Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

3 stars
View map of 50 Eighth St, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
holidayinnguest2011
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Normal hotel - terrible location

A normal holiday inn; nothing out of the ordinary. Terrible location. Because of such a terrible location, they should have made breakfast free every morning for guests. Nothing special about this hotel. If you are visiting SF, don't stay in the civic center area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from any and all places near and around this hotel; it is not a safe looking area.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Just right

I like this hotel. It's very nice. Not in the best neighborhood, but hopefully you'll get a good price as a result. And it's not in the worst neighborhood either. (I've stayed at "nicer" hotels in SF that were in comparable locations.) They do everything just right, and that's not to be underestimated. Thought it was nice that they included a list of the TV channels and the HBO Guide. (I stayed at the Hilton later in the same week, and they didn't offer that.) It's the little touches like that that let you know that they know what they're doing at the Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stonington,CT
Jul 31, 2011

Lovely hotel,friendly staff

Lovely but aging hotel, fine staff, good restaurant, and clean heated swimming pool.Only black mark - neighborhood seedy - you'll get hit on by beggars outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 5, 2011

Great Hotel & friendly staff

Good location and great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Goldenplunger
Business
Ontario, CA
Jun 18, 2011

NSTA Conference

I came to SF for a conference. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a friendly and helpful staff. My room had a view of the Orpheum Theater which was great. The neighborhood is a little dicey. However my twice a daily 25 minute walk to the convention center was never interrupted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's also very close to the trains and buses and a couple block from the Market Street shops.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 28, 2011

Centrally Located!!!

While this was very much a business hotel, it was in a great location for any casual traveler visiting to see the sights! One block away from BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) plus bus routes, trolleys, and even walking distance from the famous cable cars this hotel is ideal for anyone wanting to explore. A map was given to us upon check-in and hotel staff were more than helpful with answering any questions we had. The main purpose of our visit was a trip to symphony hall for a concert and we found the hotel within walking distance. The iconic city hall just down the street gave us a beautiful view from our hotel window while also offering us a landmark while finding our way back to our hotel. Key card access to all floors made this both a high tech and safe hotel. Hotel was close to fast food, Starbucks coffee and Wallgreens market making it convenient for food supplies and snacks. The hotel was clean and cleaning staff were effecient and polite. Front desk staff made our check in and out easy and helped with such important needs as printing airline tickets. The only part of our hotel stay we disliked, had nothing to do with the hotel itself but more with daily "wear and tear" that is bound to occur when a place is well traveled. Our bath tub backed up during our stay and was slow running, a common problem that can happen even at home. If this was the worst of our problems, it was a great stay! I would stay here again if I were in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

San Francisco's famous cable car ride is a short walk from the hotel and is a must see for any first time visitor. For those looking to explore the city, this hotel is close to many other forms of transportation such as BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit), Muni (Municipal Transit Authority), Trolly cars, and main streets for walking, making it one of the easiest cities to travel.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Funbucko
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Located in ideal neighborhood

Very clean hotel. Wifi connection good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 9, 2011

Terrible noise generated by some guests

During my second night, several young guests were making terrible noise: banging doors and walls, screaming, running around in the hallway. Called management twice, after which the responsible guests returned to their room and continued to make noise till midnight. I have not had this kind of terrible experience, having travelled many times during the past ten years. Not blaming the hotel this, but I suggest that appropriate precautions be taken when a group of young people rent room(s) together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, MA
Nov 30, 2010

Good locaion, Nice Staff, Clean room

This was my first visit to SF, just fun times during thanksgiving weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spiderbear
Business
Palm Springs Ca.
Nov 29, 2010

Not bad but not real good either.

Service left something to be desired* In room service way over priced with a 19% Gurity plus an addition $2.00 delivery charge > Had a smoking room, this was one of the few Hotels in SF that still have this service however requested several time for more ash trays, never received, request a sm frig, 10 days never showed up*

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grill at Hotel Witcomb "Great". Holiday Inn very close to public transportation* a plus*

Back to menu Return to top