$162 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

3 stars
View map of 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
348 reviews
Hotel comments

Everything was fine (room, bar, lobby coffee bar, location, staff, business center, ample... See full review

  • visitor from Minnesota
  • Mar 24, 2015
Great Location for seeing the sights!

It was in a great location on Fisherman's Wharf. A bit expensive, but it was an easy walk to many... See full review

  • Bax03
  • Mar 13, 2015
Comfortable lodging near Fisherman's Wharf, Ghirardelli Square and more

Comprising two separate buildings, this Fisherman's Wharf hotel is situated within walking distance of Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square and ferries to Alcatraz Island. The property features two on-site restaurants and an outdoor heated pool. It also offers complimentary limousine service to guests who stay on the Executive Club floor.

Highlights
  • Located within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and the Embarcadero
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Two on-site restaurants
  • Pets welcome
Rooms

Accommodations -- 579 rooms and six suites -- span two adjacent buildings. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, hairdryers, ironing boards and in-room safes. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

A subtle nautical theme characterizes the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf. In the lobby, for instance, seashells and crab icons are common themes. In the rooms, artwork depicts sailboats and other maritime vessels.

All hotel guests have complimentary access to the 24-hour business center, on-site fitness center and the outdoor heated pool.

There's also a sundeck that overlooks San Francisco Bay; it's a great spot to get a tan.

Two on-site restaurants provide endless dining options. At the Bristol Bar & Grill in the Columbus building, grab lobster ravioli or homemade clam chowder. A Denny's restaurant in the Beach building serves classic American fare 24 hours a day.

Self parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • Embarcadero
  • Alcatraz Island
  • Golden Gate Bridge
  • Presidio
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Executive Club floor reservations include complimentary limousine service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.7 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi
  • SoMa: 2.1 mi

Dining

Bristol Bar and Grill
You'll find only the freshest ingredients at Bristol Bar and Grill , located on the lobby level of our Columbus Avenue building. It's the perfect place for a quick breakfast, a business gathering or friendly after hours relaxation. When time is short you'

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
348 out of 348
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Fresno
Sep 28, 2010

Disappointed

we were there for my son's wedding. When he arrived at the hotel with his bride they gave him a key to my room! And it was located in another building a block away so it seemed like a huge hassle. concierge was inept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

rent bikes and ride across the golden gate bridge. very fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dolly J
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Very Disappointed

I was not happy with location,staff,or really anything about the hotel. I saw many nicer hotels in that area and closer to the wharf. Room was small and bathroom small.Staff not very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pier 39 lovely as before.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wpdude
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Apr 28, 2012

Drains did not drain and Internet did not flow

No Internet is no fun. I hate when drains don't drain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bubba Gump. Great view. Average food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
123 xyz
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 19, 2012

Trip to CA

The website for this hotel shows a very nice building with a Starbucks, pool, spa, restaurant, small store, fitness center and a nice lobby. They don't tell you that they have two buildings and you might end up in the building with none of the things I just listed. Also you have to park at the main building, walk across the street to the back of the other building dragging your luggage with you. I felt like I was in a Motel more than a Hotel. We stayed in 4 different hotels during our time in CA and this was the most expensive and the worse one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
iesolutions
Business
san marcos, ca
Feb 16, 2013

very bad experience

it is clear that the staff is trying to get every penny from the guest from the moment you get near the hotel. It costs 40.00 dollars per day to park your car, and it only costs about 19 dollars per day to rent the car. Oh yeah, the hotel fee is about 150 dollars per day, that means that it costs about 27% of the hotel reservation just to park a car...And no one tells you this when you make the reservation. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bubbaone
Business
Circle Pines, MN
Apr 28, 2013

Holiday Inn

When I called to see if they had parking for my rental car they said yes, but I did not ask the proper question. I should have asked if they had free parking for my rental car. It turned out they charged me $45.60 per night to park my rental car at the Holiday Inn and when I complained about the ridiculous cost, they offered no alternative. I have stayed at many hotels/motels in my life and this is the only one I had to pay to park my car. I would not recommend staying at this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elrod
Business
Cincinnati
Jul 15, 2013

Oh, you want to park?

Hotel was simply a nice place to sleep. Staff was courteous & friendly (about the only good thing I can say) but view is terrible and location really isn't too great. I'd only recommend as a last resort. I felt as though this was way overpriced. What they don't tell you: Holiday Inn wants $40.00 extra (per night) if you'd like to park your vehicle in their lot. I wound up finding a meter but had to get up early to move my car. Overall-overpriced, especially if you need to park a vehicle. Nothing special about this place. I strongly recommend staying somewhere else, and check first about parking (whether price of room includes, etc.), because I found parking in San Francisco to be extremely limited, although there are meters, depending upon how far you wish to walk near Fishermans Wharf..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super Collector
Business
Colorado
Apr 22, 2009

False advertising, 2nd.bldg.2 blocks far

Booked through Orbitz where there was no description of the second building, with the main entrance 2 blocks away from the Columbus St. entrance. There was no concierage, limited desk service, no health club, restaurant, or functional business center in the Beach Street Annex. It was a long and potentially unsafe walk to get between the two buildings. Avoid this Holiday Inn that is only partially on Columbus Street. Manager would not consider our request to change location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Fisherman's Wharf and the cable cars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Park City, UT
Nov 30, 2009

Will not stay at this Holiday Inn again

The best thing I can say about this hotel is the location to the Wharf - this was fabulous. But even the location won't bring me back to this Holiday Inn. Our sheets were dirty in our room, with a small streak of blood on them. We removed the sheets and asked for them to be remade after we left our room. When we returned, the bed was made, but with the same sheets!! So we stayed and watched them change the sheets but I was grossed out the remainder of the stay. The next morning after my husband got out of the shower, he removed a 'fresh' towel and said that the towels smelled like cigarettes. Not only did they smell like cigarettes to me, but it smelled like they cleaned the ash tray with this towel...it was more than just second hand smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are interested in going to Alcatraz, book this tour before you arrive in SF. We arrived on Wednesday and left Sunday. When we looked into tours on Wednesday they informed us the next tour was available on Sunday!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
STATEN ISLAND, NY
Sep 15, 2009

UNBEATTABLE LOCATION FOR THE PRICE

WE TOOK 2 TOURS. NOTHING AT ALL EXCELLENT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top