$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

3 stars
View map of 50 Eighth St, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
85 reviews
Bay area business trip

Staff and location was great, this hotel while not cheap was a much better value than almost all of... See full review

  • Mark R.
  • May 19, 2015
staff was great--

stay was nice the staff very helpful and friendly---the view wasn`t much but we didnt spent much... See full review

  • wdean
  • Jan 9, 2015
Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the citys most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, youll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fishermans Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.2 mi

Dining

50onEight Restaurant
Restaurant located in the hotel next to the lobby. Serves both breakfast buffett and menu items and dinner menu options. Does not serve lunch.
Sam's Diner
Classic diner honoring it's Theater District location by displaying artwork from famous musicals
Hayes Street Grill
Grilled fish dishes are the specialty at this seafood mainstay near the Symphony, Opera and Ballet
John's Grill
Classic menu in an old school setting with photos of famous past patrons on the wood walls
Ananda Fuara
Spiritual guru Sri Chinmoy is the driving force behind this celebrated vegetarian and vegan eatery

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 85
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark R.
Business
Washington
May 19, 2015

Bay area business trip

Staff and location was great, this hotel while not cheap was a much better value than almost all of the over-priced hotels in downtown San Francisco. I would recommend this hotel to someone looking to check out San Francisco as well as have a nice environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bennyfresh
Business
San Diego
Jun 19, 2014

Pretty nice hotel but expensive parking.

Make sure to factor in the parking costs, $40 a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GeorgePM
Business
Sure York
Feb 4, 2014

Location location

Don't expect a fancy stay but this hotel offers a great location close to busy Market St and the Civic center with its cultural features. Overall a good Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Palm Springs Bear
Business
Palm Springs,CA
Dec 21, 2013

BUSINESS STAY

GREAT STAFF, NICE ROOM, AND CONVENIENT TO EVERYTHING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
That Joyce
Business
Los Angeles, California
Dec 14, 2013

Wouldn't stay there again

My only requirement was a king size bed and late check in which I was assured I would get. Wrong. They made up for it the next day but still disappointed. They didn't have enough hot water most of the time. 1 out of 4 showers/baths only gave 2 minutes of hot water. Restaurant/room service only available for breakfast and dinner. No off hours food available and nothing besides a Subway or Burger King in the vicinity. Not so nice neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jsred119
Business
San Francisco
Oct 31, 2013

Worthless Management. Worst experience of my life

I had booked and paid for my room in full, however, because I had lost my wallet I was denied entry to my hotel room. When I arrived for my reservation I had my booking number, but without my Drivers License I was denied my room. I did have a car rental agreement and a photo ID for "Techshop," a well known local business, but this was not efficient. The manager refused to even speak with me. The person helping me at the front desk kept going into a back room to see the manager but they refused to ever come speak to me. So, I had already paid for a room. I had a photo ID and many other ways to prove i am me. But I couldnt stay in my room. Oh yeah, remember? I lost my wallet! So how do you think I got a new room?! Oh, I COULDNT!!! I was forced to sleep in my rental car!!! worst experience of my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Glimpse
Business
Shenzhen, China
Jun 13, 2012

Good for tour

good location, comfortable. Less restaurant around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birz
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 9, 2012

Good value

For the price, not bad at all. Newly remodelled Lobby and Retsaurant/Bar; very sleek and modern. Rooms need some updating but very clean and quiet. Bathrooms newly remodelled, very nice. Location not the best neighborhood but close to Civic Center where I had business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aaron42
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 9, 2011

Accessible location for SF

Pricey but easy access to downtown via muni. Staff was helpful but not overly so. Pictures of the pool were not a good representation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaybones
Business
Washington
Sep 13, 2011

Bad neighborhood, Reasonable amenities

This really is not the area you want to stay in San Francisco. The staff is nice, the rooms are adequate, but the area leaves much to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top