$168 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

3 stars
1300 COLUMBUS AVENUE, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94133
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
508 reviews
great place to stay

clean and neat and the staff was friendly - it also was a convenient location to where we spent... See full review

  • Barbara Jo the traveler
  • Jul 8, 2014
Perfect

Perfect location and comfort close to everything!! See full review

  • Putt putt
  • Feb 23, 2014
Comfortable lodging near Fisherman's Wharf, Ghirardelli Square and more

Comprising two separate buildings, this Fisherman's Wharf hotel is situated within walking distance of Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square and ferries to Alcatraz Island. The property features two on-site restaurants and an outdoor heated pool. It also offers complimentary limousine service to guests who stay on the Executive Club floor.

Highlights
  • Located within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and the Embarcadero
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Two on-site restaurants
  • Pets welcome
Rooms

Accommodations -- 579 rooms and six suites -- span two adjacent buildings. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, hairdryers, ironing boards and in-room safes. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

A subtle nautical theme characterizes the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf. In the lobby, for instance, seashells and crab icons are common themes. In the rooms, artwork depicts sailboats and other maritime vessels.

All hotel guests have complimentary access to the 24-hour business center, on-site fitness center and the outdoor heated pool.

There's also a sundeck that overlooks San Francisco Bay; it's a great spot to get a tan.

Two on-site restaurants provide endless dining options. At the Bristol Bar & Grill in the Columbus building, grab lobster ravioli or homemade clam chowder. A Denny's restaurant in the Beach building serves classic American fare 24 hours a day.

Self parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • Embarcadero
  • Alcatraz Island
  • Golden Gate Bridge
  • Presidio
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Executive Club floor reservations include complimentary limousine service

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.8065 -122.418
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.00, MI, W; San Francisco International, (SFO), 19.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.7 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Bristol Bar and Grill
You'll find only the freshest ingredients at Bristol Bar and Grill , located on the lobby level of our Columbus Avenue building. It's the perfect place for a quick breakfast, a business gathering or friendly after hours relaxation. When time is short you'

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (508)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
508 out of 508
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loved San Fran
Green Bay, WI
Jul 11, 2011

Great location

Great location. You are right in the Fisherman's Warf. The staff at Denny's inside the hotel were so friendly and remembered us day to day. The hotel staff were also very friendly and I felt I could have asked for anything and they would have helped me. Our luggage was lost for the first 2 days and we bought basic supplies before we got to the hotel. When we arrived in our room we discovered they would have provided complimentary toothbrush, toothpaste, razors etc. I wish I would have realized that before. That is so nice that they would have offered that too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great free view of the city in the Golden Gate Park 9th story of the de Young Museum! You can still see them make fortune cookies by hand in Chinatown at "Golden Gate Fortune Cookies" on Ross Alley. Alcatraz was worth seeing! A great place to eat near the hotel was Joe's Crab Shack. There is an old arcade on the pier that was neat to see.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loved San Fran
Green Bay, WI
Jul 11, 2011

Great location

Great location. You are right in the Fisherman's Warf. The staff at Denny's inside the hotel were so friendly and remembered us day to day. The hotel staff were also very friendly and I felt I could have asked for anything and they would have helped me. Our luggage was lost for the first 2 days and we bought basic supplies before we got to the hotel. When we arrived in our room we discovered they would have provided complimentary toothbrush, toothpaste, razors etc. I wish I would have realized that before. That is so nice that they would have offered that too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great free view of the city in the Golden Gate Park 9th story of the de Young Museum! You can still see them make fortune cookies by hand in Chinatown at "Golden Gate Fortune Cookies" on Ross Alley. Alcatraz was worth seeing! A great place to eat near the hotel was Joe's Crab Shack. There is an old arcade on the pier that was neat to see.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Jun 21, 2011

Great Location

I thought this hotel was in a prime spot close to Fisherman's Wharf, a short walk to Coit Tower and several other prime locations of interest. Parking is expensive at hotel if you need a car in the city for any out of town drives. May want to look into nearby parking garages. There was a parking garage right behind the hotel. We didn't look into the cost since we had already paid for a spot at the hotel. We didn't use our car while visiting San Fran, but did use it to go to Sausalito and surrounding areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Jun 21, 2011

Great Location

I thought this hotel was in a prime spot close to Fisherman's Wharf, a short walk to Coit Tower and several other prime locations of interest. Parking is expensive at hotel if you need a car in the city for any out of town drives. May want to look into nearby parking garages. There was a parking garage right behind the hotel. We didn't look into the cost since we had already paid for a spot at the hotel. We didn't use our car while visiting San Fran, but did use it to go to Sausalito and surrounding areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colleenpa
Business
Thermopolis, WY
Jun 6, 2011

excellant location

Walked to warf. Great location for shopping, tourist things and restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sight seeing center very close

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colleenpa
Business
Thermopolis, WY
Jun 6, 2011

excellant location

Walked to warf. Great location for shopping, tourist things and restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sight seeing center very close

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles
May 31, 2011

great location

Great location! Right off of fisherman's wharf. If you head down the street, you will find a walgreens for anything you need and plenty of authentic sf seafood! The staff was friendly, very willing to help! The place is really big and we were moved from the main building to the one on the beach. Great overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Down the street is a row of street vendors, all competing t O serve you the best seafood at the best prices. Try nick's!

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles
May 31, 2011

great location

Great location! Right off of fisherman's wharf. If you head down the street, you will find a walgreens for anything you need and plenty of authentic sf seafood! The staff was friendly, very willing to help! The place is really big and we were moved from the main building to the one on the beach. Great overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Down the street is a row of street vendors, all competing t O serve you the best seafood at the best prices. Try nick's!

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike & ro
new orleans, la
May 26, 2011

great location, good price

great location on fishermans warf. all activities within short walk or on bus line. scomas on the bay is a can't miss

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

several car rental companies within walking distance. rent a car for the day, it is cheaper than parking. go south to monery, 17 mi drive, don't miss it

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike & ro
new orleans, la
May 26, 2011

great location, good price

great location on fishermans warf. all activities within short walk or on bus line. scomas on the bay is a can't miss

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

several car rental companies within walking distance. rent a car for the day, it is cheaper than parking. go south to monery, 17 mi drive, don't miss it

Back to menu Return to top