$228 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

3 stars
1300 COLUMBUS AVENUE, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94133
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
508 reviews
great place to stay

clean and neat and the staff was friendly - it also was a convenient location to where we spent... See full review

  • Barbara Jo the traveler
  • Jul 8, 2014
Perfect

Perfect location and comfort close to everything!! See full review

  • Putt putt
  • Feb 23, 2014
Comfortable lodging near Fisherman's Wharf, Ghirardelli Square and more

Comprising two separate buildings, this Fisherman's Wharf hotel is situated within walking distance of Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square and ferries to Alcatraz Island. The property features two on-site restaurants and an outdoor heated pool. It also offers complimentary limousine service to guests who stay on the Executive Club floor.

Highlights
  • Located within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and the Embarcadero
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Two on-site restaurants
  • Pets welcome
Rooms

Accommodations -- 579 rooms and six suites -- span two adjacent buildings. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, hairdryers, ironing boards and in-room safes. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

A subtle nautical theme characterizes the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf. In the lobby, for instance, seashells and crab icons are common themes. In the rooms, artwork depicts sailboats and other maritime vessels.

All hotel guests have complimentary access to the 24-hour business center, on-site fitness center and the outdoor heated pool.

There's also a sundeck that overlooks San Francisco Bay; it's a great spot to get a tan.

Two on-site restaurants provide endless dining options. At the Bristol Bar & Grill in the Columbus building, grab lobster ravioli or homemade clam chowder. A Denny's restaurant in the Beach building serves classic American fare 24 hours a day.

Self parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • Embarcadero
  • Alcatraz Island
  • Golden Gate Bridge
  • Presidio
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Executive Club floor reservations include complimentary limousine service

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.8065 -122.418
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.00, MI, W; San Francisco International, (SFO), 19.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.7 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Bristol Bar and Grill
You'll find only the freshest ingredients at Bristol Bar and Grill , located on the lobby level of our Columbus Avenue building. It's the perfect place for a quick breakfast, a business gathering or friendly after hours relaxation. When time is short you'

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (508)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
508 out of 508
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
123 xyz
San Francisco, CA
Aug 19, 2012

Trip to CA

The website for this hotel shows a very nice building with a Starbucks, pool, spa, restaurant, small store, fitness center and a nice lobby. They don't tell you that they have two buildings and you might end up in the building with none of the things I just listed. Also you have to park at the main building, walk across the street to the back of the other building dragging your luggage with you. I felt like I was in a Motel more than a Hotel. We stayed in 4 different hotels during our time in CA and this was the most expensive and the worse one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WITHOUT GIFTS FOR KIDS
DENAIR, CA
Feb 8, 2010

"DISHONEST MAID SERVICE

wE LEFT A BAG OF SOVINERS IN OUR ROOM WHEN WE CHECKED OUT, AFTER WE REALIZED WE HAD LEFT THEM WE WENT BACK A FEW HOURS LATER AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO LOCATE THEM. THEY HADNT RESOLD THE ROOM SO NO PERSONS OTHER THAN THE MAID HAD BEEN IN THERE. THE MANAGER SAID SHE EVEN CHECKED THE LOST AND FOUND, YET ON ITEMS WERE NO WHERE TO BE FOUND. OVERALL IT WAS A NICE CLEAN HOTEL, THE FRONT DESK STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY, ITS SAD THAT THEY HAVE DISHONEST EMPLOYEES. IT WAS A BAG OF "STUFF" YET SOMEONE ON THERE STAFF CHOOSE TO KEEP IT AND NOT TURN IT IN. WONT STAY THERE AGAIN, IF THEY WILL KEEP A BAG OF TRINKETS I HATE TO THINK THAT IF IT WAS SOMETHING OF GREAT VALUE IT WOULD BE GONE TOOOOOOO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

DONT FORGET ANYTHING WHEN YOU CHECK OUT BECAUSE CHANCES ARE IT WONT BE THERE WHEN YOU GO BACK TO GET IT.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super Collector
Colorado
Apr 22, 2009

False advertising, 2nd.bldg.2 blocks far

Booked through Orbitz where there was no description of the second building, with the main entrance 2 blocks away from the Columbus St. entrance. There was no concierage, limited desk service, no health club, restaurant, or functional business center in the Beach Street Annex. It was a long and potentially unsafe walk to get between the two buildings. Avoid this Holiday Inn that is only partially on Columbus Street. Manager would not consider our request to change location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Fisherman's Wharf and the cable cars.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling Meg
Chicago IL
Mar 15, 2011

Holiday Inn- Overrated and Over priced

This hotel provides no parking and charges for a shuttle to the airport, a service that is complementary at most hotels. There is no complementary breakfast, and the amenities are vastly overrated. For the price of the room, this hotel is a complete rip off and I will not be staying at any Holiday Inns in the future. I have received better amenities and services at just about every other hotel I've stayed at. The only good thing was the location on the wharf, but frankly it just wasn't worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elrod
Cincinnati
Jul 15, 2013

Oh, you want to park?

Hotel was simply a nice place to sleep. Staff was courteous & friendly (about the only good thing I can say) but view is terrible and location really isn't too great. I'd only recommend as a last resort. I felt as though this was way overpriced. What they don't tell you: Holiday Inn wants $40.00 extra (per night) if you'd like to park your vehicle in their lot. I wound up finding a meter but had to get up early to move my car. Overall-overpriced, especially if you need to park a vehicle. Nothing special about this place. I strongly recommend staying somewhere else, and check first about parking (whether price of room includes, etc.), because I found parking in San Francisco to be extremely limited, although there are meters, depending upon how far you wish to walk near Fishermans Wharf..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
iesolutions
san marcos, ca
Feb 16, 2013

very bad experience

it is clear that the staff is trying to get every penny from the guest from the moment you get near the hotel. It costs 40.00 dollars per day to park your car, and it only costs about 19 dollars per day to rent the car. Oh yeah, the hotel fee is about 150 dollars per day, that means that it costs about 27% of the hotel reservation just to park a car...And no one tells you this when you make the reservation. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
las vegas nv
Jun 16, 2009

Parking was too expensive, $45 daily,

poor service from concierge desk for prepaid tour

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Park City, UT
Nov 30, 2009

Will not stay at this Holiday Inn again

The best thing I can say about this hotel is the location to the Wharf - this was fabulous. But even the location won't bring me back to this Holiday Inn. Our sheets were dirty in our room, with a small streak of blood on them. We removed the sheets and asked for them to be remade after we left our room. When we returned, the bed was made, but with the same sheets!! So we stayed and watched them change the sheets but I was grossed out the remainder of the stay. The next morning after my husband got out of the shower, he removed a 'fresh' towel and said that the towels smelled like cigarettes. Not only did they smell like cigarettes to me, but it smelled like they cleaned the ash tray with this towel...it was more than just second hand smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are interested in going to Alcatraz, book this tour before you arrive in SF. We arrived on Wednesday and left Sunday. When we looked into tours on Wednesday they informed us the next tour was available on Sunday!

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
STATEN ISLAND, NY
Sep 15, 2009

UNBEATTABLE LOCATION FOR THE PRICE

WE TOOK 2 TOURS. NOTHING AT ALL EXCELLENT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Fresno
Sep 28, 2010

Disappointed

we were there for my son's wedding. When he arrived at the hotel with his bride they gave him a key to my room! And it was located in another building a block away so it seemed like a huge hassle. concierge was inept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

rent bikes and ride across the golden gate bridge. very fun

Back to menu Return to top