$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

3 stars
View map of 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SanPaco
Couples
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2009

Ok

I have been there during a weekend (3 nights). The location of the hotel is really good, but the problem is that we stayed in a building near the main one, and the entrance of this building smells of a fat food restaurant that there are in the corner. There aren't a cafeteria to have the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fisherman Wharf Piers (39) and the Girardeli Square

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
chicago,ill
May 2, 2009

my san francisco trip

execelent trip.and good sightseeing.great location.the parking is too expensive for the person who stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

clean and quiet.and walking distance to the sea side.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Scarsdale.N,Y.
May 2, 2009

great location and safety

The location could not have been better,a few blocks walk to all attractions.Public transportation was close by and convenient to get around the whole city.The concierge desk people were friendly and knowledgeable .I did 2 segway tours and both were located within 2 blocks,lots of fun and easy for this 61 year young lady.Every one was friendly and I felt very safe as a single traveler,even the area around the hotel was safe and clean.I would highly recommend it for the price and location. I took BART transportation to the hotel from the airport and it was easy,but the connecting electric train bus was too crowded with a suitcase,would recommend taking an airport van,for only #16.00 . Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I would recommend that if you want to do the Alcatraz tour you book it at their own web site.When I went to pick up my tickets they were for the 4P.M. tour and could not be changed because I had bought them from a third party ( I bought thru Orbitz).When you buy them direct from Alcatrz site you can pick the time.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nocoffee4
Single
San Diego Ca.
Apr 23, 2009

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHA

Great!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Kansas City, MO
Apr 23, 2009

Average Stay

The hotel was very clean and staff very helpful. What I didn't like were the beds as they were very hard and uncomfortable. The pillows were too soft and flat. Other than the beds and pillows, the stay was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
divinia mother
Couples
Stockton, ca
Apr 22, 2009

the good the bad, and the ugly

The hotel was nice and clean, but paying parking for $45.00 was outragious!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Next time we will go to San Francisco area, we will go to a hotel that does not charge parking!!!

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roaming McFree
Friends
Northern Indiana
Apr 22, 2009

Great location - Great price

We did the usual tourist things while there. It would have been nice to have a guide of some sort to help us use the bus/trolley system. Especially directing us as to which bus or trolley to use to get to particular attractions. When one comes from an area that has limited public transportation, it is sometimes overwhelming learning "the ropes."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants not on Pier 39 were excellent

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MoJourn
Single
New Haven, CT
Apr 22, 2009

Close to (mostly) everything

You can't get closer to tourist land. That being said, public transit makes it easy to get to any other part of the city with 10 to 15 minutes. It's a Holiday Inn, so your amenities are pretty standard and the room rate was good. Rooms are kept clean and the staff is quite friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Omaha, Nebraska
Apr 22, 2009

Room with a View- of a Dumster

The hotel is in walking distance to Pier 39, China Town and even Union Square (1.5 miles if traversed directly). Tour companies are just a couple of blocks away for Bay and city tours. Ghiradelli Square and the Cannery are also close by. Perfect location, especially for those without a car. Advanced info indicated free Internet access in the room, but that wasn't the case- though I was able to connect to a neighboring hotel for free. Room overlooked a dumpster and one night the neighbors were extremely loud after midnight, but security responded quickly and the party was much quieter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat in China Town and visit North Beach for great Italian food.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Thermopolis, WY
Apr 22, 2009

GREAT TRIP!

We went to San Francisco to escape the lingering Wyoming winter. What a fantastic trip! The hotel was only one block off the wharf. It was clean and comfortable. We arrived in San Francisco at 8am, and they were gracious enough to let us check in early so we could drop off our luggage. We took the wine tour to Napa and Sonoma Valleys and purchased wine to take home. We didn't have tape to seal the box, but housekeeping sent a roll of packaging tape to us. We really appreciated this! All the employees were professional and courteous. We would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to rent a car if you're just going for a weekend. There are so many attractions within walking distance to this hotel. Trolley Cars, Alcatraz tour, Aquarium, Sea Lions, Lombard Street, The Wharf- several restaurants there, along with shops and lots of street entertainment. You can always grab a cab if you want to venture out further.

Back to menu Return to top