$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveliiiing
San Francisco , CA
Dec 10, 2012

Greatest Staff Ever!!!

You could not ask for a nicer, kinder, professional, and helpful staff. They hotel itself is nice, comfortable bed, good shower head, solid HD tv w HD, ect.... Room living space size is pretty solid for SF... About 1 1/2 times size of a cruise ship cabin. Close to lots of bars, restaurants. 5-10 min walk to china town, BART, and others... Above all else a room is just a room but a staff's service can make a big impact on a trip... This staff was AMAZING..... Enjoy the 30 minute free happy hour... Tell the keyboard player to keep rocking them glasses......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaggy151
Business
San Diego CA
Jan 21, 2012

FREE WINE!

Nice vintage hotel. Great location. Perfect room. Free wine every night in the lobby at 6. Elevators are kinda scary. Had a great New Years with the girlfriend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Niners fan
Business
NJ
Jan 17, 2012

Amazing value, comfort and cleanliness. WILL BE BACK!

My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights and were thrilled with this hotel on all levels. The location is right in the heart of the city, a short walk to Nob Hill, Pac Heights, you name it. Central to everything and a safe neighborhood. The staff was amazing. Very accommodating: always was available to help with info, held our bags after we checked out until we left for the airport, printed our boarding passes before we departed, arranged a shuttle and did it all with a smile and a good sense of humor. The room itself:. Very quaint and CLEAN- my number one priority when I travel. This place was somewhere you felt very comfortable resting your head. Room was a bit smaller but in a good way. Not cramped at all, it felt cozy and made us feel right at home. The complimentary wine in the lobby every night was very enjoyable and was just another bonus this hotel offered. This place was tremendous and great in terms of value. We didn't get to try the restaurant that is housed within the hotel, but it looked great. There's always next time! Next time I'm in the city, this will be one of the first places I check availability for. I'm very particular when it comes to staying in hotels and do a lot of research. This one passes with flying colors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AngusF
Business
Berlin, MD 21811, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Wonderful value, great staff

Bed was extremely comfortable, the location very convenient for Union Square without the high price and the reception staff just excellent. I had a small problem with the room which could not be fixed immediately and the reception host arranged for another room immediately. Breakfast staff great, quick service, tasty food.Bathroom a tad small and no Golf Channel on TV, otherwise perfect! Thanks Carlton!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yacine
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Expensive for what you get

The room are expensive for the overall comfort. The hotel is close to the bar/nights club, so you should expect some noise. The room are not that clean. So if you are a clean freak, you should pass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Coit tower. you will have a nice view of the bay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
greent
Business
California, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Victorian Style with Great Service

If you like the idea of staying in a hotel that really feels like San Francisco and has great service, the Hotel Calrton is a great option. The room was simple in style, much like I imagine it would have been in a much earlier time. At the same time, the beds were the best quality with very nice linnens and the room wash fresh and clean. No chemical hotel cleaner smell here. That alone makes it a good choice. Free wifi, good coffee, nice tub - just right. The staff is top notch. We arrived early evening to a free wine tasting in the lobby, with nice live music. The restaurant is exquisite for Dinner and breakfast. As an old hotel, it has aged gracefully. I parked in the lot across the street for $20 a day, but a friend who dropped in for dinner used the valet, and was very happy with the fast service. I plan to stay here from now on for my regular trips to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want more affordable dining- The little Yemen restaurant across the street was also great food in a casual family style at a very modest price, with very welcoming and nice service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keeperofthefluffybot
Business
Swindon, United Kingdom
Jan 4, 2012

Lovely hotel and great staff

From the minute we booked in to the last day we were there the staff were wonderful. The room was clean and the bed better than our own (that's a first!). Around 5.30 to 6 you could partake in a free glass of wine daily which was a pleasant treat. Easy walking access to China Town. We walked every where from the hotel - to the Golden Gate Bridge and pier 39; but if you're not keen the local bus services were good and the Cable Car's a fun ride. We did try the Restaurant (Moroccan), but I was disappointed as the flavours of my meal (Orange Chicken) not as flavoursome as I would have expected it to be; which was a real shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rickster1
Business
Buena Park, CA, USA
Dec 23, 2011

Good Location

Our experience with the hotel was good, wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel. The staff was very helpful, any problems we had they were propmted to serve us. Hotel was located withing walking distance to the Wharf and Union Square, must have comfortable shoes though hehe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stenroland
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Dec 13, 2011

Good Hotel

The Hotel is not new but in good shape. The room was not the largest one we have stayed in - but everything was in good working order. The staff was fantastic. The resturant in the hotel had fantastic food for dinner - but could have bee better for breakfast. The location was good - a few blocks from Union Square and also to the cable car to Fishermans Warf

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IPete
Business
Logan, Utah
Dec 9, 2011

location was a little further from our meetings than we thought

After we found it the people that worked there were very accommodating and room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ducksltd
Business
Park, CO
Dec 4, 2011

Friendly, helpful

Staff helpful and welcoming! Good food and adventure close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top