$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sutter Creek, CA
Jan 21, 2011

Very pleasant time

visited North Beach, Cal. academy of science and ate at House of Prime Rib. All wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
micgram
Business
bryn mawr,pa
Jan 5, 2011

better than expected

nice room,great staff,no noise from where we we`re and that`s what people said in previous reviews might be a down side.the walls were fine we didn`t hear our neighbors.a very nice place and i`ll stay there again.excellent value to boot.can`t beat it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

a lot to see in a small area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carol (Realtor)
Business
Colorado
Jan 4, 2011

Fabulous location and attentive staff!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this "boutique hotel". The accomodations were charming and beyond satisfactory. The Hotel staff was very attentive and gracious to us. We did not experience one problem. The location couldn't have been better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 3, 2011

4 day stay

Overall, this was a good value hotel with great travel options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tasmania
Dec 30, 2010

Carlton hotel

Hotel was clean and very friendly staff. Was within walking distance to union square and only two blocks away from bus stop to fishemans whalf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 6, 2010

outstanding service

The front desk was the most helpful I have ever seen. The gentleman answered all of our questions and provided a lot of great insight into the city (it was our first time there). The room was clean and the bed comfortable. It was a great value with an outstanding location. I highly recommend that you stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tdg
Business
Boston MA
Nov 23, 2010

good affordable experience

Was in SF for a conference, but the conference hotel was too expensive. The Carlton was clean and nice. Very friendly and helpful staff. The main drawback was that the people in the room next door were playing music that was very loud in my room. I don't think they were pumping it, so suggests the walls may be kind of thin. I was exhausted and fell asleep anyway, and it was find the next two nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Rickhouse - good drinks and very nice single malt scotch collection. Bartender got excited we were into single malts and started tasting us on various bottles, including a Murray McDavid independent bottling. (ps might not have been a long walk if I were more sober on the way back)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GradGirl
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 21, 2010

Would definitely stay here again

The Hotel Carlton is situated just a short walk away from Union Square in the heart of downtown. However, it's also far enough away that you can get away during those hectic rush hour periods. The staff are also wonderful and will help you find your way around the city. The clerk I spoke to directed me to a fabulous restaurant that turned out to be the best meal I had in San Francisco. There are free wine tastings every evening in the lobby, as well as live music that ranges from classical string quartets to funky keyboards. I really loved the elevators too. They are decorated with maps and pictures from places all around the world (that's the theme of the Hotel Carlton). One last note: the coffee in the room is actually tasty, which is not something I can say for any other hotel I've stayed at. I would definitely stay here again, and you should too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head down to Union Square to have a delicious dinner at John's Grill. I had Red Snapper and my fiance had a delicious steak. The atmosphere is cozy, and you can dress up or down. Top notch. www.johnsgrill.com/

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Napa, ca
Nov 21, 2010

Terrible experience

The hotel did not have air conditioning. It was about 90 in my room. They acted like this was normal (!) I had an important business event within an hour off arriving, and was late and stressed. After much insisting, they moved me to a "sister" property in the marina with air conditioning. This was a total dump as well. Apparently they take old motels with paper thin walls and paint them, you are supposed to buy in that it's a "nice" hotel. I won't ever stay at any of this brand again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tarantella
Business
Chico, CA
Nov 5, 2010

Hotel Carlton perfect location

Hotel Carlton was the perfect location for our 24 hour stay in San Fran. We walked from the Hotel to the Civic Center for the Giants World Series Champ Parade, walked to the Orpheum Theater for West Side Story, and walked to the Regency Ballroom for a piano concert. Room on the top floor had a pretty city view, and also some street noise. Comfy beds and bath towels. Cozy lobby with fireplace going. We parked our car in a garage a couple blocks up Sutter for $21. We never needed the car since our destinations were so close to the hotel. A great bistro is located right next door (Fly) and prices were reasonable. I would definitely stay again. Friendly staff and guests!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking lots across from hotel and 2 blocks up Sutter (between Jones and Leavenworth) are much cheaper than hotel valet parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top