$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PDX CPA
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 9, 2012

Great place to stay!

We spent the 4th of July holiday at the Hotel Carlton and couldn't have been happier. The staff was amazing, the room was clean and comfortable, and the location was perfect. On top of that, the complimentary nightly wine was a wonderful touch. We would gladly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heat Wave escape artist
Business
Springfield, Illinois
Jul 9, 2012

Great Customer Service

We loved this hotel and the staff. Very friendly and accomodating. Vehicle valet service was great - our car was retrieved promptly and waiting at the front door whenever we called. Hotel is a small boutique facility that is old but charming and authentic San Francisco experience. We enjoyed the afternoon wine receptions and meals in the Saha restaurant. Location was ideal for our needs. Everything was within walking distance and neighborhood was very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the vehicular valet service, it saved us time and hassles and was comparably priced to parking ourselves in a nearby garage.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spinny
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 6, 2012

Hotel Carlton definitely needs that special something.

The hotel's location was great...and that was the only great thing about it. The staff was pleasant when I checked in, but gave me incorrect information on two subjects (internet access and happy hour). The concierge was on the rude side and did not have a nice way with people. The room was small and somewhat dingy, even though the decor of the place was unique. The bathroom floor was constantly dirty and there was something stuck to the wall by the bed that looked very unpleasant--basically like someone's nose discharge. They charged $34 a day for parking. Overall, I was very unimpressed for what I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chuck50
Business
Salinas, California
Jul 2, 2012

Summer Vacation

The location in San Francisco is not good; several blocks from Union Square and closer to the Tenderloin district (filthy sidewalks, hookers, and homeless asking for money). There is a major construction project going on right behind the Hotel Carlton - not disclosed when reservations were made - so extremely noisy beginning around 7:00 p.m. including Saturday. Broken/cracked plastic ice buckets located at the ice machine and not cleaned during the week we were there. Dust along molding at top of the walls approx. 1/2 inch thick! Staff were courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Daily Grill restaurant is very nice and not terribly expensive.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter Hope
Business
Eugene, OR
May 5, 2012

Good stay

Clean and well located, this hotel has a nice crowd, fireplace and wine hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jacque06
Business
Milwaukee, Wi
May 2, 2012

Wonderful location & staff, but no AC

We really liked the decor of the hotel, the complimentary wine in the evening and the very friendly staff. The location is also spectacular- walking distance to a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. The downside was that there was no climate control in the room or any AC. We were there in April with temperatures in the upper 70's, so it got pretty toasty in the room, with only a ceiling fan to cool us off. Maybe they put window units in in the summer? The other thing we wish they would have had was bottled water (they had a machine where you could fill up with filtered water, but no to-go bottles or anything), as well as a complimentary continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geomegan
Business
Boulder, CO
Mar 18, 2012

Great place

The staff everyday was fabulous and the room very clean. It is a very basic hotel room and nothing special. Definitely bring the earplugs for sleeping! The walls are very thin and the street noise can be loud. I would totally stay here again. There are a lot of great restaurants in the area. The Fly is very good and there is an EXCELLENT little Mexican restaurant right around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
radiohack
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 5, 2012

A decent place to stay

We were checked in promptly, and enjoyed a nice quiet room. The sheets were torn in a couple places, but everything was clean and the water was hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fly Bar adjacent to the hotel has great food and a nice happy hour.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MikeTX
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Good value hotel in a rough neighborhood

This hotel delivers a good value for what it is - a dated hotel that received a significant updating remodel. The room was clean, crisp, and had a beautiful view of the skyline. The hotel staff was absolutely excellent - helpful and kind. The primary problem I had with this hotel was it's location. It's nearby the hospital and a rough neighborhood so you will undoubtedly hear police and ambulance sirens throughout the night. I had one of the worst nights of sleep I've had in quite a while, but if you wear earplugs or are a heavy sleeper this hotel might strike you value-pursuing fancy. I would recommend this to my single guy friends on a budget, but I would withhold my recommendation from families or single female friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART rail @ the Civic Center stop ($8.10) from the Airport here instead of a cab ($40-50) if you are traveling by yourself and want to save money.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Two Days
Business
Orange, CA, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Average Stay

Staying at Hotel Carlton was okay. Nothing special and the bedding cover had mysterious red stains on it. I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top