$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Hotel Bijou

2 stars
111 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
59 reviews
Great place in a central location

You don't get much more central than this! You're right next to Union Square and a BART station and... See full review

  • jonflaat
  • Jun 3, 2014
Diamond in the rough area

Hotel Bijou is a boutique type hotel which is in a borderline area with many homeless people and a... See full review

  • Dutchtreat
  • Oct 26, 2014
Hotel Bijou is the most unique of all the Bay Area boutique hotels. Inspired by San Francisco's rich cinematic history, the hotel is adorned with classic movie palace designs and dramatic Hollywood portraits. The hotel even has a mini movie theater in the lobby showing a nightly double feature of San Francisco-based movies. Each of the 65 comfortable guest rooms is named after a motion picture shot here in the city. Using the original movie stills as decorative accents, Hotel Bijou provides the guests with the most interesting San Francisco hotel rooms while simultaneously keeping you centrally located to everything this exciting city has to offer. Mornings at Hotel Bijou on waking up to coffee, tea and pastries(surcharge). Then step out the door and head 4 blocks north to the famed Union Square, which is San Francisco's central shopping, theatre and hotel district. Hotel Bijou is the most desirably stylish of all the boutique and small hotels in San Francisco. Adorned with fashionable touches of refined Hollywood glamour, the hotel is the perfect place to stay for those enamored with the power and prestige of the film industry. Petit Theater is the mini movie theater and is free for guests. Showing nightly double features of San Francisco-based movies, the hotel provides an entertaining environment for guests to enjoy. The hotel also offers, high speed Internet access - complimentary, handicap rooms, wireless Internet, smoke free property, free nightly double feature, complete concierge service,wine reception at check in time,same day laundry service and valet parking - $32 per day plus city tax, extra tax applies for oversized vehicles. Pet Policy: $25 pet cleaning fee per stay

Hotel Map

37.7845 -122.4096
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, Oakland International Airport and Mineta San Jose International Airport.
Area description
Barely a 15 minute drive from San Francisco International Airport and 4 blocks south of Union Square, Hotel Bijou is the most affordable and centrally located of all the hotels close to Market Street. Within walking distance of the hotel you'll find over 100 restaurants, coffeehouses and nightclubs, and more than 100 unique shops and galleries. The Westfield Mall is only 2 short blocks west, Moscone Center is 5 blocks west, and a quick drive can take you to either the Financial District, Yerba Buena Gardens, North Beach, Chinatown or the famous Pier 39.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Bijou also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Bijou Rooms

2 Twins
This jewel toned guestroom with two twin beds, a two-line phone with voicemail and data port, cable TV, full tub and shower, iron and board, writing desk, electronic lock, free double feature nightly in the Petit Theatre Bijou, featuring movies filmed in San Francisco. All rooms are non-smoking.
2 Doubles
This jewel toned guestroom with two double beds, a two-line phone with voicemail and data port, cable TV, full tub and shower, iron and board, writing desk, electronic lock, free double feature nightly in the Petit Theatre Bijou, featuring movies filmed in San Francisco. All rooms are non-smoking.
1 Queen
This jewel toned guestroom with one-queen bed, a two-line phone with voicemail and data port, cable TV, full tub and shower, iron and board, writing desk, electronic lock, free double feature nightly in the Petit Theatre Bijou, featuring movies filmed in San Francisco. All rooms are non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Bijou

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lovescities traveler
Business
Boston
Oct 31, 2012

Tenderloin in your face

staff was lovely but needed to warn hotel guests regarding Tenderloin district and all the issues this implies--a lot of noise at night, most nights (earplugs help but were not discussed or offered until after a sleepless night) and I was not warned to make sure to securely lock my window, which I would have done had I been alerted to security issues. My luggage was stolen out of my room by someone entering through the window and then exiting through the front door. Staff and police were very helpful but frankly I would have preferred a warning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Young.lady
Business
Illinoise
Nov 12, 2012

small old hotel

It was very noisy at night. The room is small . TV is 21" tube . The image is not clear. The internet is really hard to get. Not worth that much money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ashi
Business
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Jan 15, 2013

Not worth the money! Awful location!

This is one of the old hotels near SF downtown but maybe one of the worst to stay. The location is dreadful: several poor people live around the hotel and the area doesn't seem to be safe at all. The hotel is too old: you probably cannot sleep without earplugs since the hotel is faced to two busy streets and the windows are awful. I can't say much about the amenities. I've never been in a hotel without coffeemaker (except in Vegas) and have never seen a maid leaving a room without putting new soaps and shampoo while all are used. The room was relatively clean. The staff are not professional and do not do their best to make the hotel a comfortable place for you. I feel I totally wasted that hundred bucks per night in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Several bus stops. One of them is even in a route to the airport (samtrans 292), which takes about 40 mins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Irush
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Sep 17, 2013

Not clean!

We reserve this hotel using discount code. It is expensive for what you get from it! Everything is very dated and almost falling apart. The room that we received was not clean and we asked to change it. It was very noisy too. They let us change the room, but second room was not much better than the first one. We stayed just because we didn't want to spend time on fighting with the staff to get our money back and looking for another place, because we only had few days to see the city. The area is full of homeless people. Not very pleasant as well. I wouldn't stay in this place again and wouldn't recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF, CA
Jul 19, 2010

Bijou ickypoo

booked the room day before on internet. room ready on time at 3:00. shower curtains smelled and gave room a sour smell. sheets barely covered top of bed and did not fit. same with blanket. fights/yelling/screaming at all hours outside. single pane glass did not keep sound out. tried to charge me for a breakfast that was included. room was worth less than I paid. Update the windows, sheets, shower curtains and breakfast and the experience would be more positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Observer19
Business
San Diego
Jan 13, 2012

good location

the hotel takes itself more seriously than its old infrastructure merits, but they try pretty hard. OK to save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 6, 2011

N/A

the heating system was not working and it was extremely cold. The hotel did not even bother to take a look and see what they can do... so frustrating The area was so unsafe, full of homeless and drug addict people. so scary and dangerous to walk at night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SoCal
Jul 26, 2010

Not impressed

The hotel was not in the location that I was led to believe. We were looking for a hotel that was walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf - this is not it. The rooms were incredibly small, and the beds were horrid. If you looked at them the wrong way they squeaked and moved. That was all tolerable; what was not was the parking. We were told it was $37 for valet (we could have saved $12 by parking it ourselves and walking) with in and out privileges. What we were NOT told was that it was $37 PER DAY! In addition they told me, upon checkout, that it would take 1/2 hour for my car to be brought up!!!! WTH?! I did not pay the $74 they tried to charge me for valet, I let the clerk know that we were not informed it was a per day charge, nor does it say that on their sign regarding valet. Not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno
Aug 11, 2011

reservation mix-up

The hotel did not receive our reservation [...] and we could not get the room type we reserved. We had to wait in the front lobby for 20-30 min for confirming and rebooking our reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unfrequent traveler
Business
Alaska
Nov 1, 2011

Good deal for the money

The location is good, but the hotel needs some major overhaul.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is right next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top