$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

3 stars
1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
130 reviews
Bang for your buck.

The Golden Gate Holiday Inn far surpassed my expectations. The hotel manager upgraded me to a grand... See full review

  • krystleanne
  • Mar 19, 2014
family get away

we booked two rooms for 4 of us on Nov 11,12,13, 2013. The rooms were great. Very clean.... See full review

  • kikki's mom
  • Nov 18, 2013
Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience." Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views. On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well. Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown. Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park. Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.8 mi

Dining

R.O.H
R.O.H features the best local and international craft draft beer, cutting edge wine on tap from Napa and Sonoma and a full selection of the finest spirits. Enjoy beer and wine flights paired with small plates designed for sharing. The menu will also feat
The Pour House
Wine Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chrisch
Business
China
Dec 7, 2010

Average Hotel

If you dont't care the accommentation, the hotel is a choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las vegas nv
Dec 5, 2010

Great location

This hotel is in a good location for central San Francisco nobhill area The rooms are very clean have LCD tv's and HD channels. Price is good if you book early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Polk street where there many good places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont
Nov 29, 2010

Went to City to Party

Went to party but they will try to remove you if you are too loud. So for guests looking to sleep, this is a good place. The place is clean, but the ac is like a swamp cooler unit and not very efficient. Food was horrible in this hotel. I went there twice and food was very very sub par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to house of Prime Rib.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fred Dear
Business
South Pasadena, California
Nov 12, 2010

Excellent Stay at the Holiday Inn

Excellent in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to the War Memorial Opera House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sheilaintc
Business
Traverse City, MI
Nov 9, 2010

A great choice

This hotel was in a great location, our room was clean and comfortable, and we didn't see any panhandlers hanging outside the vicinity. Also the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holiday Inn
Business
SF
Nov 4, 2010

Holiday Inn

We checked in early to the hotel and they did their best to accomidate our needs. The place was pretty nice, awesome view with a decent price. I never tried any of the food, but the staff was easy to get along with. The stay overall was pretty freaking good, a little on the high side but it was the World Series.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Sweet bar right down the street and around the corner. There is also a bomb place to eat across from the Walgreen, best seafood ever!!! Its a whole in the wall so you might miss it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TracyLow
Business
Petaluma
Oct 25, 2010

Customer Service All But Forgotten

Check in was a pain. I prepaid so it should have been quick. I spent my time at a seminar both days- all day so I told them I wouldn't be needing room service or anything that would require a deposit. They insisted I give them $100 to hold which I took out of the ATM and handed over. This 15-20 min delay made me late to the seminar to sit up front. The restaurant was drab and they did not have what I ordered so I had to change my order and deal with the delay. The pub was drab and had only one waiter for the whole room. My check out I did before the seminar the next day at which time I pre paid my parking from the deposit, that transaction took 20 min. (there was no line at either time, all counter time) When it was time to leave the hotel the parking gate wouldn't lift so I ran the bell and was told I hadn't paid my parking. The attendant came out and because the ticket blew out of my hand we picked up several not knowing which was ours he took them some other room number came up and the gate lifted. I told him that was not our room but he just said well the gate is up good for you. Give me a break. How about sorry for the delay. Jerky service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go some place else. Every hotel should have one thing they make really well even if everything else is average or poor. This hotel does not have anything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raymond, NH
Oct 16, 2010

Very nice hotel

I brought my mom to San Francisco to see Alcatraz, the Redwoods and the Sequoias. We simply had an amazing time. Everyone we talked to was friendly and happy to help us. The weather was good. The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful. We loved Chris, our waiter for breakfast. We would definitely stay here again or recommend to anyone else. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LiL Dave
Business
Plains ,Pa
Oct 2, 2010

great price@location

we did sightseeing, visited the local bars,dinning andshopping. we just like the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to transportation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carton
Business
Los angeles
Sep 2, 2010

Too many extra charges

The only thing that I notice from another cities that I been before it's that they charge 41 dollar per parking per night wich is too much money when they supose to provide at least a parking space to each guest. The other situation was that they charge a bussnes center fee if you want to print out you boarding tikets when in Vegas ny, los Angeles hotels they don't charge for this service. It's a beutiful city but too expensive too....?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top