$136 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

3 stars
1300 COLUMBUS AVENUE, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94133
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
315 reviews
Perfect

Perfect location and comfort close to everything!! See full review

  • Putt putt
  • Feb 23, 2014
Great value

great value and very close to peir 39 within walking distance to everything shopping, boat tours,... See full review

  • hart21
  • Nov 12, 2013
Comfortable lodging near Fisherman's Wharf, Ghirardelli Square and more

Comprising two separate buildings, this Fisherman's Wharf hotel is situated within walking distance of Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square and ferries to Alcatraz Island. The property features two on-site restaurants and an outdoor heated pool. It also offers complimentary limousine service to guests who stay on the Executive Club floor.

Highlights
  • Located within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and the Embarcadero
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Two on-site restaurants
  • Pets welcome
Rooms

Accommodations -- 579 rooms and six suites -- span two adjacent buildings. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, hairdryers, ironing boards and in-room safes. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

A subtle nautical theme characterizes the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf. In the lobby, for instance, seashells and crab icons are common themes. In the rooms, artwork depicts sailboats and other maritime vessels.

All hotel guests have complimentary access to the 24-hour business center, on-site fitness center and the outdoor heated pool.

There's also a sundeck that overlooks San Francisco Bay; it's a great spot to get a tan.

Two on-site restaurants provide endless dining options. At the Bristol Bar & Grill in the Columbus building, grab lobster ravioli or homemade clam chowder. A Denny's restaurant in the Beach building serves classic American fare 24 hours a day.

Self parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • Embarcadero
  • Alcatraz Island
  • Golden Gate Bridge
  • Presidio
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Executive Club floor reservations include complimentary limousine service

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.8065 -122.418
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.00, MI; San Francisco International, (SFO), 19.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.7 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Bristol Bar and Grill
You'll find only the freshest ingredients at Bristol Bar and Grill , located on the lobby level of our Columbus Avenue building. It's the perfect place for a quick breakfast, a business gathering or friendly after hours relaxation. When time is short you'

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (315)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Overall score

3.6 / 5
31 out of 315
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
Thetan
Memphis, TN
Mar 14, 2014

Good location, the rest? Meh...

Great location, within a short walk to the trappings of Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel itself however, was nothing special. It was loud, including some sound that never stopped the entire stay that sounded like a vacuum cleaner running above the room. The staff was not especially friendly or helpful. The Denny's in the lobby that was open 24 hours a day was a nice benefit though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
travelling buddy
Schiller Park, IL
Mar 10, 2014

Winding Down

After having spent five days travelling through wine country, we opted to spend a couple of nights in the Fisherman's Wharf area before our flight home. the staff at the Holiday Inn were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and initially appeared to be comfortable until it was time to go to sleep. The sound proofing was non-existent. We could hear every conversation people were having on the street below us as if we were included. Every vehicle that drove by the building. And every noise from the hall, the surrounding rooms as well as the ones above ours and the receiving dock below our room. It would be fine if you can survive without sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scoma's, rather pricey, however, best clam chowder I've ever tried.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
sabe
MONTANA
Nov 1, 2013

Good Hotel

We wanted to be near the wharf, but did not want to pay what some of the other hotels are charging. The room was spacious, clean and well maintained. The lobby, halls, and exterior were likewise. The staff was courteous and helpful. I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Went to the Walt Disney Museum in the Presidio.It was wonderful and so nice to see that the Presidio is being refurbished and utilized.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
las mikas
Belgium, Europe
Aug 23, 2013

SUPER LOCATION

SUPER LOCATION, 2 BLOCKS FROM FISHERMANS WHARF !! ONLY THE PRICE IS MAYBE A LITTLE BIT OJVER THE TOP...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

BE CERTAIN TO GET ONE OF THESE COUPON BOOKS IN ORDER TO GET SOME MONEY OFF THE CRUISES !

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

2
Angie Francis
Denver, CO
May 10, 2013

A little disappointed

I was not impressed this time around. I have stayed at this hotel before, but I was on an inside room. This time, we were on the street and I heard the garbage trucks show up at 11:30 at night and again at 4:30 a.m., I heard every car that went by and everyone's conversation as they passed. The carpet was soiled by the desk and it was just overall not a great experience. I love the location of this hotel, but I will stay in an inside room from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I would absolutely do the Limo Bus Wine Tour to Napa, it is an 8 hour tour, they stop at 4 wineries and they serve breakfast on the bus and lunch at one of the wineries. This tour is offered by Tour Corp San Francisco.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
Hawthorne mimi
Hawthorne CA
May 10, 2013

Reliable attractive location location location

This is a good place to stay close to Fisherman's Wharf area. It has dining on site, at least breakfast. It was full breakfast service though a little pricey but nice not to have to go somewhere else. It had a business center . I didn't use the pool or fitness area but noted they were available. The staff was helpful and friendly. We left bags checked with the bell man while we did sight-seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
Gretchen Ann
San Francisco
Nov 14, 2012

Super spot for San Francisco visit!

This Holiday Inn did indeed provide us with a perfect holiday getaway! It's location is right in the heart of San Francisco's action along Fisherman's Wharf! Sour dough, Seafood and Sights to see are all within easy walking. Our room was comfortable and clean, the staff were all very friendly and able to help with any question that we had. You can't go wrong, booking your stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the wonderful crab at many restaurants along the wharf. Enjoy a sandwich on sour dough bread at the famous bakery.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
CG23
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 13, 2012

Perfect location!

Perfect location! Walking distance to many restaurants, bars, and the wharf! Good value. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only downside is that I had to pay $40 a night for parking. Would definitely recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Buena Vista has the best Irish coffee! Perfect for cold weather.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
Wpdude
Charlotte, NC, USA
Apr 28, 2012

Drains did not drain and Internet did not flow

No Internet is no fun. I hate when drains don't drain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bubba Gump. Great view. Average food

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
Patty72
San Diego, CA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

First time in San Francisco

It is convenient located just two short blocks away from the strip at Fisherman's Wharf.... I loved my trip, I'll be back during the summer and I'll stay in the same hotel. The staff are amicable. The only thing was the bed size, I thought there were going to be a bit bigger, since I had to share the bed with a girlfriend of mine, I was concern about her spooning me at night, I was a bit tense the first night, but thank God it didn't happen, hahahaa.. other than that it was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking along the bay there so many shops and entertainment. The location of the hotel is perfect to walk around and get to stores, restaurants, aquarium, tour to Alcatraz etc.

Back to menu Return to top