$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
237 reviews
Great hotel in super location

We stayed at the Carlton for 4 nights after a 4 week vacation trip and it ranks our #1 with it's... See full review

  • The Kennos
  • Jun 29, 2014
Very cool hotel

Me and my fiancée came to San Fran to celebrate my birthday and this hotel was a perfect hotel. See full review

  • Jakoa Dudley
  • Apr 14, 2014
Green boutique Nob Hill hotel blends history and eco-consciousness

Green is the reality at the Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre property. The Nob Hill hotel is certified by the city of San Francisco as a green business, is one of the few hotels in town to have solar panels, and was the first hotel in the U.S. to receive the LEED EB O&M distinction. The structure itself is historic, and dates back to the early 1900s. Inside, the vibe is international, as walls are adorned with art photos from the American Himalayan Foundation.

Highlights
  • Located mere blocks from City Hall and the Federal Building
  • Complimentary nightly wine hour (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.)
  • On-site restaurant Saha offers Arabic fusion cuisine
Rooms

The majority of the Carlton's rooms offer guests expansive, unobstructed city views (a rarity in this district of San Francisco) because the hotel isn't flanked by adjoining buildings. Each of the 160 rooms (and the lone suite) includes an in-room laptop safe, a ceiling fan, and a CD player that is MP3 compatible. Decor in these rooms is soft; soothing tones of light blue and cream are punctuated by touches of glowing colors, such as saffron, Oriental red and a cheerful persimmon. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Without question, the Hotel Carlton's attention to conservation is a major accomplishment. Nearly one quarter of the hotel's energy is generated by the rooftop solar panel installation.


All guests are invited to a complimentary wine hour every night (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.). Hotel Carlton also offers adjoining rooms, ideal for families.


Saha offer an eclectic blend of Yemenese and Californian cuisines. The restaurant also features an old-world Chinese "scholar's table" that seats eight, bringing friends and strangers together to share the adventures of the day. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 miles)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (5 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • City Hall
  • Federal Building
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Summit Room is ideal for meetings and depositions
  • Use one of three public Internet-enabled workstations in the lobby (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Saha at Hotel Carlton will be resuming its original hours
  • Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30 - 10:30 AM, Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday 6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
  • Effective November 1st, Valet Parking (fees apply) is available from 6 AM to midnight. 
  • Please note that you will need a valid credit card and photo ID to check in to the hotel
  • Parking fees: $35/night plus 14% tax (Total is $40). Oversized vehicles are $41/night plus 14% tax (Total is $47)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7878 -122.4179
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland International Airport. San Jose is located about 50 miles south of San Francisco and is any easy drive of about 1 hour.
Area description
Conveniently located close to Union Square, the Financial District, Civic Center, state and federal govenment buildings, Davies Symphony Hall, War Memorial Opera House, Orpheum Theater and Chinatown. Cable Cars and city bus lines are located just minutes from the front door.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Superior Full Full
Features two full beds, easy chair with accent table, marble topped writing desk, color cable TV with remote, telephone with data port, coffeemaker, full-length mirror, iron and ironing board, ceiling fan and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Dining

Saha
Saha Restaurant, a 50-seat restaurant serving Arabic-fusion cuisine, offers affordable breakfast and dinner menus. The restaurant's ebony wood planked floor, bright red lacquer seats and red leather upholstery along with an old-world Chinese "scholar's table that can seat eight (8), brings friends and families together to share the adventures of the day.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Carlton's Summit Room is ideal for small meetings and depositions. Please contact the Sales Department for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auntie M with Lulu
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jul 4, 2014

Trip to visit Consulate General of Spain

If you like walking it is not a bad place to be located to visit other locations in San Francisco. WiFi connection could use bit of better service in the hotel but over all our stay was great her and staff members were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business user
Business
San Francisco
Jul 4, 2014

Good economic hotel

If you are looking for a clean, well run and efficient place to stay, this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kdterry
Wilmington, NC
Jul 3, 2014

Awesome last minute reservation!

We decided to book a hotel last minute and were amazed at how awesome a deal this hotel was! It was a festival weekend when we booked and the prices were still very reasonable. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was perfect - amazing bathroom and comfy beds. The only thing I noticed was that you can't change the temperature in the room, but there is a ceiling fan you can change speed on. I would definitely recommend this to a friend and would come back to this hotel next time I'm in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikki Joya
Denver, Colorado
Jun 30, 2014

Great location, nice place

The Hotel Carlton was a great place to stay. Great location to different restaurants and bars and very central to SF activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Kennos
Melbourne, Australia
Jun 29, 2014

Great hotel in super location

We stayed at the Carlton for 4 nights after a 4 week vacation trip and it ranks our #1 with it's central location, comfortable rooms, terrific staff and funky vibe. It's great value for money was topped off by a musical happy hour each evening - highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to Polk Street for great dining options, bars, supermarkets etc

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garbushka
San Jose, ca
Jun 19, 2014

Nob hill charm

Great location near downtown but away from all the hustle and bustle. Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynne729
San Diego, California
Jun 16, 2014

Great last minute hotel!

I really enjoyed my stay. It was a great deal & the room was very nice. The only problems were the thin walls so I heard people talking late into the morning when I was trying to sleep. Also, it's on the edge of a really sketchy part of town. :( It is fairly close to tourist attractions & not a bad walk at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NickyDee
Business
Burbank
Jun 12, 2014

Pleasant tourist hotel

I was on a quick business trip to SF and grabbed a nite at this place as I'd stayed at other co-owned properties.Like many SF hotels, the place was jammed with tourists from all over the world, not many business travelers. But the WiFi worked well & the room was larger than I expected and nicely updated with new bathroom, a modern pod-type coffeemaker and a huge closet. I had a rear room and it was quiet, even though it was a lower floor -- a bonus in noisy urban SF (the neighborhood is mixed). The standout was the restaurant where I had dinner -- they offered truly authentic and completely delicious middle-eastern cuisine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California bigfoot
Santa Barbara
Jun 1, 2014

good location friendly dtaff

Room was a bit small and we booked a room w a view but when we arrived there was no view. They gave us free lunch the next day at the middle eastern restaurant in the building which was amazing. Friendly staff and had a cool modern vibe. Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ekay1
San Diego, ca.
May 27, 2014

It was an ok last minute booking

The card key reader at the door was being repaired. I could hear everything from across the hallway. Service was decent. The room wasn't how it looked on the picture. I was disappointed when I opened my door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search