$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

4 stars
View map of 550 Geary Street, 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
detachable
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Jun 5, 2012

I'd stay there again

For the price this place was pretty unbeatable at the time I booked. They were undergoing renovations, but did go out of their way to make the impact minimal. The room was spacious super clean, and the beds were very comfy (I usually hate those ultra soft squishy hanging hotel beds. This was just right ). The bedding used was a little odd, but that might be a temporary solution (they kind of wrapped the comforter in the sheets which was fine, but it came undone at some point ) . Also a temp. fix during renovations were portable A/c units, that were somewhat substandard, a bit loud but hey it's San Francisco, you wont need the whole time anyway. Very accommodating for my kids as well we traveled with 3 Park your car around the corner in one of the garages its much cheaper than the valet. I really liked their exercise room too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Golden Era has awesome vegetarian/vegan food and its two blocks away!

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Myrt
Business
Southeastern MA
Mar 23, 2012

car alarms

We were immedately upgraded to a junior suite that was a nice size and layout. No coffee in the room, but complimentary coffee (Starbucks) in the lobby in thermal containers at 7AM. Starbucks shop within a few blocks. The bed was OK, but we slept terribly for 2 reasons: we had turned the overhead fan off and the room was way too hot for April (for some reason), and car alarms went off outside for a prolonged period of time. Though parking was expensive at $39, the attendants were prompt and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABSChicago
Business
Chicago
Jan 13, 2012

Great boutique

Note, that I ranked the Value as "perfect" because I received an incredibly attractive discount, otherwise, I would not have been able to afford it. But if you can manage the price, it's a lovely hotel with a nice restaurant and bar. Wifi in the rooms was free, which was a pleasant treat. The room was large and bathroom was clean with good water pressure. The front desk and sales staff were responsive, friendly and helpful - even for those emergency manicure recommendations. If you're attending a conference at the convention center, it may be a block or two farther than you want to walk, but if you can get a great deal on the price, it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChiliFries
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Great hotel in San Fran

Really nice hotel, centrally located. Pleasant helpful staff with clean large rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Notimpressedatall
Business
Hawaii
Nov 26, 2011

Not great

Was what I expected for a 3 star hotel and the price we paid. Housekeeping was great- however, not one other person including front desk people ever greeted us, and it made us feel somewhat unwelcome the whole week we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Werdwitch
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 1, 2011

Good Union Square Location

We stayed 3 nights during Halloween weekend. The hotel is located in a great spot, right in the middle of Union Square. Our room was on the 3rd floor, right across from Swig, which created a fun atmosphere, but also loud. The music and crowd noise lasted all night into early morning, as well as noise from the cars and buses on the street. But we enjoyed seeing all the costumed party goers lining up outside Swig every night. The windows at this hotel open all the way, which is great for fresh air, and allows you to hang out in your room without completely isolating yourself from the Square. We enjoyed our stay here, but if you're looking for a quiet hotel conducive to a good night's sleep, you might want to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right down the street from Hotel Adagio is a small diner called Pinecrest Restaurant. They have great breakfasts and burgers. Also, if you like Chinese food, we loved Dim Sum Bar, one block over on Ofarrell Street.

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CABS
Business
Lancaster, MA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Girl's Get-away

Centrally located! The staff was great and very helpful with ideas and directions. The standard room we had was a little larger than most hotel rooms and very clean. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Max's Restaurant. Located two minutes down the street. Very large portions, reasonable prices, and delicious! The locals also eat here so you know it is good!

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NicholasG
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Great location but not worth the price - Spend a few more dollars for something good

Hotel is decent but nothing special. Parking/Valet is over priced at 39.95 a night as compared to other hotels in the area. Bar/Restaurant is cute and has good drinks, but they have a VERY small menu with limited selection. Room service offers the same menu as the Bar/Restaurant so once again nothing special and limited selection. Room was decent size for downtown, but the sink was clogged, shower had no water pressure, and room itself smelled "strange". Smoke detector battery died at 4:45am and I called to the front desk requesting someone to come replace it since it would NOT STOP BEEPING. I was told there was no staff on duty that could replace such, and that someone would attend to it when hotel maintenance arrived at 8am. I was livid, to say the least. The should have offered to move me to another room since its IMPOSSIBLE to sleep when every 1.5 minutes there is a LOUD chirp from the detector. They offered me nothing, then to add insult to the situation hotel maintenance never came to the room. I was forced to take matters into my own hands at 9am and stood on the desk and removed the detector. I advised the front desk of this upon my checkout and instead of offering some remorse to the situation they just said "oh wow, that sucks. Sorryyyyyy". I think they should've waved my charge for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is near. EVERYTHING! You can walk to pretty much anything in downtown.

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
808traveler11
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Great hotel, great staff and a wonderful stay!

Hotel Adagio is conveniently located 3 blocks away from Union Square. So it's away from the chaotic traffic but within walking distance to everything. The hotel staff are very professional, friendly, extremely helpful and thoughtful. As a woman traveling alone, I felt very comfortable. There were a few homeless people walking through the neighborhood but they did not bother anyone. There are more homeless down by Union/Market. Hotel Adagio is an oasis in the city. It's a great hotel with great value. I'll be returning there on my next trip for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

In efforts to be more eco-friendly, the hotel gives guests the choice when they want their hotel room cleaned-everyday, every other etc. For each day you don't want housekeeping, they give you a "Adagio Bucks" card worth $5.00 off any hotel charge. I ended up getting $10 off my hotel bill. It's a great idea and something to make use of!

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacation deprived
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Sep 8, 2011

Family Getaway

Hotel not as grand as pics on website. Room smelly and lots of noise outside in the middle of night and early morn. Homeless population is huge, not just near the hotels but all over the city. Staff great and very responsive to every need. Alot missing from a hotel that commands$2-300 p/n. I've stayed at nicer hotels for $129-$169. I know SF is expensive, but this hotel is no where close to a 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't spend on hotel parking $29.50 p/n. Lot next door is $20+$5tax. Shhh...they share the same outdoor lot on side of hotel. Why not collect $29 from those willing to pay it!!

Back to menu Return to top