$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

3 stars
50 EIGHTH ST, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
134 reviews
Good value

I stayed at this hotel the night before a final exam. While the hotel isn't in the best part of San... See full review

  • jemwatso
  • Dec 8, 2013
Best Value

The hotel is near the Civic Center Bart stop, which makes it convenient if coming from the SFO... See full review

  • catsj
  • Jan 7, 2014
Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the citys most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, youll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fishermans Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

Hotel Map

37.7775 -122.4145
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 23.00, MI, W; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, N; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 15.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.2 mi

Dining

50 on Eight
Restaurant located in the hotel next to the lobby. Serves both breakfast buffett and menu items and dinner menu options. Does not serve lunch.
50 on Eight
Lounge is located next to our restaurant which is near our lobby. Has a wide selection of beverages to choose from.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JBolanos
Pittsburg, CA
Jun 30, 2014

No refunds, great homeless population

I accidentally booked the wrong night and could not get a refund even though I cancelled it within a couple of minutes and rebooked the correct room. Plus they charged me an addition $100 for no discernable reason when I checked in. The 1-night room cost me $447.98 (not including the $239 no-refund wrong night). There is also a very large homeless population you have to pass to get in or out of the room. There is a large security presence, but that just makes me dislike it more. Definitely a hotel of last resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bennyfresh
Business
San Diego
Jun 19, 2014

Pretty nice hotel but expensive parking.

Make sure to factor in the parking costs, $40 a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GeorgePM
Business
Sure York
Feb 4, 2014

Location location

Don't expect a fancy stay but this hotel offers a great location close to busy Market St and the Civic center with its cultural features. Overall a good Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
catsj
Orange County, CA
Jan 7, 2014

Best Value

The hotel is near the Civic Center Bart stop, which makes it convenient if coming from the SFO airport. The room was spacious and clean. Overall, no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's near Brenda's Soul Food, #1 on Yelp.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Palm Springs Bear
Business
Palm Springs,CA
Dec 21, 2013

BUSINESS STAY

GREAT STAFF, NICE ROOM, AND CONVENIENT TO EVERYTHING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HellaErin
Mendocino County
Dec 16, 2013

awesome night in the city

The hotel was very close to the venue we were going to. The room was clean and the staff were pleasant.It made for a pleasureable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
That Joyce
Business
Los Angeles, California
Dec 14, 2013

Wouldn't stay there again

My only requirement was a king size bed and late check in which I was assured I would get. Wrong. They made up for it the next day but still disappointed. They didn't have enough hot water most of the time. 1 out of 4 showers/baths only gave 2 minutes of hot water. Restaurant/room service only available for breakfast and dinner. No off hours food available and nothing besides a Subway or Burger King in the vicinity. Not so nice neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jemwatso
Castro Valley, California
Dec 8, 2013

Good value

I stayed at this hotel the night before a final exam. While the hotel isn't in the best part of San Francisco, it isn't in the worst either. I walked alone to the hotel from the Muni/BART station that is around the corner in the afternoon, late at night and early in the morning and never felt uncomfortable. From the room, you only heard the normal sirens that you always hear in downtown San Francisco, but never heard any other street noise including the homeless. The elevator requires a key to operate so no one was randomly walking the halls. The hotel staff was friendly at check-in and check-out. Great bar and restaurant as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jsred119
Business
San Francisco
Oct 31, 2013

Worthless Management. Worst experience of my life

I had booked and paid for my room in full, however, because I had lost my wallet I was denied entry to my hotel room. When I arrived for my reservation I had my booking number, but without my Drivers License I was denied my room. I did have a car rental agreement and a photo ID for "Techshop," a well known local business, but this was not efficient. The manager refused to even speak with me. The person helping me at the front desk kept going into a back room to see the manager but they refused to ever come speak to me. So, I had already paid for a room. I had a photo ID and many other ways to prove i am me. But I couldnt stay in my room. Oh yeah, remember? I lost my wallet! So how do you think I got a new room?! Oh, I COULDNT!!! I was forced to sleep in my rental car!!! worst experience of my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Easterner on West Coast
Maryland
Oct 28, 2013

Decent hotel in a changing neighborhood

Large room, decent amenities. The fitness center needs some upgrading, and the wireless Internet was slow. The neighborhood is a little sketchy, and a bit far (if you're walking) from the happening part of SOMA. Overall, though, a positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top