wine hour (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.)
  • On-site restaurant Saha offers Arabic fusion cuisine
Rooms

The majority of the Carlton's rooms offer guests expansive, unobstructed city views (a rarity in this district of San Francisco) because the hotel isn't flanked by adjoining buildings. Each of the 160 rooms (and the lone suite) includes an in-room laptop safe, a ceiling fan, and a CD player that is MP3 compatible. Decor in these rooms is soft; soothing tones of light blue and cream are punctuated by touches of glowing colors, such as saffron, Oriental red and a cheerful persimmon. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Without question, the Hotel Carlton's attention to conservation is a major accomplishment. Nearly one quarter of the hotel's energy is generated by the rooftop solar panel installation.


All guests are invited to a complimentary wine hour every night (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.). Hotel Carlton also offers adjoining rooms, ideal for families.


Saha offer an eclectic blend of Yemenese and Californian cuisines. The restaurant also features an old-world Chinese "scholar's table" that seats eight, bringing friends and strangers together to share the adventures of the day. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 miles)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (5 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • City Hall
  • Federal Building
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Summit Room is ideal for meetings and depositions
  • Use one of three public Internet-enabled workstations in the lobby (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Saha at Hotel Carlton will be resuming its original hours
  • Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30 - 10:30 AM, Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday 6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
  • Effective November 1st, Valet Parking (fees apply) is available from 6 AM to midnight. 
  • Please note that you will need a valid credit card and photo ID to check in to the hotel
  • Parking fees: $35/night plus 14% tax (Total is $40). Oversized vehicles are $41/night plus 14% tax (Total is $47)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7878 -122.4179
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland International Airport. San Jose is located about 50 miles south of San Francisco and is any easy drive of about 1 hour.
Area description
Conveniently located close to Union Square, the Financial District, Civic Center, state and federal govenment buildings, Davies Symphony Hall, War Memorial Opera House, Orpheum Theater and Chinatown. Cable Cars and city bus lines are located just minutes from the front door.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Superior Full Full
Features two full beds, easy chair with accent table, marble topped writing desk, color cable TV with remote, telephone with data port, coffeemaker, full-length mirror, iron and ironing board, ceiling fan and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Dining

Saha
Saha Restaurant, a 50-seat restaurant serving Arabic-fusion cuisine, offers affordable breakfast and dinner menus. The restaurant's ebony wood planked floor, bright red lacquer seats and red leather upholstery along with an old-world Chinese "scholar's table that can seat eight (8), brings friends and families together to share the adventures of the day.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Carlton's Summit Room is ideal for small meetings and depositions. Please contact the Sales Department for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveliiiing
San Francisco , CA
Dec 10, 2012

Greatest Staff Ever!!!

You could not ask for a nicer, kinder, professional, and helpful staff. They hotel itself is nice, comfortable bed, good shower head, solid HD tv w HD, ect.... Room living space size is pretty solid for SF... About 1 1/2 times size of a cruise ship cabin. Close to lots of bars, restaurants. 5-10 min walk to china town, BART, and others... Above all else a room is just a room but a staff's service can make a big impact on a trip... This staff was AMAZING..... Enjoy the 30 minute free happy hour... Tell the keyboard player to keep rocking them glasses......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sellwoodman
Portland
Mar 7, 2014

Another boutique hotel in San Francisco

The staff was incredibly friendly. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. The hotel location was in the Tender Knob, just west of the "seedier" Tenderloin. That said it was located right in the heart of San Francisco proper and we had easy access to all of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leslie MC
San Francisco CA
Feb 18, 2014

Carlton--Not the Ritz but Great Value

Busy urban hotel with nice if rather small rooms. Has a European atmosphere and a very popular restaurant. We stayed only one night on our way to Napa. Great value for the money although parking the car was a bit pricey. Good location and the staff was great--shared their own chocolate when we checked in and later when we took a glass of red wine up to our room! I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jittlelames
Albquerque, New Mexico
Feb 18, 2014

In the Heart of the City

When I arrived at the Carlton I was really surprised by how fancy the lobby looked. The staff was really helpful and even gave me a map of San Francisco with all the touristy spots drawn on the map. I got up to my room and was not too blown away. Everything was clean and nice as I hoped it would be. I noticed that there was not an air conditioner in the room. I had to keep the window cracked, which ended up being a little bit of a problem later that night since there are a lot of sirens throughout the city. Another problem was that the walls are pretty thin and you can hear pretty much everything that your neighbor is saying. Other than these few problems, the hotel is very nice. It's in a prime walking distance from China Town or Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to eat at Ryoko's Sushi Bar on Taylor and Cosmo. Its about half a mile from the hotel and has some of the best sushi I've ever had.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xiaolei chen
shanghai
Feb 13, 2014

good hotel

The location is good.The staff there are all friendly.A wonderful experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLHuggy
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 6, 2014

Personal Getaway

My only complaint about this hotel is that there is no thermostat so you can't control the room temperature. The rooms are very nice and SUPER clean, which I appreciate. The walls are a bit thin so not for light sleepers. The location is in walking distance to many attractions. I walked to all the locations I wanted to go except Fisherman's Wharf. The staff are very friendly, approachable, and helpful. There is a restaurant called Saha on the lobby floor, it's not cheap but the food is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My treat to myself
Seattle
Feb 3, 2014

Elegant Hotel

This hotel was a very uniquely designed and elegant hotel. My room was clean and sharp in design. The restaurant Saha, which is located in the hotel, is a lovely place , the atmosphere is warm and the food is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonder the hood and you'll find something good

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sfbsux
Plymouth, CA
Feb 1, 2014

Unimpressed

The hotel is in a marginal neighborhood. Larkin St. has a plethora of homeless drug dealers and panhandlers., it is dirty and unpleasant. Also it is very noisy. The hotel itself is old and they are making an effort to upgrade. There is no climate control in the rooms. They bately had any heat, and there was no ventilation i. the bathroom except a small window. There were water stains on the ceilings and walls of the bathroom which made me nervous since I am allergic to mold. The room was very small, with a small TV and there was no mini fridge. The free internet is only good for one day and it is so slow that it is virtually non existant. When I called the front desk to let them know that there was trouble with the internet they told me I had to call their internet company to complin. Rediculous! This hotel lacks the most basic ameneties that one would expect to find in any hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grizz
Loomis, CA, USA
Jan 29, 2014

Noisy night

Had to ask for a different room right away, because of noise from adjoining room (TV?). The radiator heating made noise in next room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Justice Beaver
Scranton, Ca
Jan 20, 2014

The Walls are Thin

The staff was awesome, every employee was more than happy to help.. However, both ice machines were broken, and the walls are very thin.. We could hear unspeakable things happening on the floor below us.. The room was small which is typical for SF.. It was satisfactory because it was clean and because of the staff but more was expected considering cost compared to location..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Upcider-Food was great, long list of ciders, short walk away, second floor seating offers looking out on the street as you eat

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grouptext 5
La
Jan 20, 2014

Excellent

Very well maintained hotel , good service .. Close to union square ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search