$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

3 stars
50 Eighth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
79 reviews
Good value

I stayed at this hotel the night before a final exam. While the hotel isn't in the best part of San... See full review

  • jemwatso
  • Dec 8, 2013
Best Value

The hotel is near the Civic Center Bart stop, which makes it convenient if coming from the SFO... See full review

  • catsj
  • Jan 7, 2014
Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the citys most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, youll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fishermans Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

Hotel Map

37.7775 -122.4145
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 23.00, MI, W; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, N; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 15.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.2 mi

Dining

50 on Eight
Restaurant located in the hotel next to the lobby. Serves both breakfast buffett and menu items and dinner menu options. Does not serve lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lizzypooh
Business
California
Jan 13, 2013

Great get away!

My stay there was great! The staff was really friendly and accommodating and willing to help. We went to go see the Lion King musical and choose this place because it was about 2 minutes away from the theatre and because it was affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lizzypooh
Business
California
Jan 13, 2013

Friendly staff

My stay there was great! The staff was really friendly and accommodating and willing to help. We went to go see the Lion King musical and choose this place because it was about 2 minutes away from the theatre and because it was affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jemwatso
Business
Castro Valley, California
Dec 8, 2013

Good value

I stayed at this hotel the night before a final exam. While the hotel isn't in the best part of San Francisco, it isn't in the worst either. I walked alone to the hotel from the Muni/BART station that is around the corner in the afternoon, late at night and early in the morning and never felt uncomfortable. From the room, you only heard the normal sirens that you always hear in downtown San Francisco, but never heard any other street noise including the homeless. The elevator requires a key to operate so no one was randomly walking the halls. The hotel staff was friendly at check-in and check-out. Great bar and restaurant as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 3, 2007

Good location

I was pleased to find both the bus and subway stops to be one block away. Anywhere i went, it was easy to get to and from hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the cashier at the gift shop. My only small complaint is the vending machines. I got a super small bottle of water for $1.50...talk about a rip off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It gets very shady late at night. I took a four block walk up to a restaurant off the major boulevard (Market) and i was contemplating a cab. There are a few adult stores there and it gets its share of peculiar characters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edhi
Business
Carlsbad, CA
Jun 11, 2007

I was so satisfied with ...

I was so satisfied with the hotel clean and the view is so amazing, I will traveling again later

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the store very close by the hotel and it's easy to get there, is a very good locations and view

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Holiday Inn San Francisco-Civic Center

I checked in and thought I would get one king bed and was given room with two bed. It's not a big deal and was given good service and the staff didn't give me so much of a hard time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall is walking distance and the subway is very accessible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MY FRIND RON
Business
SUISUN CITY CA
Oct 31, 2009

HAD A GREAT TIME :)

IT WAS NICE AND WOULD LOVE TO STAY AT THE HOTEL AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 7, 2007

Cool place to stay

We stayed at the Holiday Inn San Francisco. The room we had was nice. It was very easy to get around, we just had to walk half a block to catch the trolly which took us to every major part of the city. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 1, 2007

Good Location

Fast check in, location was ideal for that days client visits, very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
catsj
Business
Orange County, CA
Jan 7, 2014

Best Value

The hotel is near the Civic Center Bart stop, which makes it convenient if coming from the SFO airport. The room was spacious and clean. Overall, no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's near Brenda's Soul Food, #1 on Yelp.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top