$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

4 stars
550 Geary Street, 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
321 reviews
Well worth it!

The business office provided, gym, dining, location to city/events, was everything you could have... See full review

  • foxbro
  • Sep 17, 2013
Great Place for a Great Experience in SF!

As soon as we walked into the hotel, we were warmly greeted by all the staff. I was excited because... See full review

  • cmvillase
  • Apr 16, 2013
Intimate boutique comfort and personal attention right by Union Square

"Handsome" and "debonair" are two words guests use to describe the Hotel Adagio, situated just two blocks from San Francisco's Union Square. With Spanish Colonial Revival architecture, Mediterranean accents and an on-site bar that serves tapas-style dishes, the hotel has a decidedly European flair. It also is intimate, with only 171 rooms. Adding to the personal-attention angle, Wi-Fi is available (fees apply), and tours of the area and Town Car service around town are available.

Highlights
  • Located steps from the shopping and excitement of Union Square
  • Concierge desk offering assistance in city tours
  • The Green Room and The Mortimer serving delicious cuisines and cocktails
Location

In addition to its proximity to Union Square, the Hotel Adagio is mere steps away from two of the most storied theaters in San Francisco, the Curran Theatre and the American Conservatory Theater. The Curran is directly across the street.

 

Rooms

The 16-story Hotel Adagio offers 171 rooms, including six suites. Almost half of the guestrooms feature dramatic San Francisco city views; all come standard with iHome or Cambridge Soundsystem stereos, 32-inch LCD televisions, honor bars with refrigerators, hairdryers and Organic Bath amenities. Room decor is minimalist -- white walls accented with artwork and colorful curtains, white linens with vibrant throw pillows. Wi-Fi access is available in all rooms for an added cost.

Features

At the hotel itself, guests have access to a 24-hour fitness center, as well as personal fitness and wellness training from a certified trainer (fees apply). The hotel also features same-day laundry and valet service (fees apply). The front desk offers staff-authored guides to the hidden sights and sounds of San Francisco. All guests can enjoy a complimentary walking tour of the Union Square area with a representative of Golden Gate Greeters, a volunteer tour group.

Dining

Bar Adagio, the swanky on-site eatery, serves tapas-style dishes, pizzas, salads and a full list of handcrafted cocktails. The bar offers daily happy hour specials.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (7 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour self-service business center with Ethernet
  • Sizable meeting rooms for events or parties
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Wi-Fi access charge is $9.95 per night

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7869 -122.4124
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.50, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.60, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

The Green Room
The ideal way to start your day serving fresh breakfast favorites
The Mortimer
The Mortimer serves creative appetizers and dinner cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (321)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bdgt travel
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Great mini getaway

Great location. As you exit the hotel, make a left and walk two blocks down and you're in Union Square. Most of the city tour double deckers are there so you don't have to go far to get some sightseeing in. The room itself was nice enough. Comfy beds and linens. Enough room for our family of three. The only annoying thing was that the bathroom door wouldn't lock so we had to be alerting each other every time we were going in there. There are also plenty of little food places to eat on Geary for cheap if you're traveling on a budget as we were. Overall, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bdgt travel
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Great mini getaway

Great location. As you exit the hotel, make a left and walk two blocks down and you're in Union Square. Most of the city tour double deckers are there so you don't have to go far to get some sightseeing in. The room itself was nice enough. Comfy beds and linens. Enough room for our family of three. The only annoying thing was that the bathroom door wouldn't lock so we had to be alerting each other every time we were going in there. There are also plenty of little food places to eat on Geary for cheap if you're traveling on a budget as we were. Overall, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regular traveler
Oregon
Aug 26, 2011

Comfortable and quiet.

Check in was easy. Staff excellent. A very nice experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regular traveler
Oregon
Aug 26, 2011

Comfortable and quiet.

Check in was easy. Staff excellent. A very nice experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Part timers
Chicago, IL
Aug 21, 2011

Good Choice

We found the Adagio very comfortable and convenient to the sights in San Francisco. My criteria when selecting a hotel are cleanliness and location. The Adagio met both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beef Stew
Tucson AZ
Aug 12, 2011

Reasonable Near Everything

Helpful staff, located near Union Square. Got city pass and used public transportation to get everywhere. I grew up in NYC so the crowds did not intimidate me at all. Good choice of restaurants in the neighborhood. Did research in advance. Hotel dining was better than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Best meal deal was the steamed seafood pot at Bubba Gump's on Pier 39. Campy and touristy but great shrimp, lobster and crab.

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beef Stew
Tucson AZ
Aug 12, 2011

Reasonable Near Everything

Helpful staff, located near Union Square. Got city pass and used public transportation to get everywhere. I grew up in NYC so the crowds did not intimidate me at all. Good choice of restaurants in the neighborhood. Did research in advance. Hotel dining was better than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Best meal deal was the steamed seafood pot at Bubba Gump's on Pier 39. Campy and touristy but great shrimp, lobster and crab.

Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WonderMan
San Jose, CA
Aug 1, 2011

Friendly staff and relaxing stay

Loved the hotel decore and the staff. The only issue I had was that I was on the 3rd floor so the club next door was pretty noisy. If you go there, opt for higher floors so you are farther away from street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WonderMan
San Jose, CA
Aug 1, 2011

Friendly staff and relaxing stay

Loved the hotel decore and the staff. The only issue I had was that I was on the 3rd floor so the club next door was pretty noisy. If you go there, opt for higher floors so you are farther away from street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melbert
Sacto, Ca
Jul 11, 2011

Weekend fun!

The location was right in the middle of all the fun places. The shower had mildew in it which was gross and we had trouble with the AC. We had the maintenance man up to our room twice, finally they just got us a new one and it was fine a after that. Other than that the beds were comfy and everyone was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gold dust.

Back to menu Return to top