$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
224 reviews
Interview trip

Clean and good service. Would definitely recommend to others. Also the location is great,in the... See full review

  • Divya R.
  • Dec 19, 2014
Nice hotel

I would deffinitly stay there again. Nice hotel, friendly staff, great location and good price. See full review

  • Gizinha
  • Nov 17, 2014
Green boutique Nob Hill hotel blends history and eco-consciousness

Green is the reality at the Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre property. The Nob Hill hotel is certified by the city of San Francisco as a green business, is one of the few hotels in town to have solar panels, and was the first hotel in the U.S. to receive the LEED EB O&M distinction. The structure itself is historic, and dates back to the early 1900s. Inside, the vibe is international, as walls are adorned with art photos from the American Himalayan Foundation.

Highlights
  • Located mere blocks from City Hall and the Federal Building
  • Complimentary nightly wine hour (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.)
  • On-site restaurant Saha offers Arabic fusion cuisine
Rooms

The majority of the Carlton's rooms offer guests expansive, unobstructed city views (a rarity in this district of San Francisco) because the hotel isn't flanked by adjoining buildings. Each of the 160 rooms (and the lone suite) includes an in-room laptop safe, a ceiling fan, and a CD player that is MP3 compatible. Decor in these rooms is soft; soothing tones of light blue and cream are punctuated by touches of glowing colors, such as saffron, Oriental red and a cheerful persimmon. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Without question, the Hotel Carlton's attention to conservation is a major accomplishment. Nearly one quarter of the hotel's energy is generated by the rooftop solar panel installation.


All guests are invited to a complimentary wine hour every night (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.). Hotel Carlton also offers adjoining rooms, ideal for families.


Saha offer an eclectic blend of Yemenese and Californian cuisines. The restaurant also features an old-world Chinese "scholar's table" that seats eight, bringing friends and strangers together to share the adventures of the day. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 miles)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (5 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • City Hall
  • Federal Building
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Summit Room is ideal for meetings and depositions
  • Use one of three public Internet-enabled workstations in the lobby (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Saha at Hotel Carlton will be resuming its original hours
  • Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30 - 10:30 AM, Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday 6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
  • Effective November 1st, Valet Parking (fees apply) is available from 6 AM to midnight. 
  • Please note that you will need a valid credit card and photo ID to check in to the hotel
  • Parking fees: $35/night plus 14% tax (Total is $40). Oversized vehicles are $41/night plus 14% tax (Total is $47)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Superior Full Full
Features two full beds, easy chair with accent table, marble topped writing desk, color cable TV with remote, telephone with data port, coffeemaker, full-length mirror, iron and ironing board, ceiling fan and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Carlton's Summit Room is ideal for small meetings and depositions. Please contact the Sales Department for details.

Dining

Saha
Saha Restaurant, a 50-seat restaurant serving Arabic-fusion cuisine, offers affordable breakfast and dinner menus. The restaurant's ebony wood planked floor, bright red lacquer seats and red leather upholstery along with an old-world Chinese "scholar's table that can seat eight (8), brings friends and families together to share the adventures of the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Napa, ca
Nov 21, 2010

Terrible experience

The hotel did not have air conditioning. It was about 90 in my room. They acted like this was normal (!) I had an important business event within an hour off arriving, and was late and stressed. After much insisting, they moved me to a "sister" property in the marina with air conditioning. This was a total dump as well. Apparently they take old motels with paper thin walls and paint them, you are supposed to buy in that it's a "nice" hotel. I won't ever stay at any of this brand again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tarantella
Business
Chico, CA
Nov 5, 2010

Hotel Carlton perfect location

Hotel Carlton was the perfect location for our 24 hour stay in San Fran. We walked from the Hotel to the Civic Center for the Giants World Series Champ Parade, walked to the Orpheum Theater for West Side Story, and walked to the Regency Ballroom for a piano concert. Room on the top floor had a pretty city view, and also some street noise. Comfy beds and bath towels. Cozy lobby with fireplace going. We parked our car in a garage a couple blocks up Sutter for $21. We never needed the car since our destinations were so close to the hotel. A great bistro is located right next door (Fly) and prices were reasonable. I would definitely stay again. Friendly staff and guests!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking lots across from hotel and 2 blocks up Sutter (between Jones and Leavenworth) are much cheaper than hotel valet parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Bend, WI
Nov 3, 2010

Not bad but not great

The staff was very friendly and helpful, but the guests were loud and the walls were thin. The hotel had a nice overall feel but we did notice a few little things we didn't like. For example, the bathtub had black grime on the bottom of it and the TV was only about 18". Lastly, we did not know that we would be staying in a somewhat shady part of town and walking in the dark along Larkin street was not a pleasant experience. Overall, we had a good experience with the hotel but we would not stay here again if we go back to San Fransisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf had so much more to offer than we thought it would--make sure you check out Pier 39!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2010 Halloween night stay
Business
Oakland, CA
Oct 31, 2010

Nice room

Nice room, clean and cozy. No hair dryer is fine to me but may cause your eye.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Along with the street and cross two blocks, there is a japanese cuisine and the food is not bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Biz Mgr
Business
New York, N.Y.
Oct 27, 2010

Mixed Review

Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good and waiter excellent. On the other hand, the hotel is old and showing it. If you are here to tour and sleep at night, should not be a problem, but if you want some amenities this is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Absinthe - Great restaurant and nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 24, 2010

A Nice Stay

The hotel was older, but clean and comfortable. It has a middle eastern flare. The employees were all very friendly and helpful! We spent our first night on the 2nd floor facing the street side and it was very noisy. We requested to move the 2nd night and they accommodated us without any problem. We spent our 2nd night on the 4th floor facing the back and it was much quieter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Sep 5, 2010

Eco Friendly, Funky Decor &Great Service

Staff were great, room was very clean and loved the eco-conscious atmosphere- highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
so cal
Aug 23, 2010

"Great Customer Service"

The location of Hotel Carlton is in Nobb Hills. I personally was not sure where that was but of course everything is just so close by. Taxi rides to fisherman's Warf, China Town or Union Square was about less than $10. If you are traveling alone or as a couple and just plan to stay around the city. I recommend that you take their public transportation because parking is expensive is SF. The first moment i walked into Hotel Carlton, I noticed their great decor with lots of couches and seating available for their guests. The front desk concierge were great and very friendly. As far as the hotel room goes. I consider it as a good size. Not to big and not too small. The only down size to this place is that they only have ceiling fans, there's no AC which kind of sucked. But overall the stay was comfortable and I would commend this hotel. Enjoy your stay in SF =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Talk to the locals have them tell you what's good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Aug 21, 2010

Great hotel

The only fault was no air conditioning which was fine as the weather was mild but I wonder what t would be like in hot weather

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget-minded business traveler
Business
New York City
Aug 17, 2010

Economical, quiet, good location

I recently attended a bar association meeting in San Francisco and decided to stay at the Hotel Carlton because I had stayed there, by chance, on my last visit to SF, almost 19 years ago. I would describe the Carlton as a tourist hotel, and many of the guests seemed to be young couples and/or folks traveling from Europe. The Carlton lacks certain business amenities characteristic of luxury hotels; but it is in a central location, and I found it perfectly serviceable for my purposes. The luxury hotel hosting the bar association events I attended was only eight blocks away. That translated to just a 12-minute walk, even with San Francisco's famous hilly streets. My room was fine, and the staff was friendly -- and, surprisingly to me, even greeted me by my name when I went to the front desk the day after I checked in. Additionally -- although I did not have a chance to experience it for myself because I was at business meetings in the late afternoon and early evening -- the staff told me that guests were entitled to a free glass of wine every day during happy hour. I stayed for three nights, and the money I saved over a more expensive hotel considerably reduced the cost of my visit. I felt it was a real gem for casual visitors to San Francisco, and I would stay again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top