$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MikeTX
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Good value hotel in a rough neighborhood

This hotel delivers a good value for what it is - a dated hotel that received a significant updating remodel. The room was clean, crisp, and had a beautiful view of the skyline. The hotel staff was absolutely excellent - helpful and kind. The primary problem I had with this hotel was it's location. It's nearby the hospital and a rough neighborhood so you will undoubtedly hear police and ambulance sirens throughout the night. I had one of the worst nights of sleep I've had in quite a while, but if you wear earplugs or are a heavy sleeper this hotel might strike you value-pursuing fancy. I would recommend this to my single guy friends on a budget, but I would withhold my recommendation from families or single female friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART rail @ the Civic Center stop ($8.10) from the Airport here instead of a cab ($40-50) if you are traveling by yourself and want to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Two Days
Business
Orange, CA, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Average Stay

Staying at Hotel Carlton was okay. Nothing special and the bedding cover had mysterious red stains on it. I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pieter
Business
The Netherlands
Jan 30, 2012

Short versus longer stay

Good hotel for a short stay and (non business) customers who don't expect high level comfort. We stayed in a Joie de Vivre Hotel in Mountain view (silicon Valley) earlier which was businesswise more contemporary than what we got at Carlton. The joie de vivre branding didn't meet what we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Salt House, great food in small size portions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fred Man
Business
Arizona
Jan 29, 2012

A good place to stay

We walked to Union Square and Chinatown easily. Access to cable cars fo Fisherman's Wharf were convenient. We had our car and the ride to Golden Gate Park was quick and simple. Hotel served wine in the late afternoon and it was fun to meet people from Australia and The Netherlands. As above, it's a good place to stay, an old but well kept hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian food--Octavvo's was about 4 blocks east of this hotel, on Sutter, and it was a delicious,convenient meal on our first nite after check-in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fannywang
Business
China
Jan 24, 2012

good location

The hotel has a very good location, but the only problem is that there is a garbage station in the neighborhood so it is a bit noisy during early morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
judy1234
Business
colorado
Jan 23, 2012

funky but nice

Hotel Carlton is clean, the folks are really nice, it's older, but for the price and location, it's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy the all day bus/trolly pass or 3-day pass...it will save you time and money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaggy151
Business
San Diego CA
Jan 21, 2012

FREE WINE!

Nice vintage hotel. Great location. Perfect room. Free wine every night in the lobby at 6. Elevators are kinda scary. Had a great New Years with the girlfriend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Niners fan
Business
NJ
Jan 17, 2012

Amazing value, comfort and cleanliness. WILL BE BACK!

My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights and were thrilled with this hotel on all levels. The location is right in the heart of the city, a short walk to Nob Hill, Pac Heights, you name it. Central to everything and a safe neighborhood. The staff was amazing. Very accommodating: always was available to help with info, held our bags after we checked out until we left for the airport, printed our boarding passes before we departed, arranged a shuttle and did it all with a smile and a good sense of humor. The room itself:. Very quaint and CLEAN- my number one priority when I travel. This place was somewhere you felt very comfortable resting your head. Room was a bit smaller but in a good way. Not cramped at all, it felt cozy and made us feel right at home. The complimentary wine in the lobby every night was very enjoyable and was just another bonus this hotel offered. This place was tremendous and great in terms of value. We didn't get to try the restaurant that is housed within the hotel, but it looked great. There's always next time! Next time I'm in the city, this will be one of the first places I check availability for. I'm very particular when it comes to staying in hotels and do a lot of research. This one passes with flying colors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AngusF
Business
Berlin, MD 21811, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Wonderful value, great staff

Bed was extremely comfortable, the location very convenient for Union Square without the high price and the reception staff just excellent. I had a small problem with the room which could not be fixed immediately and the reception host arranged for another room immediately. Breakfast staff great, quick service, tasty food.Bathroom a tad small and no Golf Channel on TV, otherwise perfect! Thanks Carlton!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yacine
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Expensive for what you get

The room are expensive for the overall comfort. The hotel is close to the bar/nights club, so you should expect some noise. The room are not that clean. So if you are a clean freak, you should pass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Coit tower. you will have a nice view of the bay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top