$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yuke H
Business
San Francisco
Nov 18, 2012

Good hotel for traveler

Staff there had a very good sense of humor, they provided a comfortable atmosphere. I stayed 3 nights, it's a good place not only for its convenient location, but also for its price. Good choice for students and travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aged traveler
Business
Irvine, California
Nov 14, 2012

Business trip

Hotel has aged. Uncomfortable street noise. Hotel parking is very expensive. I did not take breakfast after seeing what is offered. Staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cristina nv
Business
San Jose, California
Nov 12, 2012

Giants parade

It was a pretty good experience. I got a two bed. Hey had a free 30 min wine testing on the Wednesday we went. It didn't have the remote for some reason but we still got I anyways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patrick NAUL
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 12, 2012

Good Place to crash

Comfortable room, nice staff, but little amentities and could use AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the BART

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IssyMcG
Business
Connecticut
Nov 7, 2012

Stay here!!!

We LOVED this hotel! Room was spotless and very comfortable. Big bathroom (with great water pressure even tho we were on the 5th floor!). Also big walk-in closet with lots of hangers as well as plenty of drawer space. Big bright windows which you could open. We stayed 4 days and every staff member we interacted with was very friendly and helpful. It had everything we needed and nothing we didn't. Very convenient location - you would pay a lot more money for a better location, and this was pretty much within walking distance of most things we wanted to do and see. Another advantage - the area had real character, being just outside the real touristy area. Lots of little breakfast cafes and small grocery stores/liquor stores close by. We would definitely stay here again on future trips to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has valet parking at $34 a night. There are garages close by for $21 a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wendywub
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 5, 2012

Just right for San Francisco

Hotel Carlton was the perfect place to stay in San Francisco. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean and lively. There were many guests from all over the world and the evening wine hour is full of interesting people. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pam and friends
Business
San Francisco
Oct 15, 2012

Nice staff

The hotel is older and somewhat eclectic, but the guy at the front desk was hysterical and made our stay a lot more enjoyable than we thought it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UF NO. 1
Business
Florida
Sep 29, 2012

Average recently renovated hotel

Hotel was above average for San Francisco, but just average for your everyday traveler. They did a good job with the recent renovation, but the room size is small and there is no type of temperature control in the rooms (you can either choose to have your window open or closed). Good location, staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
galba
Business
tel aviv, israel
Sep 27, 2012

great atmosphere, nice staff, great room and location.

a very nice welcome-nicest staff ever! a clean and comftable room, close to the center and all the places to be in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BGABSS
Business
Kentucky
Sep 5, 2012

HOT FUN!!!!

Very nice neighborhood (SAFE) and very kind staff!We always return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shops and restaurants at Union Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top