$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

3 stars
View map of 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
oregon
Mar 28, 2010

better than i expected

parking sucks, so we were really glad for the parking lot on site even though parking is very expensive in a city. Use the bus, trains and cable care and be sure to get a multi-use pass that the hotel does sell on day one!!! taxi is nice but expensive. Loved the cable car but one way is $5.00 so please get the multi day pass. Just wish I knew I could have purchased the multi-day pass at the hotel on day one! ps even though we were right next to elevator, it really wasn't that bad and view was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

get multi day muni pass to use bus, train and cable care for easy off/ on rides to all the spots you want to go to. Park your car and use public transportation!

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iBraglots
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 25, 2010

Great Stay

This stay was great, the hotel staff were very nice to my friend and I. The rooms were very clean and very modern. The location is pretty good as well. It is just a few blocks away from some of the main SF attractions and a quick bus ride to the others. The only thing is that the surrounding area can be a little off-putting with the homeless and questionable characters but overall I felt safe. Would definitely stay and refer others to this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sf Lover Holiday Inn Hater
Friends
Fresno,CA
Mar 15, 2010

The Bad, the worse, and the rude!!!

The morning hotel staff was very rude and didn't offer us any information on the hotel and services like parking or hidden fees. They required a 100 dollar deposit and said if we used a bank card it could take up to 10 days to return the money. They didn't offer any type of parking accomodation for staying at the hotel and wanted to charge us way to much for 24hr parking...RIDICULOUS the whole experiance was horrible and i don't reccomend anybody staying here..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

close to the wharf and north beach but i still didn't enjoy my stay

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
sanger ca
Feb 26, 2010

Wonderful weekend getaway

Hotel was location was great. It was close to everything we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 21, 2010

Good Stay for the Money

When we arrived at the hotel, the staff were very helpful, offering to give us as high a floor as possible. Unfortunately, after getting there, we found that the room we had been given on the 23rd floor (there are 24 as I recall) was also right next to the elevators. Since we had read reviews from others that warned us away from these rooms, and since we could clearly hear the elevators as well, we asked for another room. This was accomplished easily and we headed to our new room. One of the key card machines in the elevator didn't work, which caused some confusion. The new room on the 9th floor was facing the back side of the hotel, so there was much less street noise, which was nice. The linens were clean, the room was clean, but it was clear that the building was old from the bathroom; it was clean but obviously needed updating. My only other complaint was that you could hear everything going on in the hallway, every time someone used their keycard, opened and closed their door, or chatted with someone. Some weatherstripping in the doorjamb could solve this problem, as there were clear gaps showing around the door when the lights were off. Parking was tight, do everyone a favor and get a compact or one size higher car if you rent. The parking garage is available to people not staying at the hotel as well, so parking might be scarce, but we always found at least one spot. One other complaint was that the internet was a bit slow. But the staff was excellent, the room was clean, comfortable, had a large TV, and the hotel is in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York, N.Y.
Jan 5, 2010

well situated hotel--helpful staff

nicer than anticipated. Central location to all and out of the fray.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Polk Street--one block away has an array of terrific reasonably priced restaurants

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chapel Hill NC
Nov 26, 2009

not bad, not good

Would really have liked an indoor pool, which is pretty standard in other Holiday Inns. The outdoor one was freezing and had no hot tub. Parking seems very convenient, integrated into the hotel, but in a maddening way - you have to go either upstairs or downstairs to get to the hotel elevator from the parking area, and if you have a lot of luggage, a stroller, a baby, etc. this is really a problem. It's also very expensive. Much better to pay half the price around the corner on California, just across from Whole Foods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
Nov 16, 2009

Beautiful, centrally located bargain

This beautiful hotel was located on a main street, Van Ness, which made it easy to get transportation everywhere. The staff was extremely friendly and let us store our bags there all day while we went sightseeing on checkout day. The rooms where clean and very upscale but as with all rooms in San Fransisco, small. We loved it and would definitly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

By a $2 pass on the Muni, it lets you travel almost everywhere for 4 hours and sometimes even longer...they rarely check the times.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yankeefan1
Friends
newark,nj
Nov 15, 2009

great getaway

great trip !!! alot of sight seeing and great dining

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Phoenix AZ
Sep 28, 2009

Highly Recommended

Stayed here 3 nights. Hotel and rooms are in very good quality - quiet and clean. No complaints whatsoever. Courteous staff. Location worked out excellent for me. Bus and Tram lines are within 1-2 blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top