$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Hotel Bijou

2 stars
View map of 111 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Bijou

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 21, 2009

Nearby good stuff

We extended our business vacation and downgraded to a more affordable place on our own dime. This hotel was one of the cheaper we could find. The place was clean and cute and cozy (our particular room was a little small, but it was the cheapest room). The night front desk guy was super nice and friendly, the woman during the day wasn't unfriendly, but not as welcoming. The hotel was nearby union square and loads of public transportation. The particular block it is situated on is not the greatest, expect loud drunks and such during the night (they provide earplugs). If your window is opposite of Eddy, it would probably be nice and quiet. That being said, you walk one block in 3 directions and its nicer areas. The hotel provides free wifi but I could never get it to work on my computer. The front desk guy offered to connect me with tech support though I never took him up on it. They also give a free continental breakfast which consists of decent coffee, tea, cereal, bagels. muffins and hard boiled eggs. Overall I'd stay there again, but I'd bring some sleeping pills and maybe even a super soaker to shoot at the loud drunks at 3am ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Aug 26, 2009

Great Location

Location is perfet for San Francisco. Hotel is A ONE TO TWO BLOCK WALK TO: San Francisco Visitor Information Center, BART, Powell Street Station, beginning of Cable Car line, a variety of fast food places for pizza, burgers, subs, a food court in shopping mall, plenty of shopping and 2 small groceries stores. Nightly movies in hotel's mini theatre are a real treat. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 5, 2011

Cute little hotel

This was a nice little hotel. Very friendly staff. Convienient location. Beds were a little uncomfortable but it we only stayed one night and it didn't bother us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
letsgoblue2002
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Jul 25, 2009

A Diamond in the Rough!

The Hotel Bijou is a genuine diamond in the rough! I had only a few "issues" with the hotel... 1) no refrigerator in the room 2) street noise from Eddy Street at night 3) slow elevator 4) proximity to the Tenderloin district (attitude changed after one night, though) Now for the positives... 1) courteous staff with a great knowledge of SF 2) clean sheets, bed, pillow, towels, room, etc. 3) shower was very good and hot water aplenty! 4) location/proximity to Powell Station (BART) - 1 block away (thus saving on trans to/from SFO) 5) 30 second walk to Powell Station cable car 5) location/proximity to shopping - 2 blocks away from the Westfield SF Centre Granted, the location of Hotel Bijou on the outskirts of the Tenderloin district may give some travelers an uneasy feeling about staying a few nights, rest assured, however, I was traveling alone and never had a problem, never felt unsafe or insecure. The doors do close at 7pm but you can use your room keycard to enter the front doors with ease. Additionally, the area is pretty well lit and there were always other tourists walking on Mason Street. In my opinion, you're more likely to lose your money to the vendors at Fisherman's Wharf than you are in front of the hotel. That being said, it's always a good idea to always be careful of your surroundings no matter where in San Francisco you're at. All in all, the Hotel Bijou was a pleasant hotel and I greatly enjoyed my stay. It is a great bargain in a good area of town, and I would highly recommend it to single/group travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you get the urge to rent a bicycle to cross the Golden Gate Bridge, consider bypassing the excessively advertised bike rental shops near Fisherman's Wharf and make your way towards the entrance of Fort Mason. There you will find a small bicycle rental place that charges significantly less to rent a bicycle for the hour. Unfortunately you're not provided a map like you are on the others, but you'll be hard pressed to not find a group of bicyclists you can "follow" through Crissy Field, the Presidio, and towards the bridge.

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Sep 22, 2008

good location, not terribly comfy

very close to everything you need in SF. Front desk staff was very helpful. Rooms were small but workable. Bed was not very comfortable and linens remind you of a hospital. Lots of street noise. But overall, for the price and location, I would consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to cable car, union station, shopping, and food.

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Nov 16, 2009

great price / location combo

at the hub of the action

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 15, 2009

Great location, good value

We were in town for a long weekend. The hotel is centrally located, with easy access to Market Street and the Powell BART station. We walked and took the bus to walking tours of different neighborhoods, and some great local eats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kwitis
Business
ct
May 11, 2010

Very Nice

Very close to BART and Cable Car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Work n Play Girl
Business
Orlando, FL
Feb 26, 2010

Gem of a hotel in a great location

Loved the thematic decor of this little place. The location was great and convenient for my meetings and sightseeing. The staff was fantastic and couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The rooms are a little small, but why stay inside in such a great city anyway? A little noisy with the street traffic, but foam earplugs blocked it out. I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Tartine Bakery at 600 Guererro Street. It's a 35 min walk from the hotel, but easy to get to and find. The morning buns are the best! Also Old Siam thai food right up the street from the hotel was great, too!

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Always Walking
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 19, 2009

Hotel Bijou

The price is right in an outstanding location - convenient to Bart & Muni Metro - easy to get to the airport or from Amtrak; near the cable car line. Rooms are adequate & clean and continental breakfast is provided. The neighborhood can be a bit noisy at night, but no serious complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top