$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter Hope
Business
Eugene, OR
May 5, 2012

Good stay

Clean and well located, this hotel has a nice crowd, fireplace and wine hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jacque06
Business
Milwaukee, Wi
May 2, 2012

Wonderful location & staff, but no AC

We really liked the decor of the hotel, the complimentary wine in the evening and the very friendly staff. The location is also spectacular- walking distance to a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. The downside was that there was no climate control in the room or any AC. We were there in April with temperatures in the upper 70's, so it got pretty toasty in the room, with only a ceiling fan to cool us off. Maybe they put window units in in the summer? The other thing we wish they would have had was bottled water (they had a machine where you could fill up with filtered water, but no to-go bottles or anything), as well as a complimentary continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geomegan
Business
Boulder, CO
Mar 18, 2012

Great place

The staff everyday was fabulous and the room very clean. It is a very basic hotel room and nothing special. Definitely bring the earplugs for sleeping! The walls are very thin and the street noise can be loud. I would totally stay here again. There are a lot of great restaurants in the area. The Fly is very good and there is an EXCELLENT little Mexican restaurant right around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corlix
Business
Allentown, PA, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Not too Shabby

Friendly staff, clean rooms, cozy atmosphere. Sadly even on the 6th floor we got a lot of ambient noise and lots of carry over noise from neighboring rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
radiohack
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 5, 2012

A decent place to stay

We were checked in promptly, and enjoyed a nice quiet room. The sheets were torn in a couple places, but everything was clean and the water was hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fly Bar adjacent to the hotel has great food and a nice happy hour.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MikeTX
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Good value hotel in a rough neighborhood

This hotel delivers a good value for what it is - a dated hotel that received a significant updating remodel. The room was clean, crisp, and had a beautiful view of the skyline. The hotel staff was absolutely excellent - helpful and kind. The primary problem I had with this hotel was it's location. It's nearby the hospital and a rough neighborhood so you will undoubtedly hear police and ambulance sirens throughout the night. I had one of the worst nights of sleep I've had in quite a while, but if you wear earplugs or are a heavy sleeper this hotel might strike you value-pursuing fancy. I would recommend this to my single guy friends on a budget, but I would withhold my recommendation from families or single female friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART rail @ the Civic Center stop ($8.10) from the Airport here instead of a cab ($40-50) if you are traveling by yourself and want to save money.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Two Days
Business
Orange, CA, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Average Stay

Staying at Hotel Carlton was okay. Nothing special and the bedding cover had mysterious red stains on it. I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pieter
Business
The Netherlands
Jan 30, 2012

Short versus longer stay

Good hotel for a short stay and (non business) customers who don't expect high level comfort. We stayed in a Joie de Vivre Hotel in Mountain view (silicon Valley) earlier which was businesswise more contemporary than what we got at Carlton. The joie de vivre branding didn't meet what we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Salt House, great food in small size portions

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fred Man
Business
Arizona
Jan 29, 2012

A good place to stay

We walked to Union Square and Chinatown easily. Access to cable cars fo Fisherman's Wharf were convenient. We had our car and the ride to Golden Gate Park was quick and simple. Hotel served wine in the late afternoon and it was fun to meet people from Australia and The Netherlands. As above, it's a good place to stay, an old but well kept hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian food--Octavvo's was about 4 blocks east of this hotel, on Sutter, and it was a delicious,convenient meal on our first nite after check-in.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fannywang
Business
China
Jan 24, 2012

good location

The hotel has a very good location, but the only problem is that there is a garbage station in the neighborhood so it is a bit noisy during early morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top