$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tarantella
Business
Chico, CA
Nov 5, 2010

Hotel Carlton perfect location

Hotel Carlton was the perfect location for our 24 hour stay in San Fran. We walked from the Hotel to the Civic Center for the Giants World Series Champ Parade, walked to the Orpheum Theater for West Side Story, and walked to the Regency Ballroom for a piano concert. Room on the top floor had a pretty city view, and also some street noise. Comfy beds and bath towels. Cozy lobby with fireplace going. We parked our car in a garage a couple blocks up Sutter for $21. We never needed the car since our destinations were so close to the hotel. A great bistro is located right next door (Fly) and prices were reasonable. I would definitely stay again. Friendly staff and guests!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking lots across from hotel and 2 blocks up Sutter (between Jones and Leavenworth) are much cheaper than hotel valet parking.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Bend, WI
Nov 3, 2010

Not bad but not great

The staff was very friendly and helpful, but the guests were loud and the walls were thin. The hotel had a nice overall feel but we did notice a few little things we didn't like. For example, the bathtub had black grime on the bottom of it and the TV was only about 18". Lastly, we did not know that we would be staying in a somewhat shady part of town and walking in the dark along Larkin street was not a pleasant experience. Overall, we had a good experience with the hotel but we would not stay here again if we go back to San Fransisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf had so much more to offer than we thought it would--make sure you check out Pier 39!

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2010 Halloween night stay
Business
Oakland, CA
Oct 31, 2010

Nice room

Nice room, clean and cozy. No hair dryer is fine to me but may cause your eye.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Along with the street and cross two blocks, there is a japanese cuisine and the food is not bad.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Biz Mgr
Business
New York, N.Y.
Oct 27, 2010

Mixed Review

Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good and waiter excellent. On the other hand, the hotel is old and showing it. If you are here to tour and sleep at night, should not be a problem, but if you want some amenities this is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Absinthe - Great restaurant and nearby

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 24, 2010

A Nice Stay

The hotel was older, but clean and comfortable. It has a middle eastern flare. The employees were all very friendly and helpful! We spent our first night on the 2nd floor facing the street side and it was very noisy. We requested to move the 2nd night and they accommodated us without any problem. We spent our 2nd night on the 4th floor facing the back and it was much quieter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Sep 5, 2010

Eco Friendly, Funky Decor &Great Service

Staff were great, room was very clean and loved the eco-conscious atmosphere- highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
so cal
Aug 23, 2010

"Great Customer Service"

The location of Hotel Carlton is in Nobb Hills. I personally was not sure where that was but of course everything is just so close by. Taxi rides to fisherman's Warf, China Town or Union Square was about less than $10. If you are traveling alone or as a couple and just plan to stay around the city. I recommend that you take their public transportation because parking is expensive is SF. The first moment i walked into Hotel Carlton, I noticed their great decor with lots of couches and seating available for their guests. The front desk concierge were great and very friendly. As far as the hotel room goes. I consider it as a good size. Not to big and not too small. The only down size to this place is that they only have ceiling fans, there's no AC which kind of sucked. But overall the stay was comfortable and I would commend this hotel. Enjoy your stay in SF =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Talk to the locals have them tell you what's good.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Aug 21, 2010

Great hotel

The only fault was no air conditioning which was fine as the weather was mild but I wonder what t would be like in hot weather

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget-minded business traveler
Business
New York City
Aug 17, 2010

Economical, quiet, good location

I recently attended a bar association meeting in San Francisco and decided to stay at the Hotel Carlton because I had stayed there, by chance, on my last visit to SF, almost 19 years ago. I would describe the Carlton as a tourist hotel, and many of the guests seemed to be young couples and/or folks traveling from Europe. The Carlton lacks certain business amenities characteristic of luxury hotels; but it is in a central location, and I found it perfectly serviceable for my purposes. The luxury hotel hosting the bar association events I attended was only eight blocks away. That translated to just a 12-minute walk, even with San Francisco's famous hilly streets. My room was fine, and the staff was friendly -- and, surprisingly to me, even greeted me by my name when I went to the front desk the day after I checked in. Additionally -- although I did not have a chance to experience it for myself because I was at business meetings in the late afternoon and early evening -- the staff told me that guests were entitled to a free glass of wine every day during happy hour. I stayed for three nights, and the money I saved over a more expensive hotel considerably reduced the cost of my visit. I felt it was a real gem for casual visitors to San Francisco, and I would stay again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, Ca.
Aug 9, 2010

San Francisco roadtrip

The location was great to hit Union square, restaurants, Castro, and good clubs. The hotel has 160+ rooms and only had 1 room to accommodate a person with a disability. Which, I requested for, but did not get. It's quite noisy in the night. I recommend the hotel to put sound dream machines in each room to drown out the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the food network helped out well!

Back to menu Return to top