$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

3 stars
50 Eighth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
79 reviews
Good value

I stayed at this hotel the night before a final exam. While the hotel isn't in the best part of San... See full review

  • jemwatso
  • Dec 8, 2013
Best Value

The hotel is near the Civic Center Bart stop, which makes it convenient if coming from the SFO... See full review

  • catsj
  • Jan 7, 2014
Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the citys most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, youll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fishermans Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

Hotel Map

37.7775 -122.4145
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 23.00, MI, W; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, N; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 15.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.2 mi

Dining

50 on Eight
Restaurant located in the hotel next to the lobby. Serves both breakfast buffett and menu items and dinner menu options. Does not serve lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jsred119
Business
San Francisco
Oct 31, 2013

Worthless Management. Worst experience of my life

I had booked and paid for my room in full, however, because I had lost my wallet I was denied entry to my hotel room. When I arrived for my reservation I had my booking number, but without my Drivers License I was denied my room. I did have a car rental agreement and a photo ID for "Techshop," a well known local business, but this was not efficient. The manager refused to even speak with me. The person helping me at the front desk kept going into a back room to see the manager but they refused to ever come speak to me. So, I had already paid for a room. I had a photo ID and many other ways to prove i am me. But I couldnt stay in my room. Oh yeah, remember? I lost my wallet! So how do you think I got a new room?! Oh, I COULDNT!!! I was forced to sleep in my rental car!!! worst experience of my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
That Joyce
Business
Los Angeles, California
Dec 14, 2013

Wouldn't stay there again

My only requirement was a king size bed and late check in which I was assured I would get. Wrong. They made up for it the next day but still disappointed. They didn't have enough hot water most of the time. 1 out of 4 showers/baths only gave 2 minutes of hot water. Restaurant/room service only available for breakfast and dinner. No off hours food available and nothing besides a Subway or Burger King in the vicinity. Not so nice neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaybones
Business
Washington
Sep 13, 2011

Bad neighborhood, Reasonable amenities

This really is not the area you want to stay in San Francisco. The staff is nice, the rooms are adequate, but the area leaves much to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 22, 2007

Very unhelpful/very dissatisfied

I requested a nonsmoking room. It wasn't until the next day that I noticed a very strong smoke odor coming through the door and a sign on the door that said it was a smoking room. I complained and was told that my floor had recently been converted and the sign had not been taken down. Okay, but what about the smoke--it was in the hallway and in my room. I was told that couldn't be the case. When I pressed, she said that they couldn't keep someone from smoking on a nonsmoking floor, but I could move to another floor. Why would I move when after the inconvenience, I could end up with another smoker? She finally agreed to send someone up. It was a battle, she was not interested in making my stay satisfactory or upholding their standards. Also the business center, which I was led to believe was complementary, was not--it has an extremely steep charge. Why supply free wireless and then charge to use an antiquated computer? My complaints on this went nowhere as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Over in the Union Square neighborhood are a number of very good restaurants--fairly reasonable. Don't ask the staff for help--they repeatedly recommended the very shady looking all you can eat sushi, barbeque, and seafood joint across from the hotel. It had all the trappings of a bacteria buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
marathonrunner84
Business
grover beach, ca
Jul 26, 2010

holiday inn. sf

Was in san Francisco to run the marathon there. Wanted a place to sleep fairly close the the starting line. The lobby was nice but that's about all. It felt like I was staying at a budget hotel at three times the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

San Francisco marathon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 9, 2011

Terrible noise generated by some guests

During my second night, several young guests were making terrible noise: banging doors and walls, screaming, running around in the hallway. Called management twice, after which the responsible guests returned to their room and continued to make noise till midnight. I have not had this kind of terrible experience, having travelled many times during the past ten years. Not blaming the hotel this, but I suggest that appropriate precautions be taken when a group of young people rent room(s) together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
May 25, 2009

okay...

it was ok...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RHVFlyer
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 17, 2010

Civic Center Holiday Inn

We live in San Jose and we didn't want to drive home at 11:30 at night. We went to see "The Marriage of Figaro" at the San Francisco Opera. We normally never stay at a Holiday Inn, but all of the premium hotels were booked because the SF Giants were in the play-offs. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the opera. The arrival was irritating because there was only one way into their garage and that way was blocked by people leaving their cars in the driveway to go inside to check-in. So we were stuck outside in the street waiting for the cops to come to give us a ticket. We had to go and find a doorman to explain to us what the deal was. The deal is you have to go inside, pay $40 (with taxes) to park there, and you use your room key to get into the garage. The room was clean, but nothing to write home about. Breakfast was interesting. They have the [*] to charge $7.25 for an egg and an English muffing. I ordered a bagel with cream cheese. Their bagels are the size of a dollar coin. I refused to accept that. I wasn't in the mood to play "Barbie's Restaurant". All in all, next time I'll take it on the chin and drive home. BTW, the room was cold. A quickie would be a "Polar Express".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Opera, Symphony all are close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelers x 3
Business
Eugene, OR
Aug 20, 2010

Business trip

Location is only 1 block from Market Street with lots of shopping and within 10 or 15 minute walking distance to the Moscone Center, which was great for us. Hotel staff was courteous and helpful. Downside was, I requested a non smoking room when I booked a week in advance, but ended up with a smoking room anyway. Was told we are full and that's all we have. I don't believe it. Next, the walls must be made from cardboard as we could hear the people in the room next to us as though there was no wall at all. Talking, flushing the toilet and taking a shower were all way too clearly heard. I don't remember any hotel anywhere that has walls that transmit sound as here. Price was ok for this area of SF this time of year. Not great, but I've seen worse. I just think there are better choices for the location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Westfield shopping mall is close enough to walk to without problems. The mall has 200 stores and is HUGE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
May 3, 2009

The price is not worth for the headache

I stayed at the hotel for 8 nights. Everything was ok until the last two days of my stay. On Friday night I got my finger pressed by the door of the elevator and I went to the manager to complain about it, in other words he said that it was my fault. I left my rental car at the hotel parking during all the time. On Saturday morning someone broke my car's windows and took my GPS device. At the hotel parking! When I went to reception to complain they said that they cannot do anything and it was my entire problem! Never again I'll stay at this hotel in San Francisco... Never !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

don't stay there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top