$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

3 stars
1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
130 reviews
Bang for your buck.

The Golden Gate Holiday Inn far surpassed my expectations. The hotel manager upgraded me to a grand... See full review

  • krystleanne
  • Mar 19, 2014
family get away

we booked two rooms for 4 of us on Nov 11,12,13, 2013. The rooms were great. Very clean.... See full review

  • kikki's mom
  • Nov 18, 2013
Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience." Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views. On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well. Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown. Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park. Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.8 mi

Dining

R.O.H
R.O.H features the best local and international craft draft beer, cutting edge wine on tap from Napa and Sonoma and a full selection of the finest spirits. Enjoy beer and wine flights paired with small plates designed for sharing. The menu will also feat
The Pour House
Wine Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oregon
Mar 28, 2010

better than i expected

parking sucks, so we were really glad for the parking lot on site even though parking is very expensive in a city. Use the bus, trains and cable care and be sure to get a multi-use pass that the hotel does sell on day one!!! taxi is nice but expensive. Loved the cable car but one way is $5.00 so please get the multi day pass. Just wish I knew I could have purchased the multi-day pass at the hotel on day one! ps even though we were right next to elevator, it really wasn't that bad and view was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

get multi day muni pass to use bus, train and cable care for easy off/ on rides to all the spots you want to go to. Park your car and use public transportation!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Es and Ligi
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 25, 2010

$45.00 FOR PARKING!!!

The hotel website did not mention that I had to pay $45.00 for parking. When checking in, the front desk associate rudily told me that if I did not pay for parking, I had to park in the street, which I did. The room where I stayed had thin walls, so you could hear people talking in the next room. Will not recommend this hotel to anybody!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iBraglots
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 25, 2010

Great Stay

This stay was great, the hotel staff were very nice to my friend and I. The rooms were very clean and very modern. The location is pretty good as well. It is just a few blocks away from some of the main SF attractions and a quick bus ride to the others. The only thing is that the surrounding area can be a little off-putting with the homeless and questionable characters but overall I felt safe. Would definitely stay and refer others to this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sf Lover Holiday Inn Hater
Business
Fresno,CA
Mar 15, 2010

The Bad, the worse, and the rude!!!

The morning hotel staff was very rude and didn't offer us any information on the hotel and services like parking or hidden fees. They required a 100 dollar deposit and said if we used a bank card it could take up to 10 days to return the money. They didn't offer any type of parking accomodation for staying at the hotel and wanted to charge us way to much for 24hr parking...RIDICULOUS the whole experiance was horrible and i don't reccomend anybody staying here..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

close to the wharf and north beach but i still didn't enjoy my stay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFfan
Business
Boston MA
Mar 1, 2010

Great price for a good hotel

I had a very good time in this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sanger ca
Feb 26, 2010

Wonderful weekend getaway

Hotel was location was great. It was close to everything we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 21, 2010

Good Stay for the Money

When we arrived at the hotel, the staff were very helpful, offering to give us as high a floor as possible. Unfortunately, after getting there, we found that the room we had been given on the 23rd floor (there are 24 as I recall) was also right next to the elevators. Since we had read reviews from others that warned us away from these rooms, and since we could clearly hear the elevators as well, we asked for another room. This was accomplished easily and we headed to our new room. One of the key card machines in the elevator didn't work, which caused some confusion. The new room on the 9th floor was facing the back side of the hotel, so there was much less street noise, which was nice. The linens were clean, the room was clean, but it was clear that the building was old from the bathroom; it was clean but obviously needed updating. My only other complaint was that you could hear everything going on in the hallway, every time someone used their keycard, opened and closed their door, or chatted with someone. Some weatherstripping in the doorjamb could solve this problem, as there were clear gaps showing around the door when the lights were off. Parking was tight, do everyone a favor and get a compact or one size higher car if you rent. The parking garage is available to people not staying at the hotel as well, so parking might be scarce, but we always found at least one spot. One other complaint was that the internet was a bit slow. But the staff was excellent, the room was clean, comfortable, had a large TV, and the hotel is in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, N.Y.
Jan 5, 2010

well situated hotel--helpful staff

nicer than anticipated. Central location to all and out of the fray.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Polk Street--one block away has an array of terrific reasonably priced restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill NC
Nov 26, 2009

not bad, not good

Would really have liked an indoor pool, which is pretty standard in other Holiday Inns. The outdoor one was freezing and had no hot tub. Parking seems very convenient, integrated into the hotel, but in a maddening way - you have to go either upstairs or downstairs to get to the hotel elevator from the parking area, and if you have a lot of luggage, a stroller, a baby, etc. this is really a problem. It's also very expensive. Much better to pay half the price around the corner on California, just across from Whole Foods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 16, 2009

Beautiful, centrally located bargain

This beautiful hotel was located on a main street, Van Ness, which made it easy to get transportation everywhere. The staff was extremely friendly and let us store our bags there all day while we went sightseeing on checkout day. The rooms where clean and very upscale but as with all rooms in San Fransisco, small. We loved it and would definitly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

By a $2 pass on the Muni, it lets you travel almost everywhere for 4 hours and sometimes even longer...they rarely check the times.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top