$168 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

3 stars
1300 COLUMBUS AVENUE, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94133
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
507 reviews
great place to stay

clean and neat and the staff was friendly - it also was a convenient location to where we spent... See full review

  • Barbara Jo the traveler
  • Jul 8, 2014
Perfect

Perfect location and comfort close to everything!! See full review

  • Putt putt
  • Feb 23, 2014
Comfortable lodging near Fisherman's Wharf, Ghirardelli Square and more

Comprising two separate buildings, this Fisherman's Wharf hotel is situated within walking distance of Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square and ferries to Alcatraz Island. The property features two on-site restaurants and an outdoor heated pool. It also offers complimentary limousine service to guests who stay on the Executive Club floor.

Highlights
  • Located within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and the Embarcadero
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Two on-site restaurants
  • Pets welcome
Rooms

Accommodations -- 579 rooms and six suites -- span two adjacent buildings. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, hairdryers, ironing boards and in-room safes. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

A subtle nautical theme characterizes the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf. In the lobby, for instance, seashells and crab icons are common themes. In the rooms, artwork depicts sailboats and other maritime vessels.

All hotel guests have complimentary access to the 24-hour business center, on-site fitness center and the outdoor heated pool.

There's also a sundeck that overlooks San Francisco Bay; it's a great spot to get a tan.

Two on-site restaurants provide endless dining options. At the Bristol Bar & Grill in the Columbus building, grab lobster ravioli or homemade clam chowder. A Denny's restaurant in the Beach building serves classic American fare 24 hours a day.

Self parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • Embarcadero
  • Alcatraz Island
  • Golden Gate Bridge
  • Presidio
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Executive Club floor reservations include complimentary limousine service

Hotel Map

37.8065 -122.418
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.00, MI; San Francisco International, (SFO), 19.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.7 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Bristol Bar and Grill
You'll find only the freshest ingredients at Bristol Bar and Grill , located on the lobby level of our Columbus Avenue building. It's the perfect place for a quick breakfast, a business gathering or friendly after hours relaxation. When time is short you'

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (507)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
507 out of 507
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The 3 Gs
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Oct 18, 2012

great vacation

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was fantastic. Thanks!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annual family getaway
Ohio, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Family vacation

The location was easy access to everything. Staff was friendly. But there wasn't much staff interaction. Most staff was in another building. Rooms are split between buildings and none of the amenities were in our building so it was not easy access to pool, car parking, hotel restaurant, etc. Lots of families stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KY20614
Tazewell, Tn
Apr 6, 2012

Holiday Inn Fisherman Warf

Front Desk isn't very friendly. All other staff very friendly. Good location allows you to walk to many of the popular areas. You can print boarding passes for flights on an in house kios.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dolly J
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Very Disappointed

I was not happy with location,staff,or really anything about the hotel. I saw many nicer hotels in that area and closer to the wharf. Room was small and bathroom small.Staff not very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pier 39 lovely as before.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kcham
Michigan, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Comfortlable

The hotel is clean and great location if you want to be by the Wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food and service at Cioppino's is great.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patty72
San Diego, CA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

First time in San Francisco

It is convenient located just two short blocks away from the strip at Fisherman's Wharf.... I loved my trip, I'll be back during the summer and I'll stay in the same hotel. The staff are amicable. The only thing was the bed size, I thought there were going to be a bit bigger, since I had to share the bed with a girlfriend of mine, I was concern about her spooning me at night, I was a bit tense the first night, but thank God it didn't happen, hahahaa.. other than that it was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking along the bay there so many shops and entertainment. The location of the hotel is perfect to walk around and get to stores, restaurants, aquarium, tour to Alcatraz etc.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rumi
Los Angeles
Apr 2, 2012

Location, location, location.

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple's vacation and the hotel was lovely. The staff was amazingly friendly and efficient. For example, our fire alarm accidentally went off -- they had a maintenance guy come and look at it in less than two minutes. One of the downsides is that they have two buildings, so we had to walk across the street to get to our room but it was no biggie. The location was close to everything! Absolutely loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not order from the Denny's at the Hotel- complete rip off.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daeg
Palm Springs, California
Mar 18, 2012

In the "Heart" of the Warf

Centrally located near the Warf, this hotel is perfect for those who want to stroll and shop and eat at some of the finest seafood restaurants in San Francisco. Located close to the trolly car park, it is also within walking distance of Gheradelli Square. And it offers great dining in house and a helpful and friendly staff. We recomend it. Daeg

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McCormick & Kuleto's restuarant in Gheradelli Square is a fantastic dining experience. Not only is the food outstanding, the wait staff are the most accommodating we have seen in a long time. And the entire dining room is offered an amazing view of the bay. It's a little pricey but worth every penny.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vivid
Washington, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Good location

really near fisherman's wharf, just need 2 min walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You could find lots of sea food restaurant here, everyone of them are perfect.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lcast573
New Jersey, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Great Location

Our flight arrived earlier than the hotels check-in time, but since we called ahead they were very accommodating with an early check-in for us. We were a bit disappointed by staying in the Beach Building, rather the main hotel. Though Denny's was located in our building and had a to-go to option. Wonderful location, Little Italy & Chinatown within a few blocks of our hotel. We were also very close to Lombard Street. Fisherman's Wharf was a block away where many piers are located (food, entertainment). Overall very nice location and room was comfortable. We were satisfied with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crab House on the pier was delightful and yummy!!

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich70
San Antonio, TX, USA
Mar 4, 2012

20th anniversary getaway

Great hotel! Very friendly staff. Best location. Loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Best way to get to the airport. Take a street car to Market street from the Wharf using a street car for $2 a person. Then take the Bart to the airport for $8.10 a person. Easy

Back to menu Return to top