$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

3 stars
50 Eighth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
79 reviews
Good value

I stayed at this hotel the night before a final exam. While the hotel isn't in the best part of San... See full review

  • jemwatso
  • Dec 8, 2013
Best Value

The hotel is near the Civic Center Bart stop, which makes it convenient if coming from the SFO... See full review

  • catsj
  • Jan 7, 2014
Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the citys most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, youll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fishermans Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.2 mi

Dining

50 on Eight
Restaurant located in the hotel next to the lobby. Serves both breakfast buffett and menu items and dinner menu options. Does not serve lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 79
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
catsj
Business
Orange County, CA
Jan 7, 2014

Best Value

The hotel is near the Civic Center Bart stop, which makes it convenient if coming from the SFO airport. The room was spacious and clean. Overall, no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's near Brenda's Soul Food, #1 on Yelp.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matergia
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 12, 2013

Good One-Night Stay

My husband and I stayed here for one night before heading out to the airport. We enjoyed the hotel - it was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The hotel has a parking garage attached, which is an additional charge for the night. Overall, this hotel was a good price for the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stonington,CT
Jul 31, 2011

Lovely hotel,friendly staff

Lovely but aging hotel, fine staff, good restaurant, and clean heated swimming pool.Only black mark - neighborhood seedy - you'll get hit on by beggars outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 14, 2011

The Bay Area

The maid service was wonderful. They made it a point to clean your room every day, change the linens & replace towels. They were friendly, professional, and curteous of the DND sign. They made our stay a very happy one b/c we would come back from a long day to a nice clean room.I thought the limited time for room service sucked. It started at 6:30a-9:30a & then again from 6:30p-9:30p. There was no 24hr room service which would have been very convenient for travelers like us who stay up late & sleep in. We always missed breakfast, there was no lunch service & we were usually out for dinner. I didn't tip b/c there was a hidden charge for delivery & gratuity already added, which seemed over priced. The menu options were limited & there wasn't a complimentary breakfast available for those who didn't wish to pay for the breakfast buffet.The front desk personel were wonderful, helpful, and very friendly to speak with. The bellmen were also very curteous & quick to lend assistance when needed. However, when we needed a taxi one day, the front door bellman walked away & didn't assist us in securing a taxi which took about 20 min.Our room was a standard king. It suited us fine for the 2 wks we were there. It would have been nice if there was a small fridge & microwave available since it was a long trip. And my husband wished that the bed had a better mattress.The police sirens were a little annoying but this hotel is situated in the heart of the city, so it was expected. The area seemed safe enough & it was a very convenient location.Overall the experience was nice. There are some things that could have been better, but what do expect...a hotel is not your home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Banos Ca
Nov 21, 2010

Good location, just don't have breakfast

Hotel location is great if you are there to shop or see a show at the Warfield. Lots of restuarants and security is not an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tassiecouple
Business
Australia
Nov 20, 2010

Great hotel

Great Hotel, with a very helpful staff member, [...]. My only complaint was the cost of parking the car at the hotel, $35 is just way over the top when most hotels provide free parking!Excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WA
Nov 15, 2010

bad service and expensive parking fee

I did reservation hotel a room. Hotel manager said sold all rooms during check in time. I paid more $40.- for parking a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
buble
Business
houston ., tx.
Nov 10, 2010

mr. hoang

nice view and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MegT
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Nov 7, 2010

Nice hotel, close to Muni and BART

In San Fran for 3 days, 2 nights for a work/leisure combo trip. Hotel is close to Civic Center, Market Street, Muni & Bart, and now the Hop-On-Hop-Off tour bus stops there. Hotel was clean and nice, wifi was free, and the front desk staff were great. Kids in the next room helped test out the sound baffling in the walls... next to none. We heard every word of their loud party from 2:30-5:30am, despite the requests from the security guard to pipe down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RHVFlyer
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 17, 2010

Civic Center Holiday Inn

We live in San Jose and we didn't want to drive home at 11:30 at night. We went to see "The Marriage of Figaro" at the San Francisco Opera. We normally never stay at a Holiday Inn, but all of the premium hotels were booked because the SF Giants were in the play-offs. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the opera. The arrival was irritating because there was only one way into their garage and that way was blocked by people leaving their cars in the driveway to go inside to check-in. So we were stuck outside in the street waiting for the cops to come to give us a ticket. We had to go and find a doorman to explain to us what the deal was. The deal is you have to go inside, pay $40 (with taxes) to park there, and you use your room key to get into the garage. The room was clean, but nothing to write home about. Breakfast was interesting. They have the [*] to charge $7.25 for an egg and an English muffing. I ordered a bagel with cream cheese. Their bagels are the size of a dollar coin. I refused to accept that. I wasn't in the mood to play "Barbie's Restaurant". All in all, next time I'll take it on the chin and drive home. BTW, the room was cold. A quickie would be a "Polar Express".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Opera, Symphony all are close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top