$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Hotel Bijou

2 stars
View map of 111 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Bijou

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ulf from Sweden
Single
Visby, Sweden
May 5, 2012

Good location

A bit worn, but perfectly clean and functioning. Not the latest fashion in beds and television, but still OK. Nice and friendly staff. Perfect location, close to Bart station, cable cars and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Confit de Canard (leg of duck) at Cafe de la Presse on Grant!

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heidi jean
Family
san francisco
Apr 3, 2012

eclectic jewel in a tough area

I was very happy with the cleanliness of the Bijou. There are parts of the hotel that are older and need to be updated like the bathroom fixtures but you can tell that it is loved and treasured building. It is in a rough part of town so we did not go out after dark but that was okay with us. The doors are locked at 8 p.m. which adds a sense of security. All in all I liked this sweet little hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
icey502
Business
Chandler, AZ
Jan 18, 2012

Good location

Service was decent and the room was nice. Alas, there is a large amount of street noise at this location, so it was very difficult to get a decent night of sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Observer19
Business
San Diego
Jan 13, 2012

good location

the hotel takes itself more seriously than its old infrastructure merits, but they try pretty hard. OK to save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJAY
Single
New Jersey
Jan 1, 2012

Great find

Yes, the neighborhood is a little dodgy (but incredibly convenient: just a couple of blocks from the Powell BART and the heart of downtown SF).....but the hotel itself is clean, pleasant, fun to be in (the movie theme is very tastefully and effectively handled)....the staff helpful and polite.....my room was spacious (too often, older, center city hotels have rooms the size of closets).....the price was right, as well.....all told, quite a find.....I'd like to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shayazul
Family
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

great xmas weekend in SFO

I booked this hotel without having any reference other than the written reviews I found on the site and based on that and the price I chose it.. upon arrival I was upgraded to a better room without me asking for it. The staff was very cordial. the room was excellent ..great toiletries included that were so helpful like facial cleanser and night cream..amazing. Very clean and location was perfect.. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ladybee
Friends
riverside
Nov 26, 2011

Best deal ever

The location of the hotel is the biggest advantage. you are in the downtown of SF and every thing you can need is around you( metro, bus, shop, restaurant, clubs...)! moreover the airport is directly linked with the hotel with the BART metro

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unfrequent traveler
Business
Alaska
Nov 1, 2011

Good deal for the money

The location is good, but the hotel needs some major overhaul.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is right next door

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bdmarst
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Business Traveler looking for something out of the ordinary

Selected for location. Close to BART, Cablecars, and the Moscone Convention Center. Rooms are small but adequate. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fresno
Aug 11, 2011

reservation mix-up

The hotel did not receive our reservation [...] and we could not get the room type we reserved. We had to wait in the front lobby for 20-30 min for confirming and rebooking our reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top