$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

3 stars
50 EIGHTH ST, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
134 reviews
Good value

I stayed at this hotel the night before a final exam. While the hotel isn't in the best part of San... See full review

  • jemwatso
  • Dec 8, 2013
Friendly staff

My stay there was great! The staff was really friendly and accommodating and willing to help. We... See full review

  • Lizzypooh
  • Jan 13, 2013
Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the citys most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, youll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fishermans Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

Hotel Map

37.7775 -122.4145
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 23.00, MI, W; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, N; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 15.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.2 mi

Dining

50 on Eight
Restaurant located in the hotel next to the lobby. Serves both breakfast buffett and menu items and dinner menu options. Does not serve lunch.
50 on Eight
Lounge is located next to our restaurant which is near our lobby. Has a wide selection of beverages to choose from.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sherman Oaks, CA
Oct 23, 2010

Holiday Inn, Civic center

I was there on a business trip. The hotel was good, staffs were so nice but the neighborhood was not safe. I parked the car outside in the public parking next to the hotel and somebody broke the window and stole my GPS mount and it seems that the hotel staffs all had this experience before! Also, the bath tub was not clean clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vienna Virginia
Oct 22, 2010

good business

The Hotel was very good but with so maney homeless around in the street, we did not feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel is clean but not sidewalks around the hotel

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vienna Virginia
Oct 22, 2010

good business

The Hotel was very good but with so maney homeless around in the street, we did not feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel is clean but not sidewalks around the hotel

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RHVFlyer
San Jose, CA
Oct 17, 2010

Civic Center Holiday Inn

We live in San Jose and we didn't want to drive home at 11:30 at night. We went to see "The Marriage of Figaro" at the San Francisco Opera. We normally never stay at a Holiday Inn, but all of the premium hotels were booked because the SF Giants were in the play-offs. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the opera. The arrival was irritating because there was only one way into their garage and that way was blocked by people leaving their cars in the driveway to go inside to check-in. So we were stuck outside in the street waiting for the cops to come to give us a ticket. We had to go and find a doorman to explain to us what the deal was. The deal is you have to go inside, pay $40 (with taxes) to park there, and you use your room key to get into the garage. The room was clean, but nothing to write home about. Breakfast was interesting. They have the [*] to charge $7.25 for an egg and an English muffing. I ordered a bagel with cream cheese. Their bagels are the size of a dollar coin. I refused to accept that. I wasn't in the mood to play "Barbie's Restaurant". All in all, next time I'll take it on the chin and drive home. BTW, the room was cold. A quickie would be a "Polar Express".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Opera, Symphony all are close by.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RHVFlyer
San Jose, CA
Oct 17, 2010

Civic Center Holiday Inn

We live in San Jose and we didn't want to drive home at 11:30 at night. We went to see "The Marriage of Figaro" at the San Francisco Opera. We normally never stay at a Holiday Inn, but all of the premium hotels were booked because the SF Giants were in the play-offs. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the opera. The arrival was irritating because there was only one way into their garage and that way was blocked by people leaving their cars in the driveway to go inside to check-in. So we were stuck outside in the street waiting for the cops to come to give us a ticket. We had to go and find a doorman to explain to us what the deal was. The deal is you have to go inside, pay $40 (with taxes) to park there, and you use your room key to get into the garage. The room was clean, but nothing to write home about. Breakfast was interesting. They have the [*] to charge $7.25 for an egg and an English muffing. I ordered a bagel with cream cheese. Their bagels are the size of a dollar coin. I refused to accept that. I wasn't in the mood to play "Barbie's Restaurant". All in all, next time I'll take it on the chin and drive home. BTW, the room was cold. A quickie would be a "Polar Express".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Opera, Symphony all are close by.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
julesjack
Bakersfield,CA
Oct 14, 2010

Perfect Location

We were here for an interview for a job. The location was perfect. Close to shopping, trolley, Market Street,City Hall building, Westfield Mall. Close to everything. Parking garage $35 every 24 hours. It was worth it to have the car available and safe. The room was very comfortable as was the bed. The main drawback was that there is no lunch service in the dining area. I would recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
julesjack
Bakersfield,CA
Oct 14, 2010

Perfect Location

We were here for an interview for a job. The location was perfect. Close to shopping, trolley, Market Street,City Hall building, Westfield Mall. Close to everything. Parking garage $35 every 24 hours. It was worth it to have the car available and safe. The room was very comfortable as was the bed. The main drawback was that there is no lunch service in the dining area. I would recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelers x 3
Business
Eugene, OR
Aug 20, 2010

Business trip

Location is only 1 block from Market Street with lots of shopping and within 10 or 15 minute walking distance to the Moscone Center, which was great for us. Hotel staff was courteous and helpful. Downside was, I requested a non smoking room when I booked a week in advance, but ended up with a smoking room anyway. Was told we are full and that's all we have. I don't believe it. Next, the walls must be made from cardboard as we could hear the people in the room next to us as though there was no wall at all. Talking, flushing the toilet and taking a shower were all way too clearly heard. I don't remember any hotel anywhere that has walls that transmit sound as here. Price was ok for this area of SF this time of year. Not great, but I've seen worse. I just think there are better choices for the location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Westfield shopping mall is close enough to walk to without problems. The mall has 200 stores and is HUGE.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelers x 3
Business
Eugene, OR
Aug 20, 2010

Business trip

Location is only 1 block from Market Street with lots of shopping and within 10 or 15 minute walking distance to the Moscone Center, which was great for us. Hotel staff was courteous and helpful. Downside was, I requested a non smoking room when I booked a week in advance, but ended up with a smoking room anyway. Was told we are full and that's all we have. I don't believe it. Next, the walls must be made from cardboard as we could hear the people in the room next to us as though there was no wall at all. Talking, flushing the toilet and taking a shower were all way too clearly heard. I don't remember any hotel anywhere that has walls that transmit sound as here. Price was ok for this area of SF this time of year. Not great, but I've seen worse. I just think there are better choices for the location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Westfield shopping mall is close enough to walk to without problems. The mall has 200 stores and is HUGE.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Switzerland
Aug 11, 2010

Nice, clean rooms

This hotel has large, clean & nice rooms. Location is excellent (next to BART station, close to downtown). Only drawback: Extra charge to use computer/ internet in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Visitors who want to save money (but have time!), should consider booking a hotel out of town that's close to a BART station (!) and commute into the city by train - just avoid rush hour...

Back to menu Return to top