$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

4 stars
550 Geary Street, 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
190 reviews
Well worth it!

The business office provided, gym, dining, location to city/events, was everything you could have... See full review

  • foxbro
  • Sep 17, 2013
Stylish yet quaint

The hotel is very modern, stylish and comfortable. See full review

  • SoCal Xicana
  • Jul 8, 2014
Intimate boutique comfort and personal attention right by Union Square

"Handsome" and "debonair" are two words guests use to describe the Hotel Adagio, situated just two blocks from San Francisco's Union Square. With Spanish Colonial Revival architecture, Mediterranean accents and an on-site bar that serves tapas-style dishes, the hotel has a decidedly European flair. It also is intimate, with only 171 rooms. Adding to the personal-attention angle, Wi-Fi is available (fees apply), and tours of the area and Town Car service around town are available.

Highlights
  • Located steps from the shopping and excitement of Union Square
  • Concierge desk offering assistance in city tours
  • The Green Room and The Mortimer serving delicious cuisines and cocktails
Location

In addition to its proximity to Union Square, the Hotel Adagio is mere steps away from two of the most storied theaters in San Francisco, the Curran Theatre and the American Conservatory Theater. The Curran is directly across the street.

 

Rooms

The 16-story Hotel Adagio offers 171 rooms, including six suites. Almost half of the guestrooms feature dramatic San Francisco city views; all come standard with iHome or Cambridge Soundsystem stereos, 32-inch LCD televisions, honor bars with refrigerators, hairdryers and Organic Bath amenities. Room decor is minimalist -- white walls accented with artwork and colorful curtains, white linens with vibrant throw pillows. Wi-Fi access is available in all rooms for an added cost.

Features

At the hotel itself, guests have access to a 24-hour fitness center, as well as personal fitness and wellness training from a certified trainer (fees apply). The hotel also features same-day laundry and valet service (fees apply). The front desk offers staff-authored guides to the hidden sights and sounds of San Francisco. All guests can enjoy a complimentary walking tour of the Union Square area with a representative of Golden Gate Greeters, a volunteer tour group.

Dining

Bar Adagio, the swanky on-site eatery, serves tapas-style dishes, pizzas, salads and a full list of handcrafted cocktails. The bar offers daily happy hour specials.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (7 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour self-service business center with Ethernet
  • Sizable meeting rooms for events or parties
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Wi-Fi access charge is $9.95 per night

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

The Green Room
The ideal way to start your day serving fresh breakfast favorites
The Mortimer
The Mortimer serves creative appetizers and dinner cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 190
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Football Fan 13'
Business
Santa Cruz, California
Dec 29, 2013

Over night stay

We were in town for the Bowl game and only needed the room for one night. Easy taxi ride to and from the game. Room was bigger than expected. Only problem was it was noisy being close to the elevator. No hairdryer in the room, but front desk promptly brought one. Happy hour downstairs was a good way to enjoy a drink and snack.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
foxbro
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Sep 17, 2013

Well worth it!

The business office provided, gym, dining, location to city/events, was everything you could have asked for. Staff was friendly and helpful, Rooms clean and bed comfortable. Overall as good as we have stayed in. We are frequent travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants around, no cabs needed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivo Jr
Business
Salvador, Bahia, Brasil
Sep 1, 2013

Excelente Location

Very good room and a wonderful location, 3 blocks from union square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cmvillase
Business
Santa Ana, California
Apr 16, 2013

Great Place for a Great Experience in SF!

As soon as we walked into the hotel, we were warmly greeted by all the staff. I was excited because the hotel had a very modern and vibrant feel to it. The room was nothing short of that either. It was extremely comfortable and I had a great view of SF from the 14th floor. The best thing about the hotel is that it is central to everything. It's almost right in the heart of Union Square so everything was accessible. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stevenQ
Business
olympia, washington
Apr 11, 2013

great hotel

hotel stay was amazing. perfectly located within block of union square as well as the bart and other transportations. staff was very friendly and helpful with mapping out directions for us whenever we wanted to get somewhere. my bf and i were here for the sf rock and roll marathon and we would definitely come back and stay here. In fact we are already planning our next trip over. ;-) thanks to all the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

union square is only blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim N Stet
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Apr 3, 2013

Wonderful Birthday Weekend Getaway

I have never been to San Francisco, CA, therefore I had no clue what to expect of the hotel or the location, other than it being located Downtown. This was the "BEST" hotel I have stayed at in a very long time. The rooms were MAGNIFICENT. The decor was DYNAMIC. The staff was WONDERFUL. My fiance had a great time during his surprise getaway birthday weekend and thought the hotel was very classy and upscale. We will return!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every store you can imagine was right there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ritch and Bev
Business
Lincoln, CA
Mar 6, 2013

Service

Service was very attentive. Only problem was that I had expensive valet parking (discounted $39 per night) and when I checked out the bellman forgot to give me my car key fob. I would have noticed right away but my wife had her fob in her purse and the car started up. I didn't miss the fob until I stopped for food a hundred miles away. I called the hotel and they found the key fob and sent it to me overnight mail. The hotel has been remodeled and some rooms are still being worked on. I never saw the balcony shown in the pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

See Beach Blanket Babylon and the The Walt Disney Family Museum inside the San Francisco Presidio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time in Canada
Business
California
Feb 4, 2013

Fantastic experience

Hotel Adagio is part of a luxury hotel chain so I expected it to be nice but it definitely exceeded my expectations. I mentioned I was there celebrating something special and was put on the 15th floor (out of 16 floors), the staff were very nice and extremely helpful. The room itself was nicely arranged and very spacious, the bed was super comfortable, the bathroom was a nice size, everything was clean, the view was great, the room colors were excellent, the hallways didn't have a funky smell and room service was right on time. I didn't have anything bad to say about the inside of the hotel, it was amazing. Yes, it is located near the Tenderloin, but it's also near Union Square. Sketchy is a relative term and I didn't have any problems with the location. The BART station on Powell is only about 10mins away so super convenient. Overall, the hotel was great - though I will say a little pricey but worth a splurg every now and then.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buddee
Business
San Jose, California
Dec 31, 2012

So-So Experience

I have a small paranoia of bugs and cleanliness when I stay in places that I do not know. I did the usual checks and found no signs of bed bugs for those that are paranoid as well. Pros - The rooms were mostly clean, it was freshly vacuumed and new sheets were put on. The colors were very welcoming and made the room feel very homey. Cons - There was some moisture mold on the window sill behind the desk. Probably one of the more neglected areas because of its location. The bathroom was satisfactory. The shower looked like a normal tub and even had some of the porcelain coming off in areas. Definitely not as nice as if could have been. Overall a nice stay with some little details that need to be looked at by the staff. I will most likely not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Super Duper Burger is on market street and is very good. A little pricey, but good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr JP
Business
Melbourne, FL
Oct 24, 2012

Great location, served our purpose

The staff was very friendly and attentive. Nice looking hotel (lobby, bar, restaurant, etc...) The room was clean. Housekeeping could have been more on top of restocking toiletries in the room, but well kept otherwise. Great location. Two blocks from the center of Union Square. Bus stops, Street cars, Cable cars pretty close to go wherever you want to around the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a cool blues/jazz club about 1 1/2 blocks down the street going towards Union Square called Biscuits and Blues. We caught the resident jazz quartet who plays every Monday night (9-11:30).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top