$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

3 stars
1500 VAN NESS AVE., SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
208 reviews
Bang for your buck.

The Golden Gate Holiday Inn far surpassed my expectations. The hotel manager upgraded me to a grand... See full review

  • krystleanne
  • Mar 19, 2014
family get away

we booked two rooms for 4 of us on Nov 11,12,13, 2013. The rooms were great. Very clean.... See full review

  • kikki's mom
  • Nov 18, 2013
Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience." Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views. On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well. Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown. Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park. Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7894 -122.4221
Nearby airports
Oakland International, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International, (SFO), 13.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi

Dining

Cafe Marlette
Full American Breakfast buffet and California cuisine for lunch and dinner. Fresh handmade pizza served in restaurant, room service and lounge.
Interlude Bar and Grille
American Cuisine. Opens from 4:30pm to 11:30pm
The Pour House
Wine Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thats not funny Jack
Los Angeles
Oct 25, 2013

It's been too long

I had not stayed in the HI-GG for a couple decades, having "graduated" to more expensive spots like the XXXXXX. I stayed at the HI-GG this week; and I'm back for good. The entire experience was exceptional! Best all was the restaurant - both the dinner and the buffet breakfast were outstanding. The hotel staff was both competent and friendly. Yep, I'm back for good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many good sandwich and up spots for lunch within a five minute walk. Just check the menus posted outside for what you like. But bundle up! Mark Twain was right.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
springfield, ma
Jun 2, 2009

super hotel

Easy to get everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 16, 2008

great for first time visitors

Excelent position you can walk to everything, after you learn where they are, of course.good friendly staff, they can keep your luggage after you check out, if you needed.Nice view, but a little noisy,other than that i like it very much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The tours itself there nice but, only the city tour and the bay cruise i liked, the Muir woods and Soasolito is boring.Next time i would have the Carmel tour. Napa valley is nice, but no more free wine testing, kind an expensive 10$ a half a glass. San francisco has a lots of art galleries , museums, Opera house if you have time to see something.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aurora
Aug 28, 2008

Good Hotel for price

This is a nice Holiday Inn at a good location. Room was clean and staff helpful. Transportation options were very good. Cable car turnaround and bus lines right next to hotel. Taxis were abundant. You could get to anywhere in town very easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 16, 2008

great for first time visitors

Excelent position you can walk to everything, after you learn where they are, of course.good friendly staff, they can keep your luggage after you check out, if you needed.Nice view, but a little noisy,other than that i like it very much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The tours itself there nice but, only the city tour and the bay cruise i liked, the Muir woods and Soasolito is boring.Next time i would have the Carmel tour. Napa valley is nice, but no more free wine testing, kind an expensive 10$ a half a glass. San francisco has a lots of art galleries , museums, Opera house if you have time to see something.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aurora
Aug 28, 2008

Good Hotel for price

This is a nice Holiday Inn at a good location. Room was clean and staff helpful. Transportation options were very good. Cable car turnaround and bus lines right next to hotel. Taxis were abundant. You could get to anywhere in town very easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Forks
Oct 26, 2008

Great stay, friendly staff

Our stay at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway was a very positive experience. The room was clean and comfortable. It included two suitcase stands which is a plus for me. The staff was friendly and very helpful -- especially the concierge who spent considerable time marking a map with the locations of the cable cars and providing sightseeing ideas and information. The location was very convenient - within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Within walking distance of a great shopping area and approx. Cable car is located right around the corner.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 23, 2008

Excelent, in all aspects

The hotel was excellent and like us the idea about how to save the water. The room was so clean, the bed and pillos were contfortable and the stuff were to polite but I sugest to hire biliangual people, because I found alot of people thath speak spanish in differents places and don't know how to ask for the thigs they want. I really recomend to stay in this hotel and I will retun soon. . . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to enjoy in thre Pier 39 you can take the bus 47 or 39 half blok from here and in 10 minutes you wil be there

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pattijo
New Brunswick, Canada
Apr 17, 2009

Fantastic Time

This was our first trip to San Fran and really didn't know what to expect. From the helpful staff and others outside the airport to all the people we met, our experience was positive. We took the shuttle to the hotel and Marvin, at the desk, was amazing. He made us feel so welcome and comfortable right from the start. We were given a list of places to eat within walking distance, which also included price ranges. He also told us about nearby grocery, drug marts and coffee places.It was a great start. We were very close to the cable car stop and all the drivers were great, giving more than enough info when asked.We went down to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, all the hot spots. We found it very easy to find our way around the city. One good choice we made was the 2-day Hop on-Hop off tour bus.It takes you to all of the must-see places and you can tour at your leisure. Having the ticket good for 2 days is a bonus.Tourist maps were availabe everywhere. We also took a day trip to Monterey/Carmel. We were picked up and dropped off right at our hotel; very comforting when you are pulling in at 9:00 pm and tired after a long day. Also a great value knowing you are in the hands of a capable driver.No matter how cliche people may think it is, the Golden Gate Bridge was amazing! We will never forget that first drive across on the top level of an open-air bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LiL Dave
Plains ,Pa
Oct 2, 2010

great price@location

we did sightseeing, visited the local bars,dinning andshopping. we just like the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to transportation

Back to menu Return to top