$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

4 stars
550 Geary Street, 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
190 reviews
Well worth it!

The business office provided, gym, dining, location to city/events, was everything you could have... See full review

  • foxbro
  • Sep 17, 2013
Stylish yet quaint

The hotel is very modern, stylish and comfortable. See full review

  • SoCal Xicana
  • Jul 8, 2014
Intimate boutique comfort and personal attention right by Union Square

"Handsome" and "debonair" are two words guests use to describe the Hotel Adagio, situated just two blocks from San Francisco's Union Square. With Spanish Colonial Revival architecture, Mediterranean accents and an on-site bar that serves tapas-style dishes, the hotel has a decidedly European flair. It also is intimate, with only 171 rooms. Adding to the personal-attention angle, Wi-Fi is available (fees apply), and tours of the area and Town Car service around town are available.

Highlights
  • Located steps from the shopping and excitement of Union Square
  • Concierge desk offering assistance in city tours
  • The Green Room and The Mortimer serving delicious cuisines and cocktails
Location

In addition to its proximity to Union Square, the Hotel Adagio is mere steps away from two of the most storied theaters in San Francisco, the Curran Theatre and the American Conservatory Theater. The Curran is directly across the street.

 

Rooms

The 16-story Hotel Adagio offers 171 rooms, including six suites. Almost half of the guestrooms feature dramatic San Francisco city views; all come standard with iHome or Cambridge Soundsystem stereos, 32-inch LCD televisions, honor bars with refrigerators, hairdryers and Organic Bath amenities. Room decor is minimalist -- white walls accented with artwork and colorful curtains, white linens with vibrant throw pillows. Wi-Fi access is available in all rooms for an added cost.

Features

At the hotel itself, guests have access to a 24-hour fitness center, as well as personal fitness and wellness training from a certified trainer (fees apply). The hotel also features same-day laundry and valet service (fees apply). The front desk offers staff-authored guides to the hidden sights and sounds of San Francisco. All guests can enjoy a complimentary walking tour of the Union Square area with a representative of Golden Gate Greeters, a volunteer tour group.

Dining

Bar Adagio, the swanky on-site eatery, serves tapas-style dishes, pizzas, salads and a full list of handcrafted cocktails. The bar offers daily happy hour specials.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (7 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour self-service business center with Ethernet
  • Sizable meeting rooms for events or parties
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Wi-Fi access charge is $9.95 per night

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

The Green Room
The ideal way to start your day serving fresh breakfast favorites
The Mortimer
The Mortimer serves creative appetizers and dinner cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OverTheHill Grandad
Business
Shelbyville. TN
Sep 19, 2012

SanFrancisco Sightseeing

Staff was very helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. They provided a car ride to the airport at a reasonable price and were prompt in picking us up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Fine Food on Powell St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sixth trip to SF
Business
Buffalo, NY
Sep 18, 2012

OK, but I'll look for a better value next time.

I'm not sure what kind of hotel the Addagio wants to be. They appear to be trying to be a "boutique Hotel". However, the hotel is too big, with nothing special or unique that would give the feel of a boutique hotel. The lobby is modern with a modern, almost sterile, bar attached. The location was good- 4 blocks from Union Square. However, the other direction immediately becomes dicey(Tenderloin). The rooms were spacious and clean. The bedding was good. Unless you are on one of the top floors, there are no views to speak of. We were on floor seven of 18. There are a few "pseudo hip" bars nearby and the nightlife could be noisy on the lower floors. The hotel description gave me the impression that there was a rooftop terrace for guest's use. However, this is actually part of the penthouse which apparently gets rented out for special events and is not accessable for other guests. There is no coffee maker in the room and the refrigerator needs to be emptied of the over-priced honor bar stuff in order to be used for anything else. Complimentary, major chain, coffee is available in the lobby during morning hours. The bathroom was clean and modern. The first set of towels were good and were replaced by weaker towels after the room was cleaned. The toiletries were nothing special. Room ice needs to be requested at the front desk. There are no computers available for guests use. The front desk will print boarding passes for you. The front desk staff appear to want to be your personal concierge. However, only one was very friendly. They were not fountains of knowledge and offered very little when we requested restaurant recommendations(the worker looked on-line for an answer- which I would have rather done myself) We requested a wake-up call on our last night and it never came! Really? The response was-"sorry about that". I've had better experiences in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ar-Roi is one block away with for excellent Thai food. Actually, SF offers great food no matter where you are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
forget
Business
Seattle
Sep 10, 2012

perfect weekend getaway in SF

centrally located and perfect for shopping and also central to all the activities associated with the wedding we attended. Delightful, very clean and modern, great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas nevada
Aug 26, 2012

not bad

good location . moderate price. but lack of amenities like pools

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Triana del Fuego
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 21, 2012

A little overpriced

I booked this hotel based on their decor and the fact that they claim to be a boutique, luxury hotel. I was in the junior suite and found it to be very small with a bathroom lacking different areas (no fan?). The location is pretty good, right next to Union Square although also right next to the Tenderloin which is VERY scary. The decor was very nice though and the staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickname11
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 19, 2012

Nice Family Hotel

Very nice hotel at a reasonable price. Close to Union Square and many good restaurants. Rooms were clean and hotel was quiet. We would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dnadia
Business
San Francisco, California
Jul 31, 2012

Great area for girls weekend!

Would definitely stay again. Great staff, convenient location, everything you need is very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yecart
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jul 14, 2012

Great Unexpectations!!

I was extremely excited about staying at this hotel but was very diappointed. The hotel was under an extreme renovation during my entire stay. I found the renovation very inconvienent and irritating to say the least. I had no Central Air Conditioning instead a portable A/C unit was provided which later overflowed and got the room wet. Upon arrival, I was told the room I booked was over sold, so I had no option but to take a room with a single kind bed. I did get the room I wanted the next day. The staff was okay. All of these factors were all unexpected therefore, I don't think I will reccomend nor stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
samtravels
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 8, 2012

disappointed

I was excited to check out this botique hotel and stay in the city (I come to SF once a month for business but usually stay outside the city) However I felt let down by the whole experience. I paid for a junior suite (which is actually just a standard room) but upon arrival was given a room with a bed slightly bigger than a twin and room that felt like an old closet. The staff there were as nice as they could be, however, couldn't do much since i had paid through Orbtiz. they did move me to the right room for the second night but couldn't/wouldn't adjust the price i paid for the first evening. The hotel is going through a massive reno which i'm sure will be nice but be aware of no water during the hours of 10-3, and a constuction mess right now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great bar/ outdoor patio: Jones right next door - but you have to walk around the corner to get there. Super cool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MACameron
Business
Manhattan, KS
Jun 5, 2012

Beware of the Photos and No Mention of Renovations

Given that we booked our stay in advance, we weren't aware that the hotel was undergoing a substantial renovation. While the hotel profile suggested through photos, room descriptions, hotel amenities, that this was a superb hotel, we arrived only to find out that there was no restaurant, the rooms were subpar (at best), there was only one working elevator that took at least 10 mintues to arrive each time, no hotel bar, a less than clean lobby, and no other services to speak of. We checked into the hotel and checked out about 5 minutes after arriving. Very disappointing and I will be requesting a refund as soon as I am able. We booked a room across the street at the Hilton and were more than happy. Don't stay at this hotel until the renovations are done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top