$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

3 stars
View map of 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kat999
Business
Jupiter, FL
Apr 7, 2013

Family visit

Overall the accommodations were what should be be expected. The staff was friendly, particularly in the restaurant. Paying $40 per day for parking was outrageous, especially when there were times when the facility was full and you got no value for paying the fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gotthiskil
Business
San Jose, California
Mar 25, 2013

Surprise parking fees

We arrived at the hotel just to find out that we have to pay an extra $80 plus tax for parking ($40 per day). The location was great and I know that parking is impossible in San Francisco, however I would have liked to know that I will have to pay extra for parking when I booked the room. The parking was not mentioned anywhere, so I assumed it was included in my stay. I just wish I was informed prior about this fee, which ended up being a third of my room reservations, so I could research other parking lots in the surrounding area or simply prepare to pay the extra expense. Other than that, the hotel was great, room was clean and the staff was very friendly, would definitely recommend for a stay in San Francisco, but expect to spend a lot more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tang
Business
Brea,california
Mar 14, 2013

No free car parking

Pay $40for car parking,too expensive!It's not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young weekender
Business
Sacramento, CA
Feb 18, 2013

Good weekend stay

This is a standard, nice Holiday Inn. It's in a good location and the staff are very nice as well. Barker at the front desk was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grubstake diner is just around the corner towards Pine. Open until 4 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MGNN
Business
cincinnati
Oct 19, 2012

decent but overpriced

location was good- only a mile to Union Square. bathroom was very outdated. room needed some upkeep. not a bad hotel, but very overpriced for the room that you're getting. would stay here again if it were $100 or less per night- wouldn't pay more than that again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KDBE
Business
Livonia Michigan
Oct 1, 2012

Good location

Room clean, halls clean. Quiet and good location. I can't believe it only had a 3 star rting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat breakfast at "Stacks" -- worth the drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sundale
Business
Phoenix, Az
Aug 21, 2012

Super Shuttle nightmare

They have a really good breakfast and nice freindly staff in their restaurant. However, on our floor the vending machine did not have a water during all our stay (4 nights). Their concierge makes too jobs at the same time. She is running the store and trying to help visitors with arrangments. We had to pay twice for Super Shuttle service: first time online with hotel reservation and second time - cash into the driver hands, because concierge did not give us a voucher but only reservation number. We called Super Suttle managers but they said even if we paid for service the driver would not take us to the airport without printed vaucher. It was 3: 30 am and concierge was not available to settle issue down. So we did not have a choice and paid the Super Shuttle driver cash to catch our plane. It was insane and very humilative moment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great Gusto
Business
Sacramento
Jul 6, 2012

good disability bathroom facilities

Good experience. We were given a room just a few doors from our friends from overseas which made our visit much more convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
King Louis
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 5, 2012

Worth staying at while in San Francisco.

Holiday Inn Van Ness - Great location. Transportation everywhere. Very clean - hotel staff know their job. If renting a car, best to do it at the sundry-shop in the hotel because this will allow you to park at the hotel for FREE - otherwise it cost $38 per night. Downside: no safety boxes either in the room or available at reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lauren in Denver
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 11, 2012

Great location in Nob Hill

The Golden Gateway was a great spot right in the heart of Nob Hill. This location was perfect for exploring this fantastic neighborhood, as well as the surrounding neighborhoods of Chinatown, North Beach & the Financial District. The hotel itself is pretty typical Holiday Inn - three stars is about right. It's clean with pleasant service - and it's a high-rise, so the views are fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Toast for breakfast (any day of the week) on Sacramento & Polk. Delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top