$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Hotel Bijou

2 stars
111 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
59 reviews
Great place in a central location

You don't get much more central than this! You're right next to Union Square and a BART station and... See full review

  • jonflaat
  • Jun 3, 2014
Diamond in the rough area

Hotel Bijou is a boutique type hotel which is in a borderline area with many homeless people and a... See full review

  • Dutchtreat
  • Oct 26, 2014
Hotel Bijou is the most unique of all the Bay Area boutique hotels. Inspired by San Francisco's rich cinematic history, the hotel is adorned with classic movie palace designs and dramatic Hollywood portraits. The hotel even has a mini movie theater in the lobby showing a nightly double feature of San Francisco-based movies. Each of the 65 comfortable guest rooms is named after a motion picture shot here in the city. Using the original movie stills as decorative accents, Hotel Bijou provides the guests with the most interesting San Francisco hotel rooms while simultaneously keeping you centrally located to everything this exciting city has to offer. Mornings at Hotel Bijou on waking up to coffee, tea and pastries(surcharge). Then step out the door and head 4 blocks north to the famed Union Square, which is San Francisco's central shopping, theatre and hotel district. Hotel Bijou is the most desirably stylish of all the boutique and small hotels in San Francisco. Adorned with fashionable touches of refined Hollywood glamour, the hotel is the perfect place to stay for those enamored with the power and prestige of the film industry. Petit Theater is the mini movie theater and is free for guests. Showing nightly double features of San Francisco-based movies, the hotel provides an entertaining environment for guests to enjoy. The hotel also offers, high speed Internet access - complimentary, handicap rooms, wireless Internet, smoke free property, free nightly double feature, complete concierge service,wine reception at check in time,same day laundry service and valet parking - $32 per day plus city tax, extra tax applies for oversized vehicles. Pet Policy: $25 pet cleaning fee per stay

Hotel Map

37.7845 -122.4096
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, Oakland International Airport and Mineta San Jose International Airport.
Area description
Barely a 15 minute drive from San Francisco International Airport and 4 blocks south of Union Square, Hotel Bijou is the most affordable and centrally located of all the hotels close to Market Street. Within walking distance of the hotel you'll find over 100 restaurants, coffeehouses and nightclubs, and more than 100 unique shops and galleries. The Westfield Mall is only 2 short blocks west, Moscone Center is 5 blocks west, and a quick drive can take you to either the Financial District, Yerba Buena Gardens, North Beach, Chinatown or the famous Pier 39.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Bijou also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Bijou Rooms

2 Twins
This jewel toned guestroom with two twin beds, a two-line phone with voicemail and data port, cable TV, full tub and shower, iron and board, writing desk, electronic lock, free double feature nightly in the Petit Theatre Bijou, featuring movies filmed in San Francisco. All rooms are non-smoking.
2 Doubles
This jewel toned guestroom with two double beds, a two-line phone with voicemail and data port, cable TV, full tub and shower, iron and board, writing desk, electronic lock, free double feature nightly in the Petit Theatre Bijou, featuring movies filmed in San Francisco. All rooms are non-smoking.
1 Queen
This jewel toned guestroom with one-queen bed, a two-line phone with voicemail and data port, cable TV, full tub and shower, iron and board, writing desk, electronic lock, free double feature nightly in the Petit Theatre Bijou, featuring movies filmed in San Francisco. All rooms are non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Bijou

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IL
Aug 8, 2009

Opinion of Hotel Bijou

Our stay at the Hotel Bijou was ok overall. The rooms are small and ours overlooked a shady and very noisy street. On the up side it was not far from Union Square and just a short walk to Chinatown. The staff was good at giving directions and when asked told you which way not to walk. If it's the movie theater aspect of the hotel that attracts you, don't be sucked in based on that. When they say petit theater they mean it--eight seats and no popcorn!!:( I would recommend this hotel to a friend only if they were worried about cash flow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
letsgoblue2002
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Jul 25, 2009

A Diamond in the Rough!

The Hotel Bijou is a genuine diamond in the rough! I had only a few "issues" with the hotel... 1) no refrigerator in the room 2) street noise from Eddy Street at night 3) slow elevator 4) proximity to the Tenderloin district (attitude changed after one night, though) Now for the positives... 1) courteous staff with a great knowledge of SF 2) clean sheets, bed, pillow, towels, room, etc. 3) shower was very good and hot water aplenty! 4) location/proximity to Powell Station (BART) - 1 block away (thus saving on trans to/from SFO) 5) 30 second walk to Powell Station cable car 5) location/proximity to shopping - 2 blocks away from the Westfield SF Centre Granted, the location of Hotel Bijou on the outskirts of the Tenderloin district may give some travelers an uneasy feeling about staying a few nights, rest assured, however, I was traveling alone and never had a problem, never felt unsafe or insecure. The doors do close at 7pm but you can use your room keycard to enter the front doors with ease. Additionally, the area is pretty well lit and there were always other tourists walking on Mason Street. In my opinion, you're more likely to lose your money to the vendors at Fisherman's Wharf than you are in front of the hotel. That being said, it's always a good idea to always be careful of your surroundings no matter where in San Francisco you're at. All in all, the Hotel Bijou was a pleasant hotel and I greatly enjoyed my stay. It is a great bargain in a good area of town, and I would highly recommend it to single/group travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you get the urge to rent a bicycle to cross the Golden Gate Bridge, consider bypassing the excessively advertised bike rental shops near Fisherman's Wharf and make your way towards the entrance of Fort Mason. There you will find a small bicycle rental place that charges significantly less to rent a bicycle for the hour. Unfortunately you're not provided a map like you are on the others, but you'll be hard pressed to not find a group of bicyclists you can "follow" through Crissy Field, the Presidio, and towards the bridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 21, 2009

Nearby good stuff

We extended our business vacation and downgraded to a more affordable place on our own dime. This hotel was one of the cheaper we could find. The place was clean and cute and cozy (our particular room was a little small, but it was the cheapest room). The night front desk guy was super nice and friendly, the woman during the day wasn't unfriendly, but not as welcoming. The hotel was nearby union square and loads of public transportation. The particular block it is situated on is not the greatest, expect loud drunks and such during the night (they provide earplugs). If your window is opposite of Eddy, it would probably be nice and quiet. That being said, you walk one block in 3 directions and its nicer areas. The hotel provides free wifi but I could never get it to work on my computer. The front desk guy offered to connect me with tech support though I never took him up on it. They also give a free continental breakfast which consists of decent coffee, tea, cereal, bagels. muffins and hard boiled eggs. Overall I'd stay there again, but I'd bring some sleeping pills and maybe even a super soaker to shoot at the loud drunks at 3am ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 1, 2009

Great Location

We went to San Francisco to go to a couple of baseball games and enjoy the local restaurants. The hotel is located within a block of a BART station which made traveling around very easy. It was also close to Market Street so shopping and restaurants were all close by. The rooms were clean. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The only problem was the noise. We were on the 4th floor yet we could easily hear the voices from people on the street. There were some homeless individuals making a lot of noise during the night. It woke us up several times. It must be a continuous problem because the hotel provides ear plugs in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Keepin' It Real
Business
Central Coast,Ca
May 28, 2009

Nice,clean,comfortable and affordable!

Everything we needed was in walking distance. I would stay here again and recommend to everybody! Most especially to couples who want to enjoy themselves,the city and what it has to offer. The only thing thing I didn't like was the parking fees!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are planning to go out and party, the subway system is just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kalamazoo Michigan
May 2, 2009

pretty good

My husband accompanied me while I attended a coffee roasting class in nearby Marin county. The Front desk staff was great! The breakfast in the morning was really bland. Fresh fruit- a flower arrangement, even a fake one would have helped. The old saying "the devil is in the details" when we first arrived I went into the bathroom and saw a sticky dust clob combined with black curly hair... I couldn't ignore it, and I didn't want to clean it myself, but I did. It isn't that big of a deal, but it started me off on a note of "eeeewwwwwhhh" apart from that, for the price, The aging hotel was kind of quaint. It seems like they need to put some $ in upgrades if they can. Compared to previous trips this is probabaly one of the worst hotels we have stayed in based on location, room size and cleanliness

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you can find a parking spot on the street if you don't mind moving your car, or putting money in the meter by 6am. We were always up so it wasn't a big deal.Our car was safe. I would not have felt safe parking and walking if I had been a single woman alone, but with my husband it was fine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 22, 2008

A little pricey but

its such a cute small hotel. Staff was amazing, rooms were quite small and its really noisy at night but overall thoroughly enjoyed the stay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trolley station, Westfield mall and Union square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evanston
Nov 23, 2008

Convenient

The hotel was extremely convenient, comfortable, and friendly. An excellent option for the city center at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Sep 22, 2008

good location, not terribly comfy

very close to everything you need in SF. Front desk staff was very helpful. Rooms were small but workable. Bed was not very comfortable and linens remind you of a hospital. Lots of street noise. But overall, for the price and location, I would consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to cable car, union station, shopping, and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top