$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

4 stars
View map of 550 Geary Street, 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley, CA
Jan 8, 2011

Perfect Weekend Getaway

This was a great hotel for a few days in Union Square. We asked for a room on a top floor and got it. I like how you can get $5 coupon to the bar if you don't need housekeeping for a day and their efforts to be green. Each day at reception, they have 2 flavors of water that has been infused with fruit. A nice touch! The hotel was quiet, clean, and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a short walk, be careful and ask at reception where to go, as many neighborhoods west of the hotel (and all of Union Square) are not so safe at night.

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guadalajara, Mexico
Jan 6, 2011

Very Nice Hotel

We had a very good time while in SF at the Hotel Adagio. The Staff was very nice, it's very close to union square. I really recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from there in Geary street are two very good asian restaurants and they are not expensive. The Chinese one is going towards Union Square, and the Thai one is going in the same direction as Geary street. In front of the Adagio Hotel is the "Hotel Monaco" that has a very nice restaurant "Grand Cafe" I really recommend this, but is a little bit expensive.

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler1900
Business
Washington dc
Jan 4, 2011

comfortable and hip-- Great location

Friendly staff, comfortable quarters just off Union square. Short walk to just about everything! Wish I had longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy World Travelers
Business
Orange Park, FL
Nov 15, 2010

Enjoyed our stay there!

The Union Square area is ideally located for the use of various modes of public transportation. The hotel is ideally situated in the area. A short walk got us to the subway, streetcars and cable cars headed in any direction. The bus taking us to the Golden Gate Park stopped right in front of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor of the lobby and restaurant area were very nice. Our rooms was average but a big plus that there were NO bedbugs! We felt safe walking in the area to local restaurants and theater in the evening and pre-dawn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a MUNI pass at the tourist information center (close to the hotel) when you arrive to be able to ride the underground rail, buses, streetcars, and cable cars to get everywhere easily. Don't pre-buy the Go San Francisco card. Wait until you get there and consider the several discount and package options offered at the tourist information center.

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sldisneyfan
Business
Menlo Park, CA
Oct 19, 2010

Not bad, but not worth the $$

The Good: - close to Union Square - very nice lobby area - nice staff - large room - clean The Bad: - Shower didn't fully change from shower to bath or bath to shower - always in between - air conditioner didn't work - bar across the street was noisy until after 2am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Oct 19, 2010

union square hotel

The Hotel was clean, nice location in walking distance to union square. Rate was a bit high but we were there on a big weekend (nike marathon)and the entire hotel was booked. The room was spacious and clean but the bed was a little hard. When we checked in our tv didnt work but called the front desk and they switched it out within 30 minutes. the staff was great with directions, reccomendations etc. and very friendly. the hotel bar had a great happy hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
Oct 18, 2010

Not worth the money

Unfortunately, the whole time I felt as if someone was trying to pull a fast one on me. It all started when I was told I was going to be "upgraded" to an "executive suite". When, indeed it was a downgrade from a junior suite to an executive room. I paid more money for the suite & was not compensated when they had overbooked! And, don't believe the photos on their website! We did not stay in a room that looked like that. The paint was chipped, we had popcorn ceilings, and an old AC window unit in the middle of the room that didn't work very well. I was so hot all night. In SF!!! Opening the windows was not an option for me with my 2 & 4 year old on the 12th floor. My husband thought the rooms looked like dorm rooms converted using cheap fixtures. I think the last straw was when I couldn't get a late checkout. I only needed 1 hour!! And after being downgraded, it was a real disappointment. I wasn't expecting to have to haggle to get reasonable service. We certainly won't stay in this hotel or use this management company again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milpitas, CA
Aug 29, 2010

Great location and good (small) rooms

The hotel was in a great location, very clean and very nice staff. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Sue
Business
Maryland Suburbs
Aug 6, 2010

Lovely Hotel Adagio

On the first day I asked for foam pillows, and in 3 minutes they were delivered. The staff were nice and helpful to us. Every night we returned to the hotel, feet tired, to find free hot tea or fresh lemonade in the lobby and soft chairs to rest our legs from the walks up and down SF hills. The hotel decor was pretty and it was quiet. Linens on the bed and bathroom products were luxurious. The hotel computers have free early airline check-in. I would go back to Hotel Adagio!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Fino Restaurant in the Andrews Hotel a couple of blocks away from the Hotel Adagio - great Italian food and wine plus wonderful service.

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Aug 4, 2010

Wonderful Location ,Slightly Over Priced

Formerly named the El Cortez, nicely renovated. Directly across the street from the Olympic Grill (My favorite SF greasy spoon) and a block from the legitimate theaters. Efficient , friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Both of SF's main stages a block away.

Back to menu Return to top