$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wet-N-Sandy Paws
Business
Seattle, WA
May 27, 2010

Charming Place, Good Locale

The hotel is centrally located, near bars, restaurants, stores,and bus lines. The friendly staff was very helpful with knowing bus routes,walking distances, and booking ground transfers to airport. My only knock is that the hotel charges you to use their business center(computers, printers, etc. Free at all the hotels I've stayed. I waited to print my boarding pass at the airport, a bit of a hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A hidden gem in a grocery/liquor store. Mid-City is on the sign outside but you don't know there is a taqeria inside. The best burrito I've had in a long while,(outside of Mission St)a big tortilla wraps itself around juicy carne asada, black beans,rice,and other good stuff for a small sum of 6$ Wow, what a deal! Fills you up, import beers 2bucks and change. Go there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston mass
Apr 22, 2010

can use improvement but not bad

all of the staff were great, very helpful and personable.I was bothered by the peeling paint in the bathroom also mold on the tiles that could be cleaned up.Very little space for your cosmetic items could use a better shelf in there.The street is very noisy at night. It made it hard to sleep as well as the terribly squeeky doors in the bathroom and closet. I requested they fix them and they did right away, but they were starting to squeek again before we left.Bed linens were special I had never seen any as nice in a hotel before. Wine tasting a nice idea also enjoyed the decor in the elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quetzal internet cafe great coffee and teas,smoothies, pastries, breakfast,sandwiches,pizzas and more. Liked everything we tried. 1234 Polk St

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nuts for Napa
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Apr 20, 2010

Quaint charm

Blocks from Union Square in the Tenderloin district. Close enough to the cable car lines to make it somewhat easy to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from hotel, tiny dinner named Golden Coffee, good prices and breakfast to start your day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Apr 18, 2010

Helpful and couteous staff

My 26 yr old daughter was not happy with the location as it was close to a seedy section of town. We were able to walk to a nice restaurant and shopping eliminating parking issues. The best experience of our stay occurred when the very nice maintanence man was able to retrieve my sunglasses from the elevator shaft (they had fallen when we were on our way to check out).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tio al
Business
los angeles
Apr 10, 2010

nice room, great staff

nice restuarant recommendations, walking distance to trolley

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Mar 25, 2010

Fits the bill

The accommodations were a bit spare, and some soundproofing would be nice, but the staff was very friendly and helpful, and overall it was a very nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ema Nymton
Business
Dallas Texas
Mar 19, 2010

Don't believe the hype. Terrible.

Computers were "down" for 20 minutes while we waited to check in.[...]Elevator was impossibly small, like a broom closet. Rooms were only slightly bigger, with the bathroom experience being very intimate with anyone in the vacinity of your room.Luxurious view of a brick wall.The only plus is the free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Avoid Gary Danko's restaurant at all costs. Danko's is terrible and knows nothing of fine food or service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vitch
Business
Burbank, CA
Feb 24, 2010

great price, location and staff!!

The rooms are average sized, super clean, and hotel has wifi in the rooms. Great value!!! Bar/restaurant 'Fly" on the corner has great happy hour too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim the Brit
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Feb 23, 2010

A very friendly welcome at a great price

The welcome from the staff was wonderful, the room was very clean and beds comfortable, though the room was a little small. Free drinks from 5.30 to 6.30 in the lobby was an unexpected joy. We went to a gig at The Great American Music Hall, for which this hotel is perfectly located. Overall this is a great value hotel, the only things missing being a pool and a gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Start your evening off in the hotel lobby for free wine between 5.30pm and 6.30pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Feb 22, 2010

Good time

Great Staff, very nice. Only problem was very thin walls, could hear conversations clearly of the guests in rooms next to, below and above room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top