$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

3 stars
View map of 50 Eighth St, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Another Long Weekender
Business
Washington, DC
May 31, 2012

Great for an Active Weekend

This hotel is just that - a hotel. The beds are comfy enough, the rooms were clean, and the bathroom functional if spartan. The wifi worked fine, but the rooms are poorly configured for working (one table, not near an outlet), but you should be out having fun, not on the computer. The great thing about this place is the location: it's central to everything (except Golden Gate, but that's an easy BART ride).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Bottle Cafe on Mint. It's hidden, and the best coffee in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aaron42
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 9, 2011

Accessible location for SF

Pricey but easy access to downtown via muni. Staff was helpful but not overly so. Pictures of the pool were not a good representation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaybones
Business
Washington
Sep 13, 2011

Bad neighborhood, Reasonable amenities

This really is not the area you want to stay in San Francisco. The staff is nice, the rooms are adequate, but the area leaves much to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
holidayinnguest2011
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Normal hotel - terrible location

A normal holiday inn; nothing out of the ordinary. Terrible location. Because of such a terrible location, they should have made breakfast free every morning for guests. Nothing special about this hotel. If you are visiting SF, don't stay in the civic center area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from any and all places near and around this hotel; it is not a safe looking area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Just right

I like this hotel. It's very nice. Not in the best neighborhood, but hopefully you'll get a good price as a result. And it's not in the worst neighborhood either. (I've stayed at "nicer" hotels in SF that were in comparable locations.) They do everything just right, and that's not to be underestimated. Thought it was nice that they included a list of the TV channels and the HBO Guide. (I stayed at the Hilton later in the same week, and they didn't offer that.) It's the little touches like that that let you know that they know what they're doing at the Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stonington,CT
Jul 31, 2011

Lovely hotel,friendly staff

Lovely but aging hotel, fine staff, good restaurant, and clean heated swimming pool.Only black mark - neighborhood seedy - you'll get hit on by beggars outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 14, 2011

The Bay Area

The maid service was wonderful. They made it a point to clean your room every day, change the linens & replace towels. They were friendly, professional, and curteous of the DND sign. They made our stay a very happy one b/c we would come back from a long day to a nice clean room.I thought the limited time for room service sucked. It started at 6:30a-9:30a & then again from 6:30p-9:30p. There was no 24hr room service which would have been very convenient for travelers like us who stay up late & sleep in. We always missed breakfast, there was no lunch service & we were usually out for dinner. I didn't tip b/c there was a hidden charge for delivery & gratuity already added, which seemed over priced. The menu options were limited & there wasn't a complimentary breakfast available for those who didn't wish to pay for the breakfast buffet.The front desk personel were wonderful, helpful, and very friendly to speak with. The bellmen were also very curteous & quick to lend assistance when needed. However, when we needed a taxi one day, the front door bellman walked away & didn't assist us in securing a taxi which took about 20 min.Our room was a standard king. It suited us fine for the 2 wks we were there. It would have been nice if there was a small fridge & microwave available since it was a long trip. And my husband wished that the bed had a better mattress.The police sirens were a little annoying but this hotel is situated in the heart of the city, so it was expected. The area seemed safe enough & it was a very convenient location.Overall the experience was nice. There are some things that could have been better, but what do expect...a hotel is not your home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 14, 2011

The Bay Area

The maid service was wonderful. They made it a point to clean your room every day, change the linens & replace towels. They were friendly, professional, and curteous of the DND sign. They made our stay a very happy one b/c we would come back from a long day to a nice clean room.I thought the limited time for room service sucked. It started at 6:30a-9:30a & then again from 6:30p-9:30p. There was no 24hr room service which would have been very convenient for travelers like us who stay up late & sleep in. We always missed breakfast, there was no lunch service & we were usually out for dinner. I didn't tip b/c there was a hidden charge for delivery & gratuity already added, which seemed over priced. The menu options were limited & there wasn't a complimentary breakfast available for those who didn't wish to pay for the breakfast buffet.The front desk personel were wonderful, helpful, and very friendly to speak with. The bellmen were also very curteous & quick to lend assistance when needed. However, when we needed a taxi one day, the front door bellman walked away & didn't assist us in securing a taxi which took about 20 min.Our room was a standard king. It suited us fine for the 2 wks we were there. It would have been nice if there was a small fridge & microwave available since it was a long trip. And my husband wished that the bed had a better mattress.The police sirens were a little annoying but this hotel is situated in the heart of the city, so it was expected. The area seemed safe enough & it was a very convenient location.Overall the experience was nice. There are some things that could have been better, but what do expect...a hotel is not your home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 5, 2011

Great Hotel & friendly staff

Good location and great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Goldenplunger
Business
Ontario, CA
Jun 18, 2011

NSTA Conference

I came to SF for a conference. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a friendly and helpful staff. My room had a view of the Orpheum Theater which was great. The neighborhood is a little dicey. However my twice a daily 25 minute walk to the convention center was never interrupted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's also very close to the trains and buses and a couple block from the Market Street shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top