$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

3 stars
View map of 50 Eighth St, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san luis obispo, ca
Jul 1, 2010

good location for opera

good location for opera or symphony. parking expensive, bar closes too early. Heavens Dog great bar and food nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vienna, Virginia
Jun 27, 2010

GOOD HOTEL NEAR SHOPPING CENTER& BUSINES

The location was crowded and noisy. Many homeless were always around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kierti
Business
The Netherlands
May 8, 2010

Good

I was there to visit my daughter and for shopping. Parking was too expensive. A lot of weird people walked outside but not did not deliver any problem. Overall I enjoyed my stay in Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Apr 27, 2010

Good

We take a rest in room, we feel relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRF
Business
Grants Pass, OR
Jan 4, 2010

Great staff, nice rooms...

On several occasions the front desk/concierge staff helped us figure out which streetcar or subway we needed to take, always supplying us with a fresh street map. When my TV remote wouldn't work to select the Menu on the TV, maintenance was at my door in less than 2 minutes with a new one. When I called housekeeping with a request, they were extremely polite and fulfilled my request. FYI: there are many homeless people in the Civic Center area, so if you are uncomfortable or nervous about that, you may not want to stay in this particular area. We had no problems with constantly being approached with requests for money, but I do realize that some simply might not like the area because of it. My husband and I, and the friends we traveled with, had no problem with it and we LOVED the central location. It is 1/2 a block from streetcar stops and subway entrances, all fairly easy to navigate. We left our vehicle in the parking garage the entire 3 days we were there - never had to look for parking! :-) It's also a block away from the Orpheum Theater, if you happen to be catching a play there. It's also very reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you take the time to see the King Tut exhibit. It's spectacular, especially if you are interested in history even a little bit. It's a short drive from this hotel, or a few minutes on the subway or streetcar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 23, 2009

Fun weekend getaway

Fun weekend visit. Hotel is close to shopping, nightlife, theater district. Will recommend this hotel and will be back for future stays. First four floors under construction, not a real problem. wanted to be near bottom floors ended up on 5th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommend eating outside, restaurant is too expensive. If you dont't want to walk, probably a ten dollar cab ride to nighlife theater district. Subway around the corner is close, liquor store too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MY FRIND RON
Business
SUISUN CITY CA
Oct 31, 2009

HAD A GREAT TIME :)

IT WAS NICE AND WOULD LOVE TO STAY AT THE HOTEL AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
Oct 26, 2009

Went well.

Went well. They were able to upgrade me to a king bed which i really appreciate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicky Oha
Business
Torrance, CA
Oct 20, 2009

convenient location, comfortable room

Thanks to very friendly staff, we could check in and out smoothly. The location of this hotel gave us good access to everywhere, like Union Square and Civic Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Picasso The Great
Business
Orange County, CA
Aug 15, 2009

Realistic Expectations

Parking is a bit of a challenge. We had to park in their driveway, check-in to get a parking pass for the gate, then rush back to move our car to an appropriate parking space. Our business partner had a bigger challenge parking. Check-in was a snap and we actually encountered a very helpful, courteous front desk person. Check-out was easy. We did not have the highest expectations for this property, so we were not disappointed; nonetheless, the rooms AND bathroom were clean. We would stay there again if we were to repeat this same type of business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat in the Mission...support all those local restaurant owners and eat REAL food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top