$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

4 stars
550 Geary Street, 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
190 reviews
Well worth it!

The business office provided, gym, dining, location to city/events, was everything you could have... See full review

  • foxbro
  • Sep 17, 2013
Stylish yet quaint

The hotel is very modern, stylish and comfortable. See full review

  • SoCal Xicana
  • Jul 8, 2014
Intimate boutique comfort and personal attention right by Union Square

"Handsome" and "debonair" are two words guests use to describe the Hotel Adagio, situated just two blocks from San Francisco's Union Square. With Spanish Colonial Revival architecture, Mediterranean accents and an on-site bar that serves tapas-style dishes, the hotel has a decidedly European flair. It also is intimate, with only 171 rooms. Adding to the personal-attention angle, Wi-Fi is available (fees apply), and tours of the area and Town Car service around town are available.

Highlights
  • Located steps from the shopping and excitement of Union Square
  • Concierge desk offering assistance in city tours
  • The Green Room and The Mortimer serving delicious cuisines and cocktails
Location

In addition to its proximity to Union Square, the Hotel Adagio is mere steps away from two of the most storied theaters in San Francisco, the Curran Theatre and the American Conservatory Theater. The Curran is directly across the street.

 

Rooms

The 16-story Hotel Adagio offers 171 rooms, including six suites. Almost half of the guestrooms feature dramatic San Francisco city views; all come standard with iHome or Cambridge Soundsystem stereos, 32-inch LCD televisions, honor bars with refrigerators, hairdryers and Organic Bath amenities. Room decor is minimalist -- white walls accented with artwork and colorful curtains, white linens with vibrant throw pillows. Wi-Fi access is available in all rooms for an added cost.

Features

At the hotel itself, guests have access to a 24-hour fitness center, as well as personal fitness and wellness training from a certified trainer (fees apply). The hotel also features same-day laundry and valet service (fees apply). The front desk offers staff-authored guides to the hidden sights and sounds of San Francisco. All guests can enjoy a complimentary walking tour of the Union Square area with a representative of Golden Gate Greeters, a volunteer tour group.

Dining

Bar Adagio, the swanky on-site eatery, serves tapas-style dishes, pizzas, salads and a full list of handcrafted cocktails. The bar offers daily happy hour specials.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (7 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour self-service business center with Ethernet
  • Sizable meeting rooms for events or parties
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Wi-Fi access charge is $9.95 per night

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

The Green Room
The ideal way to start your day serving fresh breakfast favorites
The Mortimer
The Mortimer serves creative appetizers and dinner cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MACameron
Business
Manhattan, KS
Jun 5, 2012

Beware of the Photos and No Mention of Renovations

Given that we booked our stay in advance, we weren't aware that the hotel was undergoing a substantial renovation. While the hotel profile suggested through photos, room descriptions, hotel amenities, that this was a superb hotel, we arrived only to find out that there was no restaurant, the rooms were subpar (at best), there was only one working elevator that took at least 10 mintues to arrive each time, no hotel bar, a less than clean lobby, and no other services to speak of. We checked into the hotel and checked out about 5 minutes after arriving. Very disappointing and I will be requesting a refund as soon as I am able. We booked a room across the street at the Hilton and were more than happy. Don't stay at this hotel until the renovations are done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
London Simon
Business
London
Dec 8, 2014

Overpriced and shabby

First time I tried this hotel. Chose it due to central location and it sounded good. Would not rush back. Way overpriced. I arrived with baggage off a long flight. No doorman to meet me - taxi driver had to help me with bags. Then waited for check in. Room was v ordinary - quite shabby. Bathroom v basic. Noisy corridor. Common areas shabby. Again, had to wait for check out. Bossy, unhelpful, slow staff. They charged for 'complimentary' wifi. V poor quality - ok at 1/3 of the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 3, 2010

Utterly Dissapointed

The lobby is updated with a modern decor. I liked the spacious fitness center. The size of the room was great except for the small bathroom. It seems like they only updated the linen and threw some paint on the walls. The bathroom had very little counter space. The beds are not comfortable. Constantly woke up with a back ache. Cheap sheets, hardest ones I ever slept on. Immediately when we stepped off the elevator we noticed a musty unpleasant odor. People at the front desk weren't helpful at ALL. They do the very basic of what is probably necessary. I would not advise to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to lots of retail stores and various restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NicholasG
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Great location but not worth the price - Spend a few more dollars for something good

Hotel is decent but nothing special. Parking/Valet is over priced at 39.95 a night as compared to other hotels in the area. Bar/Restaurant is cute and has good drinks, but they have a VERY small menu with limited selection. Room service offers the same menu as the Bar/Restaurant so once again nothing special and limited selection. Room was decent size for downtown, but the sink was clogged, shower had no water pressure, and room itself smelled "strange". Smoke detector battery died at 4:45am and I called to the front desk requesting someone to come replace it since it would NOT STOP BEEPING. I was told there was no staff on duty that could replace such, and that someone would attend to it when hotel maintenance arrived at 8am. I was livid, to say the least. The should have offered to move me to another room since its IMPOSSIBLE to sleep when every 1.5 minutes there is a LOUD chirp from the detector. They offered me nothing, then to add insult to the situation hotel maintenance never came to the room. I was forced to take matters into my own hands at 9am and stood on the desk and removed the detector. I advised the front desk of this upon my checkout and instead of offering some remorse to the situation they just said "oh wow, that sucks. Sorryyyyyy". I think they should've waved my charge for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is near. EVERYTHING! You can walk to pretty much anything in downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
samtravels
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 8, 2012

disappointed

I was excited to check out this botique hotel and stay in the city (I come to SF once a month for business but usually stay outside the city) However I felt let down by the whole experience. I paid for a junior suite (which is actually just a standard room) but upon arrival was given a room with a bed slightly bigger than a twin and room that felt like an old closet. The staff there were as nice as they could be, however, couldn't do much since i had paid through Orbtiz. they did move me to the right room for the second night but couldn't/wouldn't adjust the price i paid for the first evening. The hotel is going through a massive reno which i'm sure will be nice but be aware of no water during the hours of 10-3, and a constuction mess right now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great bar/ outdoor patio: Jones right next door - but you have to walk around the corner to get there. Super cool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ebi
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 9, 2009

Nice Lobby, unacceptable bathroom

Nice Lobby. But bathroom was without main door and could have used some paint... No main closed- only curtain with behind drawers in bathroom !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
closet sickness
Business
Denver
May 19, 2009

the closet

This was our first trip to San Francisco. We were delighted by our entire experience except the Adagio. The room was the size of a good walk in closet. The air conditioning unit was a plug in unit on the floor by the window (worked poorly) and the closet has a sheet for the door. When I looked into the facility on the internet it looked respectable and rooms looked a decent size. When they brought us to our room in the back of the hotel looking at a brick wall I was very disappointed. Will not stay at the Adagio again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Alcatraz tour with audio headset was great and renting a bicycle and doing the ride over the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausolito was also amazing. Eating on the deck at Scoma's overlooking the SanFrancisco Bay is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacation deprived
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Sep 8, 2011

Family Getaway

Hotel not as grand as pics on website. Room smelly and lots of noise outside in the middle of night and early morn. Homeless population is huge, not just near the hotels but all over the city. Staff great and very responsive to every need. Alot missing from a hotel that commands$2-300 p/n. I've stayed at nicer hotels for $129-$169. I know SF is expensive, but this hotel is no where close to a 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't spend on hotel parking $29.50 p/n. Lot next door is $20+$5tax. Shhh...they share the same outdoor lot on side of hotel. Why not collect $29 from those willing to pay it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
Oct 18, 2010

Not worth the money

Unfortunately, the whole time I felt as if someone was trying to pull a fast one on me. It all started when I was told I was going to be "upgraded" to an "executive suite". When, indeed it was a downgrade from a junior suite to an executive room. I paid more money for the suite & was not compensated when they had overbooked! And, don't believe the photos on their website! We did not stay in a room that looked like that. The paint was chipped, we had popcorn ceilings, and an old AC window unit in the middle of the room that didn't work very well. I was so hot all night. In SF!!! Opening the windows was not an option for me with my 2 & 4 year old on the 12th floor. My husband thought the rooms looked like dorm rooms converted using cheap fixtures. I think the last straw was when I couldn't get a late checkout. I only needed 1 hour!! And after being downgraded, it was a real disappointment. I wasn't expecting to have to haggle to get reasonable service. We certainly won't stay in this hotel or use this management company again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Werdwitch
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 1, 2011

Good Union Square Location

We stayed 3 nights during Halloween weekend. The hotel is located in a great spot, right in the middle of Union Square. Our room was on the 3rd floor, right across from Swig, which created a fun atmosphere, but also loud. The music and crowd noise lasted all night into early morning, as well as noise from the cars and buses on the street. But we enjoyed seeing all the costumed party goers lining up outside Swig every night. The windows at this hotel open all the way, which is great for fresh air, and allows you to hang out in your room without completely isolating yourself from the Square. We enjoyed our stay here, but if you're looking for a quiet hotel conducive to a good night's sleep, you might want to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right down the street from Hotel Adagio is a small diner called Pinecrest Restaurant. They have great breakfasts and burgers. Also, if you like Chinese food, we loved Dim Sum Bar, one block over on Ofarrell Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top