$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

3 stars
View map of 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oregon
Mar 28, 2010

better than i expected

parking sucks, so we were really glad for the parking lot on site even though parking is very expensive in a city. Use the bus, trains and cable care and be sure to get a multi-use pass that the hotel does sell on day one!!! taxi is nice but expensive. Loved the cable car but one way is $5.00 so please get the multi day pass. Just wish I knew I could have purchased the multi-day pass at the hotel on day one! ps even though we were right next to elevator, it really wasn't that bad and view was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

get multi day muni pass to use bus, train and cable care for easy off/ on rides to all the spots you want to go to. Park your car and use public transportation!

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Es and Ligi
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 25, 2010

$45.00 FOR PARKING!!!

The hotel website did not mention that I had to pay $45.00 for parking. When checking in, the front desk associate rudily told me that if I did not pay for parking, I had to park in the street, which I did. The room where I stayed had thin walls, so you could hear people talking in the next room. Will not recommend this hotel to anybody!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iBraglots
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 25, 2010

Great Stay

This stay was great, the hotel staff were very nice to my friend and I. The rooms were very clean and very modern. The location is pretty good as well. It is just a few blocks away from some of the main SF attractions and a quick bus ride to the others. The only thing is that the surrounding area can be a little off-putting with the homeless and questionable characters but overall I felt safe. Would definitely stay and refer others to this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Es and Ligi
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 25, 2010

$45.00 FOR PARKING!!!

The hotel website did not mention that I had to pay $45.00 for parking. When checking in, the front desk associate rudily told me that if I did not pay for parking, I had to park in the street, which I did. The room where I stayed had thin walls, so you could hear people talking in the next room. Will not recommend this hotel to anybody!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sf Lover Holiday Inn Hater
Business
Fresno,CA
Mar 15, 2010

The Bad, the worse, and the rude!!!

The morning hotel staff was very rude and didn't offer us any information on the hotel and services like parking or hidden fees. They required a 100 dollar deposit and said if we used a bank card it could take up to 10 days to return the money. They didn't offer any type of parking accomodation for staying at the hotel and wanted to charge us way to much for 24hr parking...RIDICULOUS the whole experiance was horrible and i don't reccomend anybody staying here..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

close to the wharf and north beach but i still didn't enjoy my stay

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFfan
Business
Boston MA
Mar 1, 2010

Great price for a good hotel

I had a very good time in this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFfan
Business
Boston MA
Mar 1, 2010

Great price for a good hotel

I had a very good time in this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sanger ca
Feb 26, 2010

Wonderful weekend getaway

Hotel was location was great. It was close to everything we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 21, 2010

Good Stay for the Money

When we arrived at the hotel, the staff were very helpful, offering to give us as high a floor as possible. Unfortunately, after getting there, we found that the room we had been given on the 23rd floor (there are 24 as I recall) was also right next to the elevators. Since we had read reviews from others that warned us away from these rooms, and since we could clearly hear the elevators as well, we asked for another room. This was accomplished easily and we headed to our new room. One of the key card machines in the elevator didn't work, which caused some confusion. The new room on the 9th floor was facing the back side of the hotel, so there was much less street noise, which was nice. The linens were clean, the room was clean, but it was clear that the building was old from the bathroom; it was clean but obviously needed updating. My only other complaint was that you could hear everything going on in the hallway, every time someone used their keycard, opened and closed their door, or chatted with someone. Some weatherstripping in the doorjamb could solve this problem, as there were clear gaps showing around the door when the lights were off. Parking was tight, do everyone a favor and get a compact or one size higher car if you rent. The parking garage is available to people not staying at the hotel as well, so parking might be scarce, but we always found at least one spot. One other complaint was that the internet was a bit slow. But the staff was excellent, the room was clean, comfortable, had a large TV, and the hotel is in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, N.Y.
Jan 5, 2010

well situated hotel--helpful staff

nicer than anticipated. Central location to all and out of the fray.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Polk Street--one block away has an array of terrific reasonably priced restaurants

Back to menu Return to top