$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yacine
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Expensive for what you get

The room are expensive for the overall comfort. The hotel is close to the bar/nights club, so you should expect some noise. The room are not that clean. So if you are a clean freak, you should pass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Coit tower. you will have a nice view of the bay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
greent
Business
California, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Victorian Style with Great Service

If you like the idea of staying in a hotel that really feels like San Francisco and has great service, the Hotel Calrton is a great option. The room was simple in style, much like I imagine it would have been in a much earlier time. At the same time, the beds were the best quality with very nice linnens and the room wash fresh and clean. No chemical hotel cleaner smell here. That alone makes it a good choice. Free wifi, good coffee, nice tub - just right. The staff is top notch. We arrived early evening to a free wine tasting in the lobby, with nice live music. The restaurant is exquisite for Dinner and breakfast. As an old hotel, it has aged gracefully. I parked in the lot across the street for $20 a day, but a friend who dropped in for dinner used the valet, and was very happy with the fast service. I plan to stay here from now on for my regular trips to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want more affordable dining- The little Yemen restaurant across the street was also great food in a casual family style at a very modest price, with very welcoming and nice service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keeperofthefluffybot
Business
Swindon, United Kingdom
Jan 4, 2012

Lovely hotel and great staff

From the minute we booked in to the last day we were there the staff were wonderful. The room was clean and the bed better than our own (that's a first!). Around 5.30 to 6 you could partake in a free glass of wine daily which was a pleasant treat. Easy walking access to China Town. We walked every where from the hotel - to the Golden Gate Bridge and pier 39; but if you're not keen the local bus services were good and the Cable Car's a fun ride. We did try the Restaurant (Moroccan), but I was disappointed as the flavours of my meal (Orange Chicken) not as flavoursome as I would have expected it to be; which was a real shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rickster1
Business
Buena Park, CA, USA
Dec 23, 2011

Good Location

Our experience with the hotel was good, wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel. The staff was very helpful, any problems we had they were propmted to serve us. Hotel was located withing walking distance to the Wharf and Union Square, must have comfortable shoes though hehe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stenroland
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Dec 13, 2011

Good Hotel

The Hotel is not new but in good shape. The room was not the largest one we have stayed in - but everything was in good working order. The staff was fantastic. The resturant in the hotel had fantastic food for dinner - but could have bee better for breakfast. The location was good - a few blocks from Union Square and also to the cable car to Fishermans Warf

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IPete
Business
Logan, Utah
Dec 9, 2011

location was a little further from our meetings than we thought

After we found it the people that worked there were very accommodating and room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ducksltd
Business
Park, CO
Dec 4, 2011

Friendly, helpful

Staff helpful and welcoming! Good food and adventure close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeKilo
Business
Frankfurt am Main, Deutschland
Nov 27, 2011

A place to feel well

I liked the tasteful, out of the ordinary decorated room. Try to get a room to the back-front for quiteness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cas777
Business
Hoboken, NJ, USA
Nov 26, 2011

okay but we would not go back...

location is okay but the rate is too high for what it is... we barely slept because the heater was making terrible noise all night (and the staff said it was not possible to control at the room level)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theparanoids
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 22, 2011

Great deal!

Clean, pretty room, perfect location within walking distance to virtually everything in the city, nice staff, nice atmosphere, Valet parking is 30 usd/day, self parking for 20/day across the street. Great value for a hotel in the middle of SF!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top