$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

4 stars
550 Geary Street, 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
212 reviews
Well worth it!

The business office provided, gym, dining, location to city/events, was everything you could have... See full review

  • foxbro
  • Sep 17, 2013
Great Place for a Great Experience in SF!

As soon as we walked into the hotel, we were warmly greeted by all the staff. I was excited because... See full review

  • cmvillase
  • Apr 16, 2013
Intimate boutique comfort and personal attention right by Union Square

"Handsome" and "debonair" are two words guests use to describe the Hotel Adagio, situated just two blocks from San Francisco's Union Square. With Spanish Colonial Revival architecture, Mediterranean accents and an on-site bar that serves tapas-style dishes, the hotel has a decidedly European flair. It also is intimate, with only 171 rooms. Adding to the personal-attention angle, Wi-Fi is available (fees apply), and tours of the area and Town Car service around town are available.

Highlights
  • Located steps from the shopping and excitement of Union Square
  • Concierge desk offering assistance in city tours
  • The Green Room and The Mortimer serving delicious cuisines and cocktails
Location

In addition to its proximity to Union Square, the Hotel Adagio is mere steps away from two of the most storied theaters in San Francisco, the Curran Theatre and the American Conservatory Theater. The Curran is directly across the street.

 

Rooms

The 16-story Hotel Adagio offers 171 rooms, including six suites. Almost half of the guestrooms feature dramatic San Francisco city views; all come standard with iHome or Cambridge Soundsystem stereos, 32-inch LCD televisions, honor bars with refrigerators, hairdryers and Organic Bath amenities. Room decor is minimalist -- white walls accented with artwork and colorful curtains, white linens with vibrant throw pillows. Wi-Fi access is available in all rooms for an added cost.

Features

At the hotel itself, guests have access to a 24-hour fitness center, as well as personal fitness and wellness training from a certified trainer (fees apply). The hotel also features same-day laundry and valet service (fees apply). The front desk offers staff-authored guides to the hidden sights and sounds of San Francisco. All guests can enjoy a complimentary walking tour of the Union Square area with a representative of Golden Gate Greeters, a volunteer tour group.

Dining

Bar Adagio, the swanky on-site eatery, serves tapas-style dishes, pizzas, salads and a full list of handcrafted cocktails. The bar offers daily happy hour specials.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (7 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour self-service business center with Ethernet
  • Sizable meeting rooms for events or parties
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Wi-Fi access charge is $9.95 per night

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7869 -122.4124
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.50, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.60, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

The Green Room
The ideal way to start your day serving fresh breakfast favorites
The Mortimer
The Mortimer serves creative appetizers and dinner cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (212)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler1900
Washington dc
Jan 4, 2011

comfortable and hip-- Great location

Friendly staff, comfortable quarters just off Union square. Short walk to just about everything! Wish I had longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy World Travelers
Orange Park, FL
Nov 15, 2010

Enjoyed our stay there!

The Union Square area is ideally located for the use of various modes of public transportation. The hotel is ideally situated in the area. A short walk got us to the subway, streetcars and cable cars headed in any direction. The bus taking us to the Golden Gate Park stopped right in front of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor of the lobby and restaurant area were very nice. Our rooms was average but a big plus that there were NO bedbugs! We felt safe walking in the area to local restaurants and theater in the evening and pre-dawn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a MUNI pass at the tourist information center (close to the hotel) when you arrive to be able to ride the underground rail, buses, streetcars, and cable cars to get everywhere easily. Don't pre-buy the Go San Francisco card. Wait until you get there and consider the several discount and package options offered at the tourist information center.

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sldisneyfan
Menlo Park, CA
Oct 19, 2010

Not bad, but not worth the $$

The Good: - close to Union Square - very nice lobby area - nice staff - large room - clean The Bad: - Shower didn't fully change from shower to bath or bath to shower - always in between - air conditioner didn't work - bar across the street was noisy until after 2am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles
Oct 19, 2010

union square hotel

The Hotel was clean, nice location in walking distance to union square. Rate was a bit high but we were there on a big weekend (nike marathon)and the entire hotel was booked. The room was spacious and clean but the bed was a little hard. When we checked in our tv didnt work but called the front desk and they switched it out within 30 minutes. the staff was great with directions, reccomendations etc. and very friendly. the hotel bar had a great happy hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose, ca
Oct 18, 2010

Not worth the money

Unfortunately, the whole time I felt as if someone was trying to pull a fast one on me. It all started when I was told I was going to be "upgraded" to an "executive suite". When, indeed it was a downgrade from a junior suite to an executive room. I paid more money for the suite & was not compensated when they had overbooked! And, don't believe the photos on their website! We did not stay in a room that looked like that. The paint was chipped, we had popcorn ceilings, and an old AC window unit in the middle of the room that didn't work very well. I was so hot all night. In SF!!! Opening the windows was not an option for me with my 2 & 4 year old on the 12th floor. My husband thought the rooms looked like dorm rooms converted using cheap fixtures. I think the last straw was when I couldn't get a late checkout. I only needed 1 hour!! And after being downgraded, it was a real disappointment. I wasn't expecting to have to haggle to get reasonable service. We certainly won't stay in this hotel or use this management company again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milpitas, CA
Aug 29, 2010

Great location and good (small) rooms

The hotel was in a great location, very clean and very nice staff. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Sue
Maryland Suburbs
Aug 6, 2010

Lovely Hotel Adagio

On the first day I asked for foam pillows, and in 3 minutes they were delivered. The staff were nice and helpful to us. Every night we returned to the hotel, feet tired, to find free hot tea or fresh lemonade in the lobby and soft chairs to rest our legs from the walks up and down SF hills. The hotel decor was pretty and it was quiet. Linens on the bed and bathroom products were luxurious. The hotel computers have free early airline check-in. I would go back to Hotel Adagio!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Fino Restaurant in the Andrews Hotel a couple of blocks away from the Hotel Adagio - great Italian food and wine plus wonderful service.

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Aug 4, 2010

Wonderful Location ,Slightly Over Priced

Formerly named the El Cortez, nicely renovated. Directly across the street from the Olympic Grill (My favorite SF greasy spoon) and a block from the legitimate theaters. Efficient , friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Both of SF's main stages a block away.

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suzy
Not Provided
Jul 28, 2010

Overall very Happy. Tv channels

Overall very Happy. Tv channels were poor n maids helped themselves in at 6 pm everyday. I was asleep the first time n just hopped out the shower so that annoyed me a tad. Location was brilliant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
filipo
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Jul 22, 2010

Nice hotel near cable car line

Get a corner room like a number 11 on a floor. Plenty of windows and natural light. The decor and colors are very relaxing. Comfortable bed is really helpful after a long day walking around San Francisco. The front desk staff is very helpful. They even got us a couple of cable car passes for the evening of our arrival. We'll get back to this hotel next time we're in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Thai food, walk a short distance from the hotel toward the square and stop at Chabaa Thai Cuisine 420 Geary Street, San Francisco - (415) 346-3121. It's low cost and plenty of good food in your plate.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search