$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IssyMcG
Connecticut
Nov 7, 2012

Stay here!!!

We LOVED this hotel! Room was spotless and very comfortable. Big bathroom (with great water pressure even tho we were on the 5th floor!). Also big walk-in closet with lots of hangers as well as plenty of drawer space. Big bright windows which you could open. We stayed 4 days and every staff member we interacted with was very friendly and helpful. It had everything we needed and nothing we didn't. Very convenient location - you would pay a lot more money for a better location, and this was pretty much within walking distance of most things we wanted to do and see. Another advantage - the area had real character, being just outside the real touristy area. Lots of little breakfast cafes and small grocery stores/liquor stores close by. We would definitely stay here again on future trips to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has valet parking at $34 a night. There are garages close by for $21 a night.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stenroland
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Dec 13, 2011

Good Hotel

The Hotel is not new but in good shape. The room was not the largest one we have stayed in - but everything was in good working order. The staff was fantastic. The resturant in the hotel had fantastic food for dinner - but could have bee better for breakfast. The location was good - a few blocks from Union Square and also to the cable car to Fishermans Warf

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IPete
Business
Logan, Utah
Dec 9, 2011

location was a little further from our meetings than we thought

After we found it the people that worked there were very accommodating and room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeKilo
Business
Frankfurt am Main, Deutschland
Nov 27, 2011

A place to feel well

I liked the tasteful, out of the ordinary decorated room. Try to get a room to the back-front for quiteness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theparanoids
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 22, 2011

Great deal!

Clean, pretty room, perfect location within walking distance to virtually everything in the city, nice staff, nice atmosphere, Valet parking is 30 usd/day, self parking for 20/day across the street. Great value for a hotel in the middle of SF!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CarolbEDD
Business
North Carolina
Oct 18, 2011

Great City; Good Hotel

Our hotel was more than satisfactory. It had an Arabic Fusion restaurant and that was fantastic but hotel could have been more descriptive about the decor, which was more Morroccan in theme.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmarkham
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Nice for the price

The staff was friendly and quite helpful. The hotel and rooms were clean and well maintained. I will be honest, my favorite part was the complimentary wine social each evening!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Super nice place to eat named noble hill grill food was very good

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheers Drew
Business
Hampton, VA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Hotel Carlton is a great deal

I found this hotel last minute at a discounted rate on Orbitz. The Hotel Carlton is in a nice location near the Nob Hill area, so you can walk to a lot of restaurants and bars, including Union Square. The rooms are small but very nice and clean. There aren't a lot of amenities, but there is serviceable internet. The staff was great and very helpful. Mass transit stops are just a few blocks away too. Overall this hotel was perfect for our trip and I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to pay an arm and a leg for a good hotel in San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VtaCA
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Oct 9, 2011

go for it

well-situated, adequate facilities and amenities, good value relative to other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
astin2006
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Oct 3, 2011

For those that don't want any amenities...

Hotel check in is 3pm, we had dto wait til 4pm after arriving at 11:30. There is no A/C, but is cool enough with the fan in the room if you sleep in your birthday suit. Staff was informativie, but location could have been a bit more desirable. Two computers for internet access, but nothing special overall. I would probably opt to stay somewhere closer to union square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the bus pass that is about $21 per person, but allows you to take all the public transportaion at a much cheaper cost thatn taking taxis and trolleys everywhere.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Casbear
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Excellent, great get away with a friend.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned well every day and the meal we had there was very good. The wine and music in the early evening was a nice plus too. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top