$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

3 stars
View map of 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Sep 3, 2009

Not Good Hotel

What did you do while you were there? Travel/Sightseeing Was there something missing that would have made your stay more enjoyable? internet access -- we are excited to upload the pictures but the connection really sucks --it is very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fishermans Wharf

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperSoozie
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
Aug 31, 2009

The good and the ugly

We had a problem with Orbitz and the hotel reservation. When we arrived @ hotel, they DIDN'T HAVE OUR RESERVATION! they said it's because their data showed us arriving 1 day earlier! so they had cancelled our reservation! Bummer.thank goodness they had room 4 us, but because of the mix-up, WE HAD TO PAY $180.00 FOR AN EXTRA unexpected NIGHT when we didn't even spend the night at the hotel that night.Bummer! Wish Orbitz could do something about this unfortunate situation for us. The hotel said they could do nothing for us--it was up to Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has several good restaurants for Vegetarians within 2 - 3 blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paramount, CA
Aug 30, 2009

Nice place

The location was fabulous for hoping on and off all city transportation to almost anywhere in the City. A major setback was hearing all the traffic noise, sirens day and night and the amount of homeless in the City. Even with all the homeless, the City is very clean and the people were extremely friendly. the hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. My room was kept very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The location of the hotel was right next to the cable car pick up, and the bus pick up was directly in front of the hotel. City transportation is definitely the best way to get around San Francisco!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 14, 2009

Pleased

We did alot of shopping and the hotel was the perfect distance from China Town. The bus that took us to Fisherman's Warf was easy to catch

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family with a 1 year old.
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 4, 2009

Perfect Location

Perfect Location. We were right in the middle of everything. The staff was great with telling us how to get around and letting us know which areas were good to check out. Room was comfortable, I would recommend it to anyone traveling to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the $12 pass for the Cable Car. Otherwise it is $5 everytime you get on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 27, 2009

Holiday Inn San Francisco-golden gateway

-Good location. Seemed pretty central to many areas of SF. Right on the public-bus line, therefore we could take the bus to any area we wanted to visit. also on a cable car stop. Grocery, gas, rental car nearby. Hotel has a swimming pool, but we didn't realize it until the 3rd day when we noticed it posted in the elevator. There was no mention of it in the hotel room. It was much to cold to enjoy the pool anyways. Hotel is pretty noisy at night with firetruck sirens going off frequently throughout the night. Need to get used to the city noise. Room had a small fridge, but no microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the city bus versus cable car or other forms of transportation to get around the city, much cheaper. In addition, the BART system is a good way to get to the airport, need to take the 47/49 bus line to within 3 blocks of the nearest BART station. Travel by taxi to the airport is about $40. Travel by BART is $2/person for bus + $8.10 for BART.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il
Jul 20, 2009

Holiday Inn

It was close to where we had to be. It's between Pacific Heights, Japantown and Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SixthRomeo
Business
Chicago Illinois
Jun 26, 2009

Awesome view, nice room, golden gateway

The hotel is on Van Ness between Pine and California. A few nice coffee shops and one adorable boutique restaurant on pine just the other side of Polk. From this hotel you have a nice leisurely walk to Fisherman's Wharf, a slight incline from the hotel to the beach and wharf if you take van ness. California street has great buses and cable car, it is a hike on California to China Town, be in good shape; the hills become severe. The famous Lafayette Park, a hill top park with a "kick bottom" (this system won't allow the complimentary word to be used, it says it is an obscentiy, how stupid is that?) view of the wharf and of alcatraz is a must see, it is a short up hill climb from the hotel. A great side trip for a short day or a filler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cheyenne
Jun 18, 2009

Good Place to Stay

Clean hotel, located close to the muni pick up stops so it was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-GOLDEN GATEWAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeaSStMaster
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 12, 2009

One Night Stay

I would probably select another place to stay next time I am in San Francisco. I thought that $41.00 per night parking charge was obscene. I was also disappointed that I was unable to view Fox News, of course being the seat of liberalism, it really shouldn't surprise me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top