$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

3 stars
50 Eighth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
79 reviews
Good value

I stayed at this hotel the night before a final exam. While the hotel isn't in the best part of San... See full review

  • jemwatso
  • Dec 8, 2013
Best Value

The hotel is near the Civic Center Bart stop, which makes it convenient if coming from the SFO... See full review

  • catsj
  • Jan 7, 2014
Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the citys most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, youll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fishermans Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.2 mi

Dining

50 on Eight
Restaurant located in the hotel next to the lobby. Serves both breakfast buffett and menu items and dinner menu options. Does not serve lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Last Minute Guest
Los Angeles, California
Sep 26, 2012

Great for a short getaway

The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The breakfast voucher offers a decent buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

San Francisco is a small but vibrant city and this hotel puts you in the center to all it offers. The area can be sketchy but parking is secure and you must have a room key to access building entry and any floor with rooms from the elevator.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaybones
Business
Washington
Sep 13, 2011

Bad neighborhood, Reasonable amenities

This really is not the area you want to stay in San Francisco. The staff is nice, the rooms are adequate, but the area leaves much to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
holidayinnguest2011
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Normal hotel - terrible location

A normal holiday inn; nothing out of the ordinary. Terrible location. Because of such a terrible location, they should have made breakfast free every morning for guests. Nothing special about this hotel. If you are visiting SF, don't stay in the civic center area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from any and all places near and around this hotel; it is not a safe looking area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Just right

I like this hotel. It's very nice. Not in the best neighborhood, but hopefully you'll get a good price as a result. And it's not in the worst neighborhood either. (I've stayed at "nicer" hotels in SF that were in comparable locations.) They do everything just right, and that's not to be underestimated. Thought it was nice that they included a list of the TV channels and the HBO Guide. (I stayed at the Hilton later in the same week, and they didn't offer that.) It's the little touches like that that let you know that they know what they're doing at the Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stonington,CT
Jul 31, 2011

Lovely hotel,friendly staff

Lovely but aging hotel, fine staff, good restaurant, and clean heated swimming pool.Only black mark - neighborhood seedy - you'll get hit on by beggars outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 14, 2011

The Bay Area

The maid service was wonderful. They made it a point to clean your room every day, change the linens & replace towels. They were friendly, professional, and curteous of the DND sign. They made our stay a very happy one b/c we would come back from a long day to a nice clean room.I thought the limited time for room service sucked. It started at 6:30a-9:30a & then again from 6:30p-9:30p. There was no 24hr room service which would have been very convenient for travelers like us who stay up late & sleep in. We always missed breakfast, there was no lunch service & we were usually out for dinner. I didn't tip b/c there was a hidden charge for delivery & gratuity already added, which seemed over priced. The menu options were limited & there wasn't a complimentary breakfast available for those who didn't wish to pay for the breakfast buffet.The front desk personel were wonderful, helpful, and very friendly to speak with. The bellmen were also very curteous & quick to lend assistance when needed. However, when we needed a taxi one day, the front door bellman walked away & didn't assist us in securing a taxi which took about 20 min.Our room was a standard king. It suited us fine for the 2 wks we were there. It would have been nice if there was a small fridge & microwave available since it was a long trip. And my husband wished that the bed had a better mattress.The police sirens were a little annoying but this hotel is situated in the heart of the city, so it was expected. The area seemed safe enough & it was a very convenient location.Overall the experience was nice. There are some things that could have been better, but what do expect...a hotel is not your home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 5, 2011

Great Hotel & friendly staff

Good location and great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Goldenplunger
Business
Ontario, CA
Jun 18, 2011

NSTA Conference

I came to SF for a conference. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a friendly and helpful staff. My room had a view of the Orpheum Theater which was great. The neighborhood is a little dicey. However my twice a daily 25 minute walk to the convention center was never interrupted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's also very close to the trains and buses and a couple block from the Market Street shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 28, 2011

Centrally Located!!!

While this was very much a business hotel, it was in a great location for any casual traveler visiting to see the sights! One block away from BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) plus bus routes, trolleys, and even walking distance from the famous cable cars this hotel is ideal for anyone wanting to explore. A map was given to us upon check-in and hotel staff were more than helpful with answering any questions we had. The main purpose of our visit was a trip to symphony hall for a concert and we found the hotel within walking distance. The iconic city hall just down the street gave us a beautiful view from our hotel window while also offering us a landmark while finding our way back to our hotel. Key card access to all floors made this both a high tech and safe hotel. Hotel was close to fast food, Starbucks coffee and Wallgreens market making it convenient for food supplies and snacks. The hotel was clean and cleaning staff were effecient and polite. Front desk staff made our check in and out easy and helped with such important needs as printing airline tickets. The only part of our hotel stay we disliked, had nothing to do with the hotel itself but more with daily "wear and tear" that is bound to occur when a place is well traveled. Our bath tub backed up during our stay and was slow running, a common problem that can happen even at home. If this was the worst of our problems, it was a great stay! I would stay here again if I were in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

San Francisco's famous cable car ride is a short walk from the hotel and is a must see for any first time visitor. For those looking to explore the city, this hotel is close to many other forms of transportation such as BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit), Muni (Municipal Transit Authority), Trolly cars, and main streets for walking, making it one of the easiest cities to travel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Funbucko
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Located in ideal neighborhood

Very clean hotel. Wifi connection good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 9, 2011

Terrible noise generated by some guests

During my second night, several young guests were making terrible noise: banging doors and walls, screaming, running around in the hallway. Called management twice, after which the responsible guests returned to their room and continued to make noise till midnight. I have not had this kind of terrible experience, having travelled many times during the past ten years. Not blaming the hotel this, but I suggest that appropriate precautions be taken when a group of young people rent room(s) together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top