$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Hotel Bijou

2 stars
View map of 111 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Bijou

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richr7
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 21, 2013

Business Trip Jan 17-20, 2013

I had a business trip to San Francisco where I had to be at a seminar at the Marriott Marquis downtown. As opposed to staying at the conference hotel for close to $300 per night, I chose to stay here an approximate 5 min walk away for about 1/3 of the price. While the room was small, it was clean and had everything I needed. The front desk people were very attentive always making sure to greet me and smiling. For the price and convenience it was a great choice and i would certainly return again if I needed to be in Downtown San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ashi
Family
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Jan 15, 2013

Not worth the money! Awful location!

This is one of the old hotels near SF downtown but maybe one of the worst to stay. The location is dreadful: several poor people live around the hotel and the area doesn't seem to be safe at all. The hotel is too old: you probably cannot sleep without earplugs since the hotel is faced to two busy streets and the windows are awful. I can't say much about the amenities. I've never been in a hotel without coffeemaker (except in Vegas) and have never seen a maid leaving a room without putting new soaps and shampoo while all are used. The room was relatively clean. The staff are not professional and do not do their best to make the hotel a comfortable place for you. I feel I totally wasted that hundred bucks per night in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Several bus stops. One of them is even in a route to the airport (samtrans 292), which takes about 40 mins.

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vanwolverine
Vancouver
Dec 17, 2012

Comfortable and Easy

A great value hotel right near everything in downtown San Francisco. True, there is noise outside at night, but that's perfectly normal in an American city. Friendly and helpful staff with spacious rooms that are surprisingly comfortable. This is an amazing value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Young.lady
Business
Illinoise
Nov 12, 2012

small old hotel

It was very noisy at night. The room is small . TV is 21" tube . The image is not clear. The internet is really hard to get. Not worth that much money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kitsch.maven
Couples
Pioneer, CA
Nov 8, 2012

Hotel Bijou San Francisco

Small charming & clean. Right in the heart of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

More character than chains.

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kitsch.maven
Couples
Pioneer, CA
Nov 8, 2012

San Francisco Hotel Bijou

Small charming & clean. Right in the heart of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CustomerfromSJ
Friends
San Jose, CA
Nov 5, 2012

Nice Staff, Fine Hotel

This hotel might be pretty standard, but the staff was super friendly and helpful, and that really made it stand out to me. I had a very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lovescities traveler
Business
Boston
Oct 31, 2012

Tenderloin in your face

staff was lovely but needed to warn hotel guests regarding Tenderloin district and all the issues this implies--a lot of noise at night, most nights (earplugs help but were not discussed or offered until after a sleepless night) and I was not warned to make sure to securely lock my window, which I would have done had I been alerted to security issues. My luggage was stolen out of my room by someone entering through the window and then exiting through the front door. Staff and police were very helpful but frankly I would have preferred a warning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Far Eats Movement
Single
NJ
Aug 23, 2012

Last minute booking

The location is great. It's a block from the Powell BART station. It's right on the border on Union square (Touristy) and the Tenderlion (the TL) (a bad area with lost of homeless and crackhead) Lots of places to eat around there. Staff was able to store my bags after I checked out. I noticed a lot of other visitors were European and the staff are multilingual. The place is old. TV was not flat screen. Wifi is weak in room but ok in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annie Cristina
Couples
Miami, FL
Jun 25, 2012

Hotel Bijou: A Must for Movie Buffs

I stayed there just this past weekend with my boyfriend. It was our first time in San Francisco and I'm so happy I chose this hotel. The staff was very helpful and polite and I loved the decor -- it has a stylized, old movies look to it, with every room named after a famous film and pictures from old movies and actors adorning the walls in the corridors. We stayed in "The Net." It's true that the shower left much to be desired for both my boyfriend and me -- we felt the shower head could have been slightly higher and the tub a little longer (then again, we're both pretty tall), but the room was otherwise comfortable and nicely furnished. While the location didn't feel the safest at night, it was helpful to have the BART so close. This was especially beneficial when we needed to take it to get back to the airport on our last day. Please note that this hotel keeps its door locked at night, so you'll need to have your key in order to get back inside the hotel. One final thing -- go for the breakfast buffet -- they have a pretty good selection!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top