$198 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

3 stars
View map of 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trippee
Couples
Virginia, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Fine, basic hotel

This hotel was great for the price. It was located right a block away from Fisherman's Wharf and across the street from Hertz and Walgreens. The amenities were basic but everything was clean. The hotel staff did let us check in early, which was a huge plus so we didn't have to walk around with our bags! Our room was near the cable car, which was fine as well, and not loud throughout the night as another had said. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again due to the ability to walk anywhere from this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat the clam chowder soup at Boudin!

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
serp
Couples
Tennessee
Dec 13, 2011

Mostly Good

I paid a little extra for the Business level rooms. I'm guessing this made sure we were on the business floor in the main hotel and not down a few blocks like mentioned in other reviews. It was a nice room and clean. It had all you would expect/need (microwave, fridge, tv, wifi). The wifi was beyond slow which was disappointing for the business level. When I needed to look something up I ended up just using my phone as it was much quicker. We did have a issue where on the last night we were there we found a very large pair of men's underwear in our sheets. They definitely did not belong to us. I'm assuming they were washed up with the sheets and then got made up into the bed but it was disturbing all the same. Unfortunately, this is what we're going to remember from an otherwise lovely stay at this hotel. I'm not sure if we'll be able to stay there again. With that said, the hotel staff and service was very friendly and accommodating. We actually left one of our phones in the gift shop by accident. After calling them they found it and are shipping it to us. The location is within walking distance of everything at the Fisherman's Wharf which is very touristy and the food is overpriced and subpar. If you must eat there I'd suggest the Codmother which is just a little stand that sells fish and chips but the food is fresh, prepared perfectly, and the owner is great. One of the concierges suggested a seafood place within walking distance and it was pretty terrible. Do some research and plan on catching some transport to get good food. The hotel is also within walking distance (just a little over 4 blocks) from the part of Lombard Street that's famous for being curvy. The rest of the city you'll have to get some transport but there are plenty of options. There is a trolly hub a block or two from the hotel and you know you have to ride it at least once while there. It will take you past a few places (Lombard Street as mentioned above, Chinatown, union square). If you are going to make a few stops just get a full day trolley ticket as the tickets are only for one ride otherwise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

On day 1 of your trip buy a ticket on one of the open top tour buses. Yes, it is a touristy thing to do but a ticket gives you access to around 20 different places around the city all day. The ticket is good for the full day so you just hop off at any stop and then back on when you are ready to go to the next place. By the end of the day you'll have a good idea of the different locations of the city and know where you want to revisit and spend more time on your following days. There are several different companies that do the buses but I think they are mostly all the same and have mostly the same stops but you might want to compare them. There's a couple different places to hop on about a block from this hotel.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ricster
Family
San Diego, CA, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Great Location for family vacation

Centralized area, close to everything. Small, but nice workout area, and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Street cars and shopping.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mitch1
Single
Canada
Nov 23, 2011

Holiday Inn

Close enough to the Wharf yet far enough from the hustle and bustle. Hotel is a bit dated but room was in good condition- clean bath, good housekeeping service, and friendly reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zinful
Couples
Olivette, MO, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Beware

Place was us OK, the staff wasn't very friendly. Beware, if you are driving a car, it costs $45.00 a night to park in the hotel parking lot. Next time, we will check out parking charges ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brady 1 2 3
Couples
Boston
Oct 14, 2011

San Francisco vacation

Clean and comfortable, great location, helpful, responsive staff. Hotel restaurant very overpriced, even for breakfast but fortunatly great location lends itself to many restaurants within walking dstance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torreón, COAH, México
Oct 9, 2011

Excellent location near everthing in fisherman's.

Staff very helpfull. At my arrival my reservation was ready with the extra bed I requested. No problems at all. Walking distance to cable car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Degsy
Couples
Liverpool, England
Oct 7, 2011

Stay at hotel

My wife and I were very disappointed upon arrival, after having been "dropped off" by the cab driver at the reception in the main building to be told that we then had to take all our luggage out of the hotel, along the main road (approx 300 yds) and then down a flight of steps to the adjoining building in order to get to our room and this after having completed a 10+ hours flight from England. Also having booked this hotel room at least six months prior we were given a room with a view of a blank wall. We thought we would either be in the main hotel area and also thought we would possibly have a view of some description, even if it wasn't over the Wharf itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Degsy
Couples
Liverpool, England
Oct 7, 2011

Stay at hotel

My wife and I were very disappointed upon arrival, after having been "dropped off" by the cab driver at the reception in the main building to be told that we then had to take all our luggage out of the hotel, along the main road (approx 300 yds) and then down a flight of steps to the adjoining building in order to get to our room and this after having completed a 10+ hours flight from England. Also having booked this hotel room at least six months prior we were given a room with a view of a blank wall. We thought we would either be in the main hotel area and also thought we would possibly have a view of some description, even if it wasn't over the Wharf itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

To be aware that there are two adjoining buildings both going under the name of Holiday Express Fisherman's Wharf.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Garth
Family
Boston
Aug 25, 2011

Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

The Hotel was clean, bathroom was plenty big. But the free WiFi was useless! I brought my netbook and it was sooo slooow. I had to print out a voucher for a shuttle to take us back to the airport. Talked to the front desk, they said they have public computers with printers on the fourth floor. So I used their computer trying to access the website to print out the voucher, it took a solid 45 minutes it was that slow!!! Also there is the main Holiday Inn on Columbus Ave. and another Holiday Inn on a Main Street (forgot the name) which Denny's Restaurant is located. Our room was at the Denny's section. We were on the second floor. We opened the window occasionally at night. The traffic is Loud! Rubbish removal and delivery trucks come by at 3:00-4:00am. I would have given the Hotel a 4 star if it were not for the slow WiFi and the Loud, Noisy Room. However, I would stay there again but ask for the Main Hotel on Columbus. Also I'd leave my Netbook at home LOL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Cable Car it is fun and you can get around pretty much everywhere.

Back to menu Return to top