$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UF NO. 1
Business
Florida
Sep 29, 2012

Average recently renovated hotel

Hotel was above average for San Francisco, but just average for your everyday traveler. They did a good job with the recent renovation, but the room size is small and there is no type of temperature control in the rooms (you can either choose to have your window open or closed). Good location, staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
galba
Business
tel aviv, israel
Sep 27, 2012

great atmosphere, nice staff, great room and location.

a very nice welcome-nicest staff ever! a clean and comftable room, close to the center and all the places to be in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BGABSS
Business
Kentucky
Sep 5, 2012

HOT FUN!!!!

Very nice neighborhood (SAFE) and very kind staff!We always return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shops and restaurants at Union Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Berting
Business
North Hollywood, Los Angeles
Aug 11, 2012

Very good couple's family getaway

On the day we arrived we were received very well by asian american staff. The following day we were oriented excellently by largely filipino american staff on places we wanted to go to around san francisco downtown like golden gate bridge, chinatown, union square, fisherman's wharf and ferry boats. The shuttle white caucasian conscientious bus driver comfortably brought us to the domestic/international airport very safely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It was the best location for a hotel to check in at a very reasonably good price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PDX CPA
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 9, 2012

Great place to stay!

We spent the 4th of July holiday at the Hotel Carlton and couldn't have been happier. The staff was amazing, the room was clean and comfortable, and the location was perfect. On top of that, the complimentary nightly wine was a wonderful touch. We would gladly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heat Wave escape artist
Business
Springfield, Illinois
Jul 9, 2012

Great Customer Service

We loved this hotel and the staff. Very friendly and accomodating. Vehicle valet service was great - our car was retrieved promptly and waiting at the front door whenever we called. Hotel is a small boutique facility that is old but charming and authentic San Francisco experience. We enjoyed the afternoon wine receptions and meals in the Saha restaurant. Location was ideal for our needs. Everything was within walking distance and neighborhood was very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the vehicular valet service, it saved us time and hassles and was comparably priced to parking ourselves in a nearby garage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spinny
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 6, 2012

Hotel Carlton definitely needs that special something.

The hotel's location was great...and that was the only great thing about it. The staff was pleasant when I checked in, but gave me incorrect information on two subjects (internet access and happy hour). The concierge was on the rude side and did not have a nice way with people. The room was small and somewhat dingy, even though the decor of the place was unique. The bathroom floor was constantly dirty and there was something stuck to the wall by the bed that looked very unpleasant--basically like someone's nose discharge. They charged $34 a day for parking. Overall, I was very unimpressed for what I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chuck50
Business
Salinas, California
Jul 2, 2012

Summer Vacation

The location in San Francisco is not good; several blocks from Union Square and closer to the Tenderloin district (filthy sidewalks, hookers, and homeless asking for money). There is a major construction project going on right behind the Hotel Carlton - not disclosed when reservations were made - so extremely noisy beginning around 7:00 p.m. including Saturday. Broken/cracked plastic ice buckets located at the ice machine and not cleaned during the week we were there. Dust along molding at top of the walls approx. 1/2 inch thick! Staff were courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Daily Grill restaurant is very nice and not terribly expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob from St. Pete
Business
Saint Petersburg, FL
May 13, 2012

Great stay!

The staff was friendly, courteous and efficient. Very accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. I really enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter Hope
Business
Eugene, OR
May 5, 2012

Good stay

Clean and well located, this hotel has a nice crowd, fireplace and wine hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top